Come Early Morning - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Come Early Morning Reviews

Page 1 of 13
June 24, 2016
2016-06-24 uneven, but Ashley and Stacy were good.
December 19, 2015
Not bad, southern woman gets her shit together. thank God she realizes beer is not the answer!
Super Reviewer
March 7, 2015
I watched this while distracted, so I do intend to rewatch it, and my rating may change. Will review properly then.
Movie seemed good, but not quite what I expected.
Super Reviewer
June 17, 2013
Allegedly this is the ultimate art film of the country hillbilly woman. What it reminds us is that some lives are too boring to put on the screen even in the name of art.
½ April 11, 2013
This is a quietly powerful film about small-town Southern living that avoids all the usual clichés and makes us feel as if we're dropping in on real lives in mid-stream.
½ December 17, 2012
A solid drama with Ashley Judd giving a standout performance. It will remind you of her other film Ruby in Paradise. In this one, she plays Lucy, a woman who drinks too much and sleeps with a lot of different guys. She also has family issues to deal with including her dad who doesn't want to see her. A really good and emotional film with an effective directing debut by actress Joey Lauren Adams. Don't pass on this one.
October 26, 2012
An inspired, powerful and terrific directorial debut for Joey Lauren Adams(of "Chasing Amy" fame)who wonderful proves herself as an effortless, gifted filmmaker and a remarkably good writer....Ashley Judd gives one of the best, greatest performances of her career.
September 10, 2012
Great movie. There's a sublety to its realism and it doesn't try to force the viewer to accept the plot. That's probably because the acting is so terrific. Not perfect, but still a good flim.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
July 21, 2012
"Come Early Morning" starts with Lucy(Ashley Judd), a building contractor, taking the walk of shame but not so much that she insists on paying for the motel room. In talking to Doll(Candyce Hinkle), she finds out her dad(Scott Wilson) is back in town. Seeing a chance at reconciliation, she accompanies him to the new church he is attending. When that old time religion does not stick, Lucy is back to the old grind at the local honky tonk where she gets into a fight with a fellow patron that Cal(Jeffrey Donovan), who is new in town, helps to break up and then takes a liking to her.

Without much of a story to speak of, "Come Early Morning" has to rely on the charms of its rough hewn subjects to engage the audience with the study of a character who is haunted by the past mistakes of her family, leading her to act impulsively, sometimes without the help of alcohol. Wrapping that all up, the movie is perfunctory in its conclusions but thankfully not its resolution. In this case, I would have to say that the country music and the religion add regional flavor instead of acting as stereotypes. Regardless, the movie is helped by a good cast that also includes Diane Ladd, Stacy Keach and Ray McKinnon, of which Ashley Judd fares best in a thoroughly lived in performance.
½ July 13, 2012
Judd is the whole show in this slowly-paced drama.
½ May 13, 2012
A low-key movie that really showcases Ashley Judds' acting. Not a lot of action but wonderful character development. About a person's journey to lay down the burden of her family's dysfunctions and discover fulfillment in life. So much of what happens takes place within the protagonist and it is wonderfully conveyed by Judd's body and facial expressions, and tone of voice. For instance, her face beautifully displays the shyness of her character when she has sex sober for the first time in her life. Set in Arkansas, the story is held together by a fondness for its non-urban locale and a genuine attempt to capture the people who live there.
½ April 21, 2012
THIS IS MY ALL TIME FAV. MOVIE the song she plays at the end is the best song ever>>>i'm just an old chunk of coal, but i'm goin be a diamond some day! that's me yepppers me alright !!!!
April 17, 2012
This was a pretty good movie. Not your regular ashely judd movie, but great if you can relate to it
April 10, 2012
excellent first writer/director attempt from joey lauren adams. i simply love it. very well written film
March 21, 2012
Not bad. Ashley Judd gave a good performance. Not the most original movie, but worth a viewing. The setting was very realistic (I believe it's Arkansas). Someone mentioned Branson, MO, and I got excited.
March 11, 2012
My only real objection to this film is that it seemed extraordinarily hard to suspend my disbelief that there would be two such extraordinarily beautiful women in a small town who would be roommates and not have bad hair and make-up.
½ November 12, 2011
Entertaining but nothing special. I love Ashley Judd though.
November 12, 2011
The movie captures loneliness and despair of the self-destructing one-night-stand life of a girl from a split family plainly and truthfully played by Ashley Judd. There is no blunt happy end, instead, a hope for the transformation.
November 4, 2011
A quiet little movie, set in a small town in the middle of nowhere, about a woman trying to make life work. Very real and touching. Yet, not too depressing and, at the end, even with a feeling of peace and hope. Don't expect special effects and exciting turns in the storyline. If you don't, you might give it a chance.
September 22, 2011
Probably charming and close the heart if you are from this part of the world, the southern south, but for me cringing at times, with the accents and the repeditive lazy life style that is normal there. Well acted, but nothing origional.
Page 1 of 13