Confidence - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Confidence Reviews

Page 2 of 8
May 8, 2003
This is a one sweet sexy sting of a movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
May 8, 2003
The problem here is, however, that the real game is the filmmakers'. As I left the theater, I couldn't shake the feeling that I'd been had.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 2, 2003
Director James Foley has taken the heist genre to new heist with his latest film, CONFIDENCE, a slick film that has twist and turns that will leave you enthusiastic at the end
May 2, 2003
There's just nothing all that original about Confidence.
Full Review| Original Score: C-
May 2, 2003
Identity is suicidally insecure.
May 1, 2003
It goes quickly, has a neat little ditty of a performance by Dustin Hoffman and features some con man trickery of average entertainment value.
| Original Score: B-
May 1, 2003
So fun and well paced that you'll caught in its web before long
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 30, 2003
What it shares with most of its predecessors is a sterling cast, in this instance almost entirely male, and the willingness of several talented performers to play against type, with entertainingly comic effect.
April 30, 2003
Confidence may have plenty of cojones, but there are frankly too many similarities to better movies to make it more than a footnote in the con caper genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 30, 2003
Riding the line between hardcore and lighthearted, the film ultimately plays out as a quick-paced, fun heistcapade.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 30, 2003
The prime-cut cast is its strongest asset.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
April 29, 2003
As a self-assured exercise in style and plotting, I suppose that Confidence works. Yet, there's something emotionally unsatisfying about its characters.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
April 29, 2003
Even if it has been done before, it can be done again as long as it's done well. And Confidence does it pretty well.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 28, 2003
"Confidence" -- it's both self assurance and the art of scamming.
Full Review| Original Score: 3.5/4
April 28, 2003
Confidence has a nifty scam at its core, but it also has enough confidence of its own to let the fine performances be the real star of the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 28, 2003
... Confidence does suffer a bit from some plot devices that haven't been original since The Sting, but it's a top-notch character study and a fun exercise in style.
April 28, 2003
Screnwriter Doug Jung strings together one recycled plot twist after another in this generic grifter tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 28, 2003
I would recommend it whole-heartedly to any fan of the genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
April 28, 2003
Confidence is too familiar a grifter flick to take me for a sucker.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 28, 2003
...gritty and intriguing.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 8