Compliance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Compliance Reviews

Page 1 of 7
September 14, 2014
Compliance is diminutively sufficient and blandly adequate with no additional layers that elevate its small independent nature. It feels rather one note riding on the promise of a distinctive tale that never totally comes to fulfillment.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 20, 2013
The film ultimately feels exploitative, especially in its schematic selectiveness about what to show or not.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 23, 2012
Too condescending to be trusted, too manipulative to be believed, too turgid to be enjoyed, too shameless to be endured and, before and after everything else, too inept to make its misanthropic case.
August 12, 2012
It seems as if Craig Zobel wants to implicate the audience in these proceedings, but he doesn't have a very clear idea how to go about it.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
March 21, 2013
Needs more than its "based on a true story" disclaimer to short-circuit our sceptical instinct.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 12, 2013
The implications are frightening and the premise fascinating as we are able to see how something like this can spiral out of control. Yet Zobel stretches our patience and tests the credibility of the narrative - mostly to its detriment
August 16, 2012
[Zobel] forgets that less is often more and his film loses credibility...In the end everyone just seems excessively stupid because we have never been complicit.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 19, 2012
Irritating one-note indie film.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 23, 2012
There is a level of stupidity displayed by the people in this movie that beggars belief. Their behavior is to stupidity as the Death Star is to a doughnut.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
August 10, 2012
...an aggressively manipulative piece of work that's been shamelessly designed to shock and provoke the viewer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 21, 2012
Its skillfully constructed scene-setting montages, its fraught, gliding camera moves and attractive compositions seem judgmental, suggesting the filmmakers are superior to and more sensitive, certainly, than the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 17, 2012
...the intent is clearly to provoke a strong reaction. But once that is elicited, what's left? Not enough for my liking.
August 24, 2012
Fails its first test, which is that the audience believe every word of it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 23, 2012
The point of Compliance, which caused walkouts and shouting matches when it premiered at the Sundance Film Festival, is how we are programmed to do things that go against our natural instincts as long as we believe we have the law on our side.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
March 22, 2013
Well as the film is performed, particularly by Dowd as the manager attempting to make order out of chaos, you can scarcely credit what happens.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
May 26, 2013
It never loses sight of its goal to persuade us to be more aware, more questioning of our leaders and institutions, from politicians to priests to, in this case, the police.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 13, 2012
Compliance will leave you shocked and offended, but it misses out on any opportunity to be anything outside of a dramatization.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 30, 2012
Zobel's masterful direction and screenplay heighten the distress of authority figures possessing unseen persuasion over naive employees, exposing a disturbing and haunting look at what some workers are willing to do in order to follow orders.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
September 4, 2012
So long as you can tolerate the frustration it fosters, it's hard not to appreciate such intelligent provocation.
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
August 24, 2012
You'll spend the bulk of the film squirming in your seat.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Page 1 of 7