Vamos a matar, compañeros (Companeros) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vamos a matar, compañeros (Companeros) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ May 30, 2016
More great Spaghetti fun from Sergio Corbucci. Franco Nero & Tomas Milan are a hilarious duo!
May 16, 2015
Corbucci spesso viene paragonato vicino a Sergio leone, mi spiace per Corbucci ma Leone è un vero genio, lui sicuramente sa fare il suo lavoro ma la carica che riesce a mettere nelle scene Leone è qualcosa di incredibile.
Non ho visto molti film di questo regista, ma sicuramente tra quelli che ho visto questo è quello più riuscito.
March 8, 2015
Why does the Swedish guy talk with a Mexican accent?
August 14, 2013
one of the best franco nero westerns, but probably not as good as django (or django strikes again)
July 3, 2013
An unbelievable soundtrack from Morricone. One of the most memorable screen villians in Jack Palance's 'John' and a bloody finale with Franco Nero and a Multiple barreled machine gun. Spaghetti Western gold.
February 12, 2013
An unbelievable soundtrack from Morricone. One of the most memorable screen villians in Jack Palance's 'John' and a bloody finale with Franco Nero and a Multiple barreled machine gun. Spaghetti Western gold.
½ November 3, 2012
Only for the few, not for the mass, not for the irrelevant. For those who know and probe into the past!!
June 28, 2012
â~Companerosâ(TM) is a far more polished and glossily produced spaghetti western then â~Djangoâ(TM) or â~The Great Silenceâ(TM), director Sergio Corbucciâ(TM)s other well known films. Thereâ(TM)s an actual Hollywood movie star, in the person of Jack Palance, playing a marijuana smoking bad guy whoâ(TM)s into falconry and torture, along with some much nicer sets and big explosions. Even the gatling gun that recalls Djangoâ(TM)s weapon of choice looks like a much more realistic prop gun. But all these improvements in production values seem to come at a cost in terms of Corbucciâ(TM)s artistry and personal vision. I donâ(TM)t want to say heâ(TM)s sold out exactly. This film has some of the same cynicism of Corbucciâ(TM)s earlier masterpieces but I donâ(TM)t think the earlier Corbucci would have blown up a character like the diabolical one played by Palance, sending his screw-on hand flying through the air. And the revolutionaries who articulate a humane vision for the future of Mexico make surprising progress in this film. But it does have many excellently staged shootouts, torture scenes and a brilliantly realized cynical take on humanity which is only to be expected in a Sergio Corbucci film. Less full of gritty low-budget delights than his earlier films, this is nonetheless a very good spaghetti western.
½ February 13, 2012
Franco Nero. Thomas Milan. Jack Palance. Fernando Rey. That's an international explosion of greats. Add a Morricone score, and Cobucci's direction and... Viva le revolution!!
June 15, 2011
This is my personal favorite (non-Leone) Spaghetti Western. The movie never takes itself seriously but never crosses the "too corny" line. The film is a more humurous Western than most but does not downplay it's serious message on the nature of the Mexican revolution. Nero and Milian play great off each other and Jack Palance is perfectly hammy. The morricone score, while not being his best, is perfect for the film and the main theme is definitely one of his most memorable (once you've actually heard it). western fans looking to find a new gem would do well to check this one out.
April 11, 2011
COMPANEROS has that totally crazy over-the-top attitude that the best mid-period spaghetti westerns have, you could put this one right up there next to Sergio Leone's delightfully bonkers DUCK, YOU SUCKER! Directed by Sergio Corbucci hot off of his masterful THE GREAT SILENCE, COMPANEROS is not the somber tale its predecessor was.

Set during the upheaval of the Mexican Revolution, the film is about a Swedish arms dealer named Yolaf (genre icon Franco Nero) who is about make a big sale to a rebel general named Mongo (not the one from the planet Zambodia I'm afraid). Unfortunately Mongo's funds are locked in a safe, and the man with the combination, a peacenik intellectual leader named Xantos, is being held hostage by the Americans. Yolaf teams up with one of Mongo's underlings, a fiery soldier named Basco (the incredible Tomas Milian), and the two set out to kidnap Xantos, leading to a series of shenanigans that make this the closest thing the genre has to a buddy cop movie.

