Crimes of Passion - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Crimes of Passion Reviews

Page 2 of 3
March 2, 2012
I kept waiting for this to get where it seemed to want to go. It never happened. Lots of starts with potential ending in a limp attempt to "mean something". I did like the conversation in the bed between Laughlin and Potts--not great acting but that scene was the only thing that gave this two stars.
½ May 31, 2011
I feel like I should watch Lair of the White Worm before I decide I am not a fan of Ken Russell.
May 18, 2011
"I'm healthy as a horse, I'm fit as a fiddle and I'm ready for cock."

Joanna (Kathleen Turner) is a classy fashion designer by day and the seductive and absolute sexy prostitute China Blue by night. Bobby Grady (John Laughlin), an unhappy husband, follows Joanna to find out, if her reputable side has to hide something. He finds out. And he finds more than a little truth with Joanna, while the Reverend (Anthony Perkins) one of her clients, is obsessed with China Blue. And while she indulges in the endless opportunities her profession has to offer, she obviously underrates it's dangerousness and the perils it brings with it.

I have seen this movie for more than ten times and I would always do it again. Kathleen Turner is breathtaking, beautiful, flippant and her sexy voice makes me shiver. And Anthony Perkins shows that he can play the perfect lunatic.

What more is there to say, than "Strip, Bitch!"?
½ February 20, 2011
Histrionic hokum from Russell tries to make deep statement about human sexuality but ends up just making you laugh. Turner throws herself into her role as China Blue but doesn't get much help-- the script is absurd, the dialogue is hackneyed and silly, and the acting, especially from Laughlin, is terrible. Perkins gives an unhinged performance as a crazed street preacher, at one point even wearing a dress and wielding a pair of scissors in a not-so-subtle nod to Psycho, but his character really doesn't belong in the movie. Oh, and the music by Rick Wakeman hasn't aged well at all. There are a few highly stylized erotic moments for those so inclined; everybody else, don't waste your time, unless high camp is your thing.
Super Reviewer
January 17, 2011
This seemed like it would be a good movie at first, it's got an interesting plot, good actors, and it starts out good, but it disappoints in the end. Overall, it's just okay.
December 3, 2010
Steamy, sort of, but not really worth the investment of 90 minutes of your time. I suppose this was pretty edgy stuff back in 1984. But that just doesn't compensate for all the vapid plotline, lousy dialogue and bad acting.

Anthony Perkins is cast in the role of a psychotic street preacher who's obsessing over working girl Kathleen Turner. Obsessing in a Hitchcockian sort of way, you see. Which is why Perkins was cast. Unfortunately, he delivers way, way over-the-top, and it comes off as oh-so campy.

Turner, here just three years behind her steamy delivery in "Body Heat," delivers decently - but the lines are just too flat and trite for it to matter very much. Annie Potts does ok. The rest of the bunch hopefully sought out career tracks in the food and beverage industry.

If there's anything really interesting here it's the camerawork, and more specifically, the lighting. There's a lot of scenes containing bold, vibrant colors mixing upon one another. Plus there's a lot of creative lighting and shadowing. One interesting example is the use of a wallpaper in Turner's hot-sheet motel room. It holds a pattern in velvet atop a base layer that is slightly metallic. The metallic layer is just reflective enough to glimmer as Turner stands beside it, and to add light to her from a side angle.

Commentary by director Russell doesn't bring much to the party. The DVD is the un-cut Director's Cut. The theatrical release had to go through six rounds of snipping to get past the MPAA.

RECOMMENDATION: Approved for film-schoolers, for the aforementioned camerawork. Others - even those looking for steamy R-rated late-night-cable fare - should just steer clear.

