Compliance - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Compliance Reviews

Page 3 of 58
May 10, 2015
I'm astounded that this happened all over the country. How are people that gullible?
May 10, 2015
Its so shocking that i was compelled to laugh at several points in the movie. The performances are subtle and natural with some incredible and intense shots from inside a fictional Mcdonalds, telling a not so fictional horrific story.
April 17, 2015
A dark-themed film that is worth the watch for mature audiences.
The whole feel of the film somehow made me think of Requiem For A Dream, probably due to the psychological impact and the dark style of filming. Previously, I was looking for a film with a "brain strike" like RFAD, and I gotta admit I'm not disappointed. Quite the opposite, I actually expected much less, and I got much more.

In short: "This is a hidden gem within the current disaster years of cinema, and invokes an interesting and impossible to forget psychological impact on the viewers, with the addition that it is based on a true story." - 4.0/5
April 15, 2015
Pretty @$!#ing twisted...
April 11, 2015
Very well executed. The acting was great. Do not be fooled by its story. It is actually very disturbing and gets increasingly intense.
April 2, 2015
Good lord that movie was messed up. I mean how stupid can people be. It's a hard movie to watch and at the end you still won't be satisfied but it makes you feel something and that's more than any movie does nowadays. Go into this movie knowing some scenes are incredibly hard to watch but that this movie is still a great thriller.
March 29, 2015
Quite a trip. Hicks said it best, "People suck."
March 12, 2015
A well-made drama with solid performances that ultimately succeeds in its goal to disturb, but leaves the audience without the satisfaction of justice and an ending that leaves you with more questions than answers.
½ March 3, 2015
I can't believe people would be actually stupid enough to fall for something like this.
½ February 23, 2015
Disturbing and terrifying.
Can't believe that stuff like that really happens.
A great soundrack adds even more weirdness.
½ February 19, 2015
Esse filme independente ("Obediência", na versão em português e exibido ontem no Max Prime) é baseado em história verídica ocorrida em uma unidade do McDonald's, onde uma funcionária da rede de lanchonetes é mantida encarcerada e revistada pelos colegas após um policial ligar para a gerente e dizer que ela roubou uma cliente. Muito bem construído, poderia ser tedioso, mas o diretor imprimiu com sucesso bastante tensão - usando também como artifício, tomadas macro dos rostos dos atores - margeando o horror psicológico. O filme foi muito vaiado em festivais por muitos, que inclusive abandonaram a exibição antes do término. Isso se deve a inverossimilhança do comportamento dos personagens. Entretanto é preciso se atentar que o longa é uma transposição fidedigna do fato ocorrido, e que por mais absurda que a sucessão de eventos possam parecer, foram reais. Na verdade parece que o diretor não abordou toda a história, que é ainda mais humilhante. A obra também nos mostra a robotização dos funcionários de fast food, que devem seguir à risca exagerados códigos de conduta. A atuação da protagonista Becky (Dreamma Walker) deixou a desejar, diversas vezes transmitindo a ideia de q era cúmplice do policial responsável pelo trote. Já Sandra (Ann Dowd) e detetive Neals (James McCaffrey) destacam-se como personagens excelentemente construídos pelos respectivos atores.
February 17, 2015
Got my ticket for this friday @ The Drafthouse!
February 12, 2015
This film was quite hard to watch. I was thinking just say no! he is on the phone so he can't make you do it. Studying psychology made this film interesting as we learn about this kind of stuff. It is crazy what people will do if instructed to do so by an authority figure, even if they know it is wrong. This really happened! at least 70 times!
½ February 11, 2015
Brilliant performances and excellent scripting and direction about a story so unreal it must be true.
½ February 4, 2015
pedestrian themes of unease. not much to think about other than sexual exploitation and gullibility.
February 3, 2015
Disturbing, but well done.
February 2, 2015
Let me just begin this review by expressing my anger in a vulgar phrase, "Fuck this film!". I have seen many bad films in my time, some range from tragic misfires to outright pieces of unprofessional garbage. How this, outright unwatchable film, made it past the green lit stage i will never know. The film begins with the predictable tag line of "Inspired by true events", which has now made its way onto just about every horror/torture porn film since The Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Unlike that nerve shredding masterpiece however, what follows here is a disaster. Sandra, the biggest idiot on the planet, is the manager of a fast food joint on a friday night, not only has one of her employees spoiled all 15,000 dollars worth of food (Is that even an accurate figure for most fast food joints to contain in a fridge, that must be the biggest fridge on the planet) but one her busiest night she receives a phone call from a man, claming to be a police officer and claiming that the 19 year out employee Becky, has commited an act of theft. This leads to Sandra locking Becky in the back room and allowing the caller to humiliate Becky in all sorts of ways. The concept alone is preposterous, the idea that someone could actually pass off as the police on the phone, for a huge chunk of time and manage to get any, never mind a number of people to partake in his evil scheme, especially another female, is just downright lunacy. Any person, would hang up the phone immediately and call the police, i dont care how stupid you are. Not only is the idea completely stupid but the execution of the writing is horrendous too, dialogue is written by what seems like a 12 year old. The amount of times the actors have to repeat not only the same lines, but the same scenarios is just preposterous. It's like the writer had a concept that would last 10 minutes and decided to stretch it out to the bare minimum of 1 hour and 29 minutes. I give him credit, he manages to create some characters, none of which are likeable. Becky barely warrants any care for her past the point that she is a female put in a horrific position. You cant sympathise with Sandra cause shes so stupid to go along with this plot, the other employees are stereotypical characters, used only to drag things out. The prank caller himself, although ominous, isnt very good at his hobby. If the film had actually made us feel for the characters and made the call more believable, this film could have been, slightly better. The pacing is fucking diabolical, feeling like a week and a half rather than the hour and a half. Honestly i have never clocked checked more often in a film. This film beats enter the void for clock checks, and that film is twice as long. Aggrivating however is the fact that the cinematography is pretty outstanding, there is some gorgeous lighting, tonnes of macro shots, tracking shots galour. The music and sound department do a fantastic job as well, its just a shame that all this outstanding work is ruined on such horrendous content. The films saving grace, apart from the afformentioned, is the final 10 minutes, where the film actually begins to feel, you know, like a gripping film. Once the characters realise the extent of whats just happened, everything starts to feel more traumatic and real. Could we not have started the film from this point? Considering your going with this guy being a repeat offender, having the film be more involved in the investigative side of it, how the victims managed to live with the trauma, watching as businesses fall and crumble to the ground, taking the higher ups with them, but no, it wraps that up in 10 minutes or less, leaving the meat of the content being a girl stuck in a room naked for over an hour continually being asked to take an apron off. If you could mute the dialogue and just have the visual and audio this would be worth your time checking out. Just leave this alone.
½ January 14, 2015
An extremely messed up movie, so much so, that it is real tough to sit through. There are some real dumb asses in Kentucky. Hard to believe its based on a true story. Never knew anyone at McDonald's as stupid as these idiots.
½ January 12, 2015
It wasn't bad, but its best to watch this when you're bored and have nothing else to do. What keeps one watching is the thirst to know how things will end. Its unbelievably frustrating as you will find yourself saying, "C'mon, are you serious" at much of the absurdity.
Page 3 of 58