Crossing Hennessy (Yue Man Xuan Ni Shi) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Crossing Hennessy (Yue Man Xuan Ni Shi) Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ October 5, 2015
Perhaps it would have been a better piece (although still corny) if shaking those surreal things off.
December 2, 2013
Comedy?? Not quite! Romance?? Not quite! It's a fairly flat movie, nothing exciting and not much acting.
January 4, 2012
Two of the stars above are for Tang Wei alone, I understand her now :)
October 20, 2011
Romantic HK flick, not bad not great.
½ August 6, 2011
Contrived and uncontrived romance. A very simple story. Was a pleasure to watch.
June 24, 2011
Despite outstanding performance from Jacky Cheung and Tang Wei, there was hardly any chemistry between the two lovers:- a wimpy failure to launch mama boy and a strong will independent migrant with no immediate family in HK ??except they share a common interest. One simple explanation maybe age difference- the guy just looks too old and the girl looks too young. The supporting actor and actress (including the dog) end up stealing the show
June 20, 2011
Judul e ngga ada hubungan nya blas dgn filmnya..Tang Wei ! itu aja reason ku knapa kudonlod wkwk =))
Akhirnya Jacky Cheung maen film lagi :D meskipun udah ampir 50, tetep aja ramah & lucu face nya.
Plot film di Hongkong saat ini, dmana pernikahan menjadi smakin langka..bercerita ttg perjodohan kedua nya,yg berbeda 1 dekade usianya..dmana kedua nya membenci acara mak-comblang tsb..dan masih mempunyai love story sendiri2..Nah gmanakah endingnya??
April 23, 2011
Definately a return to the screen for both Jacky Cheung and Tang Wei after both has not appeared on film for some time.

Crossing Hennessy is a slow movie, with very slow pace with no climax to the show. It's the kind of movie that tells tales about daily life, and of course Hong Kong cultures

However, I'm quite disappointed with the movie as it was potrayed as a romantic comedy like movie from the trailer, but was otherwise in the movie. Not only that, there are serious lack of character develepment despite given such a long 1hrs 45mins time to work with.

I believe the actors can do much better should director Ivy, could just spend time, thinking... what she wants to achieve and what should be presented.
½ February 6, 2011
One of those gems that could easily be missed! Love ivy Ho's work - subtle, real, natural, romantic, humourous and most of all, she can bring out essence of Hong Kong. What a choice of location. Wan Chai (where Hennessy Road is) has been transformed in the last few years from a busy, lower-middle class, residential, business, market, everything mix to an artsy, cultural place where galleries, sous chefs, heritage building, temples are centred with many of the existing character intact. Ivy Ho is a director to watch!
January 5, 2011
Not a bad romantic movie by any stretch. It helped that I had no expectations going into this.
½ January 3, 2011
Another romance that tries to answer the question of fate vs. planning - and mostly does a good job telling the story. The only problem I had was that even at only 1 hour and 45 minutes, it dragged a bit.
½ December 16, 2010
3 stars for Tang Wei.
December 15, 2010
Ivy Ho is more famous as a writer. Among them, July Rhapsody (directed by Ann Hui) is my favorite. She is director and writer in Crossing Hennessy. The film is unambitious, no style, treated in old fashion way, zero superstar effect, dry storyline, overall an unsexy film. What's in it? Heartful, is in it. If you think that's important, or perhaps, the most important thing for a film, then you may watch this one.
October 22, 2010
Makes me miss Hong Kong. Andy On is super hot!
September 14, 2010
Ivy Ho ventures into an easier territory with her second feature after the restrained excercise in style of Claustrophobia. But while Crossing Hennessy might seem lightweight at first glance, with it's visual sincerity and casual feel, it features some recognizably real characters with real issues, even up to par with those in her previous movie. Even though the movie indeed strikes a comic chord, especially in Jacky Cheung's extremely pampered middle-aged slacker character, he is soon revealed to be a pretty sad clown who's faced some rather bitter life choices. And Ho latches an even sadder backstory onto Oi Ling, magnificently played by the criminally mistreated Tang Wei in a great comeback role. Love happens, of course, since Crossing Hennessy is marketed as a romantic comedy, but not predictably or easily. In fact, the most genuinely felt romance going on in the movie is the one between Tang Wei's character and Andy On's brutish boyfriend, and that one ends up far from happily. So far, it looks like Ivy Ho made a good call when switching to both writing and directing.
½ September 6, 2010
????ok??... ??歡??佢???????~
Page 1 of 3