Cruising - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cruising Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 24, 2006
Opening with some powerful moments, Cruising soon drifts into bloody Village People-type caricature.
September 23, 2013
What an odd relic of the 1980s Cruising is. Controversial enough at the time to derail director William Friedkin's career, thirty years later it's considered totally benign when a Disney star films a reconstruction of its X-rated scenes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 9, 2014
What we're left with is a movie without the courage to declare itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
June 9, 2014
While the savagery of the murders and the explicitness of the sexual practices on display are initially unsettling, they soon become numbing and, ultimately, yawn-inducing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 1, 2015
It's certainly not the grotesque failure of art and morality described in 1980... But a failure nonetheless.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
June 9, 2014
This detective melodrama has something to offend almost everyone.
March 26, 2009
Taking away the kissing, caressing and a few bloody killings, Friedkin has no story, though picture pretends to be a murder mystery combined with a study of Al Pacino's psychological degradation.
August 21, 2002
One of the most painfully bad films I have ever seen and an embarrassment for its star, Al Pacino.
| Original Score: 0/5
September 21, 2007
The film comes off as little more than a sensationalized exploitation flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
August 29, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
September 18, 2007
Is it offensive? Yes and no. It's insensitive, certainly. And I wouldn't want my mother watching it, lest she think I've been in a sling in the meatpacking district for most of my adult life.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
March 10, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 0/5
January 19, 2005
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 4, 2004
Read More | Original Score: 0/5
September 6, 2007
'Cruising' views better today than in 1980, but that is relative. There remain bothersome errors in consistency and judgment.
September 3, 2007
Both on a conceptual level and in practice, Cruising buys into and advances some of the most dangerous myths about homosexuality and the homosexual lifestyle.
December 31, 2005
Incoherent, unpleasant, politically problematic, plus one of Al Pacino's most intensely bad performances. Yup. It's a winner.
| Original Score: 0/5
February 27, 2001
As a thriller and police procedural, Cruising is dull at best, inept at worst.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
June 9, 2014
What's left is the framework for a graphic, brutal, sickening film, without the violent effects that might have made sense (however illegitimate) out of the conception.
June 9, 2014
Viewers are spared nothing as Steve Burns undergoes degrading brutality after brutality; virtually nobody is portrayed sympathetically.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Page 1 of 3