Count Yorga, Vampire - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Count Yorga, Vampire Reviews

Page 1 of 3
November 28, 2016
The American equivalent of a Mike Hammer vampire movie which centers on the exploits of Count Iorga's coffin shipped from Bulgaria for no logical explanation with the setting of 1970. Disguises as a seance teller so that he can pursue a couple of female victims of Donna and Erica.
August 9, 2016
kooky retelling of Dracula in the 70's not as cheesy as it should be but ok and not as bad as Dracula 72AD ( which was beyond terrible).
½ November 19, 2015
Very charming performance from Robert Quarry.
½ October 17, 2015
1st there was Bela Lugosi. Then Christopher Lee. And then came Robert Quarry. Dated yet campy blood-fest with Count Yorga sashing around in the gayest vampire outfits that won't be seen again until Gary Oldman plays Dracula. Few scares but some good chuckles.
November 24, 2014
Something that was a wannabe Horror of Dracula would be mediocre, but something that is more like a wannabe Scars of Dracula is bad. At least it's not a wannabe Satanic Rites of Dracula.
August 11, 2013
After rewatching this movie Ive become fond of it. I like Robert Quarry's Count Yorga much, much better than I like Christoper Lee's Count Dracula. This might have been the first movie to have a vampire comfortable socializing with people in the late 20th century; House of Dark Shadows came out the same year (though a few years earlier Barnabas had been on TV socializing with people of the 1960s). It was the Fright Night of its time. There is one scene that is still disturbing today, I brace myself every time I know its coming. Yorga is a socially refined character but at times he seems almost animal like. Set in California, circa 1970, this is one of the best vampire movies of that era.
June 6, 2013
Yorga can rip off Edward Cullen's head easily.
May 26, 2013
Enjoyable, different Vampire film from 1970.
May 8, 2013
82%

"Ridiculous, right? The age of atomic weapons and we have to use sticks!"-Dr James "Jim" Hayes (Roger Perry)

The only good kitty...is a dead kitty, being eaten by a bloodsucker. I won't be forgetting it any time soon. Great ending as well.
½ January 23, 2013
Alright, your ass isn't huge.

In the sixties a group of friends attend a sťance with a strange, creepy man named Yorga. The sťance was amazing and the friends start believing in the supernatural. The friends do not know that Yorga is a vampire and the sťance has caused them to be targets for his dinner. Can the friends work together to survive Yorga or will they all fall prey to his scheme?

"They say the baby's neck was all chewed up."

Bob Kelljan, director of The Return of Count Yorga, Scream Blacula Scream, Act of Vengeance, Cry for Justice, and Beach Patrol, delivers Count Yorga. The storyline for this picture is okay and contains a nice blend of super natural intrigue and horror. The death scenes are just okay but I enjoyed the mistresses. The acting was average and the cast includes Robert Quarry, Roger Perry, and Michael Murphy.

"Get your fat ass out of the car and see if you can help."

I DVR'd this picture off Turner Classic Movies (TCM) recently based on its interesting plot. I will say this is slightly better than average but not a must see. It definitely has a classic drive-in/grindhouse picture feel to it. I do recommend giving this film a shot and I hope to see the sequel to this movie one day.

"Perhaps I'll have a little snack later on."

