Crimes of the Heart - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Crimes of the Heart Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ July 26, 2016
What is this nonsense melodrama? Worth seeing just for the incredibly gorgeous setting. I was completely rooting against all of them, except maybe Diane Keaton. Some dysfunction.
May 13, 2016
I haven't seen any Bruce Beresford films, except for the magnificent 'Black Robe', and I'm a huge fan of the four main actors, so it was a no-brainer that I would eventually watch this. I enjoyed it greatly, and if you can handle a quieter 80's women's picture, there's much to enjoy here. Definitely worth investigating for the cinephile with exquisite taste.
May 30, 2015
Dull, pointless, irritating.

Crimes of the Heart had an interesting, though not overly original,
start. Three sisters are reunited in their home town due to one of them
being accused of shooting her husband. A fairly conventional plot
device - an event brings an estranged family together, skeletons are
revealed, wounds reopened, yadda yadda yadda, they reconcile.

However, here there is nothing intriguing at all about their
relationship. There's no axes to grind, no skeletons in the closet,
nothing to reconcile.

So instead of human drama, we just have a rambling, pointless story.
Lack of a intriguing plot needn't be the end of it, the movie could be
character-driven. Sadly, Crimes of the Heart fails in that regard too.
One of the sisters (played by Jessica Lange) is selfish and unthinking,
one (Sissy Spacek) is, well, nuts, and the other (Diane Keaton) is
plain dull (and her saying "babe" all the time starts to grind very
quickly).

So there is very little engagement with the characters.

Director Bruce Beresford tries to replace plot and character depth with
quirkiness, but this just makes the movie irritating.

A decent cast undermined by a dull plot and listless direction.
½ March 11, 2015
revealing what appears to be superficial, as fundamentally substantial..
½ October 24, 2014
This is on the agenda for tonight ...thai food, poached pears with my two Decatur darlings. What a Crimes of the Heart night!!
August 18, 2013
All three leads are, of course, legends now but Sissy Spacek owns this movie.
Super Reviewer
½ July 18, 2013
Yeeeaaah I can be taken into a good women buddy buddy film but it is so easy for these things to get overly sentimental and drippy. I think that is the true crime of the heart of this picture.
½ July 15, 2013
Diane Keaton, Jessica Lange and Sissy Spacek are all at the top of their games in this powerhouse adaptation of the Pulitzer Prize winning play.
February 27, 2013
Re-watched this after several years and it was as delightful as the first time.
½ October 29, 2012
I have wanted to see this movie since I first did a monologue from the play, I wasn't disappointed.
October 12, 2011
This actually wasn't bad for a chick flick"
½ September 27, 2011
Crimes of the Heart (1986) .AVI
April 1, 2011
great female comedy-drama film!
½ March 4, 2011
A stupid story and a trio of overrated actresses make this movie the true crime.
July 25, 2010
Loved it Loved it great actress's Lisa
June 27, 2010
(***): Thumbs Up

The cast is great here and the film, overall, is a darkly funny and bittersweet experience.
½ April 25, 2010
one of my favorite movies... watch often...
October 18, 2009
Dysfunctional on every level. Loved it. Tess Harper does a fantastic job. They all do.
Arianeta
Super Reviewer
October 2, 2009
Great cast great performanses Realy I enjoy this film. Briliand women roles indeed.
Page 1 of 4