Creative Control Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 13, 2017
Bits of (virtual) reality in a very interesting hipster satire. [Full review in Spanish]
March 25, 2016
Shot in black-and-white, with some smartly strategic use of color, Creative Control has a sleek, polished look that belies its indie beginnings.
March 24, 2016
The movie is like Manhattan with mobile phones, and in fact the idea of constructing one's own reality fits right in with the Woody Allenesque tone.
March 23, 2016
It's not easy to make a satire like this without crankiness, or to bring a new talent to the buckshotting of that sitting duck known as Nouveau Brooklyn, where "Namaste" is the Tibetan word for "f--- you."
March 18, 2016
It's an enjoyable effort, with statements to make about everything from tech to the male gaze (Splice Today)
March 18, 2016
Better and a lot sexier than "Ex Machina" and "Her." Virtual reality sex thriller is a fun Brooklyn-hipster ride.
March 18, 2016
The self-reflexive humor keeps the film grounded.
March 18, 2016
Creative Control is shot in glorious black-and-white, which always makes New York look better and also complements the vector-graphic aesthetic of the glasses nicely. But the film's most important innovation is the use of Reggie Watts.
March 18, 2016
This one is ambitious and good looking as it deals with a new computer dealie that's like Google Glass, only it actually does something.
March 18, 2016
While it hits some of the usual sci-fi tropes, Creative Control's center of gravity isn't tech itself, but the relationships of those who use it.
March 17, 2016
In creating a social satire, Dickinson doesn't find much comic relief in Creative Control. His movie is dead serious stuff approaching a cautionary warning about our growing technology codependence.
March 17, 2016
Beautiful, smart, exhilarating and risky, Creative Control is the most satisfyingly ambitious and excitingly fresh movie I've seen in a while. And I don't say that lightly.
March 17, 2016
You'd be hard pressed to find a better looking movie and a more interesting premise. But, dramatically, the film suffers from unlikable characters and a certain smugness.
March 17, 2016
"Creative Control" is a hypnotic voyage into a society where technology addiction comes to rule and ruin those who fall under its seductive spell.
March 14, 2016
An exploration of the drawbacks to a technologically dominated society where the biggest challenges are intimate relationships.
March 12, 2016
"Creative Control" has a lot to say, and style to spare, but stronger performances and better-drawn characters could have made its message even more effective and enjoyable.
March 11, 2016
Creative Control questions our current direction ... [it's] a movie with enough dramatic pizzazz that not even Reggie Watts's psychedelic performances can steal the show.
March 11, 2016
The more we augment reality, Dickinson seems to suggest, the more we reveal what's true about ourselves.
March 10, 2016
For a film about technology's growing dehumanization, this stylized beauty is a frisky, formidable temptation.
March 10, 2016
While watching Creative Control I couldn't help but think back to the first time I saw Shane Carruth's Primer or Duncan Jones' Moon.
Page 1 of 2