Compliance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Compliance Reviews

Page 3 of 7
Jason Gorber
December 28, 2012
Taut, edgy, at times almost farcical yet remaining incredibly powerful, this is a small scope film big on execution.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 4, 2012
Based on real criminal cases, this is one of the year's most powerful, squirm-inducing, unsettling dramas.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Paul Scantlebury
November 22, 2012
A brilliant psychological thriller that I'd struggle to watch a second time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 19, 2012
Irritating one-note indie film.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
November 4, 2012
I admire the workings of the movie, in the same cool way I might regard a machine gun as a work of art ...
Full Review | Original Score: 86/100
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
November 1, 2012
Compliance strips bare the fallacy of equivalent free will. It gets under one's skin in a manner few films do, but sticks in one's head the same way all great ones do.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Shaun Munro
What Culture
October 25, 2012
Without a single bullet in sight, Craig Zobel has crafted an ingenious, dizzying conversation piece of a thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Ali Gray
October 25, 2012
About as far from an easy watch as you could imagine, Compliance is a seedy little story that you'll wind up watching between the cracks in your fingers.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
October 20, 2012
Morally complex look at human behavior leaves you shaking your head in disbelief
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
September 28, 2012
Dowd's performance -- showing Sandra's eagerness to please the "cop" and her hesitancy to follow orders -- burns in the mind long after the movie's over.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
September 23, 2012
The point of Compliance, which caused walkouts and shouting matches when it premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, is how we are programmed to do things that go against our natural instincts as long as we believe we have the law on our side.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
September 22, 2012
One of the most deeply disturbing movies of recent vintage.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Cary Darling
Fort Worth Star-Telegram/
September 22, 2012
There's the adage that life is nasty, brutish and short. It's even worse when you're half-naked and locked in a supply room with your boss.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
September 21, 2012
Its skillfully constructed scene-setting montages, its fraught, gliding camera moves and attractive compositions seem judgmental, suggesting the filmmakers are superior to and more sensitive, certainly, than the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Chris Sawin
September 21, 2012
'Compliance' takes an extremely unpleasant and nauseating experience for everyone involved and puts this masterful spin on it to make it not only watchable, but a really solid piece of film overall.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Shawn Levy
September 21, 2012
There's a humanity here, even for the restaurant manager. But that still doesn't make "Compliance" easy to ingest.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Glenn Lovell
September 17, 2012
... a sadomasochistic mind-trip ... It has the lingering impact of a gruesome freeway pileup ‒ you don't want to look, but you can't help yourself.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
David Baldwin
We Got This Covered
September 13, 2012
Compliance will leave you shocked and offended, but it misses out on any opportunity to be anything outside of a dramatization.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
September 7, 2012
Compliance is a difficult film to watch -- walkouts have been reported at more than one screening -- but it's also a calculating and intimate deconstruction of the greater social ills that our fast-food nation faces as a whole.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
September 7, 2012
This psychodrama of ill-advised behavior may well leave you feeling dirty...for what you've watched helplessly and perhaps for what you've countenanced as an American citizen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 3 of 7