Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Joshua Tyler
CinemaBlend.com
August 12, 2002
Not since Sandy Duncan's version of "Peter Pan" has such a cinematic masterpiece been caught on film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Chuck Rudolph
Matinee Magazine
January 1, 2000
The film is a composite of so many genres, techniques, and age-old conceits that it can't help but miss each and every one by a mile.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Steve Rhodes
Internet Reviews
December 12, 2000
As soon as the action stops, the actors start to slowly, painfully slowly, drone on with some of the most lifeless dialog of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Amy Taubin
Village Voice
January 1, 2000
Despite scrupulous attention to expository detail, Lee fails to dramatize the conflict within Jen, or any of the characters.
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
December 22, 2000
The most exhilarating martial arts movie I have seen.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
The film never ceases to dazzle our eyes and arrest our attention.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
February 7, 2001
A ravishing fairy tale/epic, and the best movie of the year.
| Original Score: 5/5
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 22, 2010
Amazing, magical martial arts fairy tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
September 30, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Donald Munro
Fresno Bee
January 12, 2001
Going into the film, I was prepared to be awed by the spectacular martial-arts sequences. But what caught me by surprise was how emotionally invested I became in the characters.
Matthew Pejkovic
Matt's Movie Reviews
November 30, 2013
A film that works on many levels, be it action, drama, or romance, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is recommended viewing for anyone who likes their martial arts with some heart and soul.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
October 30, 2001
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
December 27, 2000
Even without the exhilarating action sequences, Michelle Yeoh's powerful, stoic performance is a wonder to behold in itself.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
Variety
January 1, 2000
It's pulp fiction presented in a grand, knowingly humorous style distinguished by star power, a strong female slant and the latest in stunts and effects.
Prairie Miller
WBAI Web Radio
March 24, 2001
Sit down to watch Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, and enter into Ang Lee's enchanted cinema.
Full Review
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
July 30, 2007
The movie is good, sometimes very good, but I suspect it's a masterpiece only for those who haven't seen all the earlier masterpieces that equal or surpass it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
November 22, 2010
There's an ethereal dramatic effect here that transcends a primary function of imagination and storytelling.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Peter Brunette
Film.com
December 7, 2000
A terrific movie.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
May 27, 2013
I'm glad to join the ranks of fans who continue to be breath taken with this incredible epic.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
July 14, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 8