Color Me Kubrick - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Color Me Kubrick Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 9, 2007
Malkovich captures not only the nuttiness of Conway, with his smorgasbord of foreign-sounding accents, but also his pathos.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 1, 2007
The irony of Color Me Kubrick is that the visual tricks merely serve as a backdrop for Malkovich's inspired high-wire performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 31, 2007
This is a kicky little movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 27, 2007
Fans of John Malkovich will most appreciate Colour Me Kubrick. For the rest, this is an amusing little blip on the movie radar screen.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 26, 2007
Even if the film is essentially a one-man show, a one-man show starring John Malkovich is bound to be really damn good.
March 26, 2007
John Malkovich has a blast, so will you!
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 26, 2007
[A] loopy lark...the sheer goofiness of the premise, together with its gossipy 'insider' nature [and] the take-no-prisoners performance of John Malkovich...carry it along.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 24, 2007
It's no 'Six Degrees of Separation' but Malkovich charms the audience as much as his marks, making this solid sit-com entertainment
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 24, 2007
If you're a fan of Stanley Kubrick or just a die-hard film buff, you may find this weird, semi-documentary an absolute hoot. I did.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
March 23, 2007
Malkovich pulls out all the gaudy stops.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 23, 2007
Malkovich's performance, and the irresistible concept of an anonymous man dining out on a false identity, carries the film along giddily, and Cook wisely keeps Color Me Kubrick short and deliciously tart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2007
Director and co-writer Brian Cook was Kubrick's assistant director on The Shining and Eyes Wide Shut and he fills the film with subtle touches and sly in-jokes.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 23, 2007
Relentlessly sordid, but John Malkovich's imaginatively outlandish performance is worth watching.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 23, 2007
Colour Me Kubrick earns a place on the shelf where all the oddballs reside, defying us to come up with reasons to justify their idiosyncratic existences -- and perhaps not caring whether we do.
Read More | Original Score: B
March 23, 2007
[Kubrick] might dismiss as trite the message that proximity to celebrity is so intoxicating, it stupefies. But one hopes he'd relish the cheerful audacity of the caper and its telling.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 23, 2007
Malkovich relishes the character quirks in a performance that pulls out all the stops and pushes every button.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 23, 2007
Scarcely an insightful biographical portrait, Color Me Kubrick is still interesting, perhaps even intimidating, as a study of the way fandom can so readily be turned against itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 23, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 22, 2007
... entertaining if not exactly enlightening.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 22, 2007
Writer Anthony Frewin and director Brian Cook uses Conway's unlikely saga to mount an appreciative send-up of a certain style of gay extravagance, with John Malkovich having a field day as Conway.
Page 1 of 3