Unfortunately for them, they are being hunted by Yolaf's old jilted business partner, John, who is one of the most bizarre villains in the movie history. John is a dapper American who is always seen with a doobie in one hand, and his flesh-eating pet hawk on the other, which is made of wood. Why is his hand made of wood? Because Cubans crucified him after a bad arms deal, and his pet hawk saved him...after it chewed his hand off. Oh, and he's played by insane actor Jack Palance, I imagine the only direction he received from Corbucci was "be yourself."

COMPANEROS is an underrated gem of the spagetti western genre, full of colorful characters, lived-in locations and scenery, and wacky, drawn-out action sequences. The final shoot-out is like the finale of THE WILD BUNCH, minus the whole "everyone dies" thing, this ain't a dark movie, it's just crazy fun.
½ December 10, 2010
Only for the few, not for the mass, not for the irrelevant. For those who know and probe into the past!!
½ December 10, 2010
Only for the few, not for the mass, not for the irrelevant. For those who know and probe into the past!!
½ November 25, 2010
Ultimate spaghetti western, I was laughing to my tears!
September 24, 2010
The rating is for the version I saw with the Italian, Spanish and English language difficulties. A version without the adjusting gets at least a half-star more. I know most of the spaghetti westerns always have some bizarre language barriers already with titles and the asynchronous audio and subtitles, but this time it pissed me off because Compañeros had further language issues. It doesn't take that much effort to subtitle, or edit the film accordingly. Hell, I'd curate it for free!

Back to review mode, this is another fun Corbucci film through and through. The character variety once again leaves room for a lively plot. Wicked soundtrack!!
DragonEyeMorrison
Super Reviewer
July 20, 2010
Italian westerns started as gritty as possible, then started to move to more comedy/adventure territory. Compañeros is a bit of that, but it's also a very well done movie with lots of flavour and fun moments everywhere. Franco Nero and Tomas Milian form a fantastic duo, Jack Palance is 100% creepy and badass. Morricone is in top form and the overall film is always fun, always unpredictable, always making you smile. A good adventure/actioner/buddy movie with characters you care for, with actual tension and well made action sequences. The characters are engaging and everyone has great chemistry together. From Fernando Rey's idealistic revolution leader to Franco Nero's charming greedy arms dealer, the movie knows how to give balance to both the comedy and the drama. Is like the opposite of the usual hollywood adventure blockbuster attempt, where the comedy is forced, the characters are stupid and the action is never intense or well directed for that matter. This is how you do it you idiots.

Now, i could be an ass and nitpick some scenes that didn't made a lot of sense to me, but screw that, it won't take away how much i enjoyed this.
Super Reviewer
June 18, 2010
Sergio Corbucci is right next to Sergio Leone when it comes to Spaghetti Western directors, this is definitely his masterpiece, succeeding where A Fistful of Dynamite fails. Two great characters played by spaghetti western legends Tomas Milian and Franco Nero, a one handed evil villain and a story to die for. This is perhaps the best movie depicting the Mexican Revolution, certainly for me. This has one of the most action packed and bloodthirsty finales, Franco Nero mustâ??ve committed massacre with that Gatling gun. The vision and style is flawless, just a cool movie with an important message on freedom.
½ August 30, 2009
Another great Italowestern from Sergio Corbucci with Lot of Dark Comedy
½ April 22, 2009
Un estoico Franco nero, un desquiciado Tomas Milian y un ultramalvado Jack Palance en otro inmortal Spaghetti Western del director Sergio Corbucci ("Django"). La musica (jamas podra quitarsela de la cabeza), la mano de madera de Jack Palance, las imaginativas torturas, el guerrillero lleno de balas hasta los dientes, que mas se le puede pedir a un western?
Page 1 of 3