NB: The Pam Anderson billed in this fim, who is on-screen for all of 1.5 seconds, is NOT "the" Pam Anderson. Down, boy.
October 12, 2010
Love this movie! Always loved Kathleen Turner. Was in a Video store in the late 80's and saw a cover that caught my eye. It had her name on it but I had never heard of it. Rented it and ended up renting it so many times that the owner of the store ended up giving it to me! The kind of movie that will make very few favorite lists, but for me it is perfect. Very campy and raunchy and has a style to it all it's own. I was lucky enough to meet Miss Turner once. Someone asked her what was her favorite movie she had made.. she said Crimes of Passion. She said Ken Russel gave her the freedom to take the role where ever she wanted to.
½ September 30, 2010
Ken Russell's masterpiece has cult movie written all over it. A lurid, extreme sex-and-violence fantasy porno-movie, it is also a brilliant satire on the American way of sex.
Kathleen Turner really goes the limit as an actress in her role as China Blue. She looks great and gives more to the film than it really deserves. This is getting more hotter than Turner's latest film, 1981's Body Heat.
Much of the dialogue is clever, witty, and bitingly effective. The performances are top notch - particularly Anthony Perkins as the maniacal priest whom is captivated by the street-smart, fashion-designer-cum-hooker Turner. The sexual scenes are bold, but not sexually explicit.
deano
Super Reviewer
½ September 28, 2010
Ken Russell's masterpiece has cult movie written all over it. A lurid, extreme sex-and-violence fantasy porno-movie, it is also a brilliant satire on the American way of sex.
Kathleen Turner really goes the limit as an actress in her role as China Blue. She looks great and gives more to the film than it really deserves. This is getting more hotter than Turner's latest film, 1981's Body Heat.
Much of the dialogue is clever, witty, and bitingly effective. The performances are top notch - particularly Anthony Perkins as the maniacal priest whom is captivated by the street-smart, fashion-designer-cum-hooker Turner. The sexual scenes are bold, but not sexually explicit.
½ September 23, 2010
erotic. weird. funny. disturbing. interesting film.
½ July 18, 2010
Marvellous Katheline as a hooker and Anthony once again as a murderer and in the end you can see straight references to his role in Psycho. A little bit long, but funny :-)
½ June 4, 2010
Kathleen Turner "as you like her". Anthony Perkins portrays crazy. Annie Potts is wasted. Man and woman live lives of unreality and distance, find each other, learn about honesty and reality. Much sex, one killing. Has a few moments...a few.
½ February 12, 2010
Crimes of Passion is Ken Russell's look into the decay of relationships and of the grim outlook of many towards new relationships. The main two problems of this film are that it lacks focus at first it seems to be in your face and comical kind of like a Russ Meyer sex farce, but then the film takes a turn into trying to be serious and it doesn't work. The other problem is the acting Turner's performance is good, Potts seems like she is stoned, John Laughlin is just downright annoying, and Perkins is just too little too late. The script is well written, the direction is good, but the lack of focus and acting make this two hour feature seem like five.
November 26, 2009
It makes me feel dirty
½ October 29, 2009
Not for the faint of heart. I found the performances by Kathleen Turner and Anthony Perkins to be profoundly disturbing. I would even say that Perkins turn as the Reverend (with his bag of tricks) is equally if not more terrifying than any of his turns in the Psycho movies (and I donā??t say that lightly). The film starts off with the creepy ethereal world of sex, wanders into a mundane familial melodrama, and climaxes in a Hitchcockian room of horror. Great rat-a-tat dialogue reminded me of a Mamet play. If ya got the ability to say itā??s only a movie, itā??s only a movie, itā??s only a movie and you donā??t mind a little perversion with your thrillers than give this one a go. VF.
½ October 18, 2009
Cult film av Ken Russel. Anthony Perkins er stor i denne filmen.
October 3, 2009
I could never remember what this one was called, so just looked through Kathleen Turner list. Always remembered the film and how exciting it was, though don't remember much now. Would watch it again.
½ July 2, 2009
Ken Russell's bizarre, over-the-top satire has to be seen to be believed. Continually surprising and original with its vibrant, tacky visuals and convoluted subtext on the nature of sex and love. Kathleen Turner shines in a complex role, and Anthony Perkins' desperate performance is possibly his best since Norman Bates. Richard Wakeman's dated, cartoonish score is problematic, and the story looses some steam in the second half - but this is a memorable sleazy spectacle that only Ken Russell could deliver.
½ June 21, 2009
Strange and unique erotic drama with an excellent lead performance from Kathleen Turner. The script is so brazen and over the top in its sexual nature that I couldn't help but laugh at some of the many juicy lines that the actors have to spit out. Director Ken Russell always knows how to get a response out of an audience and this is probably one of his more accessible films. The film can get surprisingly sensual when it wants to, but thanks to Anthony Perkins' whacked out performance as a psychotic preacher the film always keeps one on their toes.

Crimes of Passion is a delightfully sleazy ride of a movie that is sure to entertain the more open minded viewer.
May 17, 2009
completely insane. It was hugely entertaining and had a good storyline, though it was not smart enoug to call itself a satire, which it seems to be called oftenly. My fave thing about it was Ken Russell's directing. His use of colors was awesome, as we come to expect, and the insane parts of the script were even more so because of his camera placement and movements. I was surprised at how well he composes shots. The acting was over the top when needed, and sad/good when needed as well. The comedy while watching the film was bizarre, but when talking about it I laugh out loud. Perkins and Turner were really good, but everyone else had very questionable moments. Some of the dialogue was also really cheesy, though it fit sometimes, other times it was just bad. An entertaining and crazy film that just isnt as smart as it wants to be.
Page 2 of 3