Grade: C+/B- (6.5)
½ December 14, 2012
just ok B movie or since its 1970, drive-in movie fare.
½ June 5, 2012
Count Yorga, Vampire was originally written as a soft core porn film and while there are slight hints of this left in the flick, (and some prints are actually called The Loves Of Count Yorga, Vampire) star Robert Quarry (Yorga) refused to do the movie unless it was done as a straight horror. And while this 1970 cult classic does have a bit of a reputation, it is actually a bit talky and tame by today's standards. Quarry plays Bulgarian vampire Count Yorga who has moved to L.A. and set his fangs on a group of friends by assimilating himself into the group by dating one's mother who then mysteriously dies (mysteriously...cough,cough). He then gains their trust by trying to consol her daughter with a seance. Soon, one by one, the count goes after the women of the group to start his vampire harem. It's up to the men, along with a doctor friend, to stop him. Quarry makes a good vampire here, he is handsome and mysterious and can exude a calm menace when Yorga needs to be threatening but, he isn't given all that much to do as there is a lot of scenes with characters sitting around talking and very little actual action. Quarry is definitely key in making the scenes that are effective work especially when the film finally picks up a bit in the last act. But, the rest of the cast is rather bland and I thought it was really odd that the first character to suggest the work of a vampire, is the doctor who, as a man of science, should be the most skeptical. Also amusing is how quickly the rest go along with it. The film is directed in a pedestrian manner by writer/ director Bob Kelljan (Scream, Blacula, Scream) and while he does give us some effective scenes, (the cat, the last act in Yorga's mansion) in general the film could have used a bit more atmosphere, tension and good old fashioned scares. Yorga is classified by some as a classic 70s horror flick and it does have that nostalgic charm but, there were other 70s vampire flicks like Blacula and Night Stalker that just have more bite.
EXTRA TRIVIA: in a move that echos some of today's big studio decisions, Yorga had a number of gore scenes removed to get a PG rating and reach a larger audience. Today on DVD, those scenes are restored and the film is now rated, ironically, PG-13.
April 2, 2012
One of the best early 70s vampire films. The film begins and stays in comtemporary Los Angeles where the Count played charismatically by Robert Quarry begins to prey on a small group of friends. Some very well staged shock moments and a great atmosphere add up to a scarefest that although only rated PG13 will leave a lasting impression. One of many downbeat films made in California around the time of the Manson murders. This is Quarry's first of two appearances as Yorga and he compares very favourably with Christopher Lee at Hammer. Thoroughly recommended intelligent shocks.
½ December 20, 2011
this started life as a porn script. But then veteran TV personality and cheapo American knock off of Udo Kier, Robert Quarry, got involved and desexed the whole thing. In place of the jiggling willies, we are treated to a gruesome meal of a kitten, a lot of ponderous dialogue, and a doctor who does not even wait to finish an exam to light up a cigarette. Ah, the filthy 70s. Oh there is still plenty of sex. Especially in a van. Which I am told was a big thing back then. The truly creepy stuff in here that makes the movie memorable and effective? The high screeching soundtrack when Yorga attacks. The dead eyes of Donna and the made up overbite of Brudah. All amazing. Plus Michael Murphy (Cloak and Dagger, X Men Return, and a Batman movie)!
½ August 1, 2011
Excellent drive-in movie, maybe the best. The movie is just stylishly clever and inspired many copy cats due to its box-office success as a low-budget drive-in film and even had the hammer films bring back Dracula... again. The movie is pretty honest and the performances are good, especially by our two stars Robert Quarry and Roger Perry.
February 24, 2011
Ive seen a fair amount of vampire movies that have come down the pike & mostly my enjoyment is based on the main vampire. Robert Quarry is alright but he sure as hell isn't Bela Lugosi, Christpher Lee or even Jonathan Frid from House of Dark Shadows. It's not all his fault though. The script is written in such a way that his adversaries aren't too bright. To try to trick him into revealing he's a vampire you get confrontation dialogue like 'Do you believe in werewolves?..well do you believe in vampires?'..yes? well shit then you have confirmed our suspicions! It just made me snicker more then anything else. It does have moments though like when some chick is munching on a kitten. Gruesome but made me laugh (& throw up in my mouth a little bit)
December 23, 2010
it's a Horror film of all time.
½ September 12, 2010
This is a very rough low budget film. It does have a dull first section and some dodgy editing moments. On the other hand it gets good at about the 25 minute mark, is very nasty, has a good playful villain, competant vampire hunters who know they are in over their heads, and is also funny without it getting in the way of the horror and atmosphere. A good old-fashioned b-movie that eats kittens.
February 7, 2010
CLASSIC SATURDAY AFTERNOON HORROR MOVIE FROM CREATURE DOUBLE FEATURE that used to air here in PHILADELPHIA from 1973 to 1982.

COUNT YORGA is an AWESOME VAMPIRE MOVIE (for its time of in 1970) and Robert Quarry as COUNT YORGA is one of the BEST VAMPIRE counts of the 1970s.

ROGER PERRY plays DR. HAYES.

For decades only a cut version of COUNT YORGA was available yet the DVD (and earlier, the cable-tv station CIINEMAX) uses an uncut print of COUNT YORGA entiled "THE LOVES OF COUNT IORGA"

in the aforementioned uncut print, there's more dialog and a longer scene of the dead kitten.

come to think of it, RETURN OF COUNT YORGA has more scenes and dialog as well.

Thank God for DVD and BLURAY (and CINEMAX and LASERDISC)--
all the great movies that were cut over the years are now available in extended versions; for better or for worse sometimes: sometimes the cut-version is better (like LIFEFORCE-the 90 minute version is better than the 121 minute version).

FOLLOWED BY RETURN OF COUNT YORGA
and
DEATHMASTER (where ROBERT QUARRY PLAYS KHORDA)

YORGA spelled backwards is "GORY" with an extra 'A'
October 29, 2009
Great 70's vampire fun. This movie has it all! Nudity, blood, action, everything you would expect frm a vampire film.
Page 1 of 3