Cry-Baby - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Cry-Baby Reviews

Page 2 of 462
October 19, 2014
While the kids in "Gidget" and "Beach Party" had a steady diet of cherry cokes and french fries, the ones in "Cry-Baby" prefer cherry cokes with vodka and french fries double the salt. They're hard-edged, campily tough, and feel naked without their leather jackets. That is, that's how the "drapes" feel.
The youngsters in "Cry-Baby" are divided into two categories: the "drapes" (the cool kids), and the "squares" (the Jan Bradys). The film is a "Romeo and Juliet"-type love story between a drape and a square, Cry-Baby Walker (Johnny Depp) and Allison Vernon-Williams (Amy Locane), respectively.
There are songs. There are choreographed dances. There is red lipstick and fast- cars. But this is a John Waters movie; you get all of that, yes, but you also get former porn stars (Traci Lords), former kidnapping victims (Patty Hearst), and a badly gussied up "girl" who goes by the name of Hatchet-Face (Kim McGuire).
And I loved every minute of it. "Cry-Baby" is like the play your friend drags you to, promising it will be fantastic. Your doubts are stronger than your legs and your eye-rolls are armed and dangerous. But the second you let your guard down, it consumes you.
The film mixes the cheek-to-cheek teen movie cheesiness of the 1950s and 60s with an array of sharp one-liners and exaggerated stereotypes. Sure, John Waters is famously the king of bad taste, but nothing he's ever made has felt this deliriously awesome.
The casting of Johnny Depp is wondrous; featuring the actor before he became Ed Wood or Captain Jack Sparrow, he's a caricatured knockout as Cry-Baby Walker. Filmed at the height of his teen heartthrob fame from "21 Jump Street," it's a risky move that surely pays off. He spurts out so many single-tears and so many godforsaken smolders that it combines his eccentricity with his commercial appeal. It's a prelude, you might say, for his long and unpredictable career.
"Cry-Baby" has "cult film" written all over it; for the drapes, it's immensely quotable and delightfully tongue-in-cheek. For the squares, it's a bizarre encounter. I'd like to think of myself as a drape the majority of the time, and maybe the fact that I think "Cry-Baby" is such a camp masterpiece confirms it.
There are the movies you love because they're artistically memorable. There are the movies you love because they bring back cherished memories. But then, there are the movies that are the equivalent of the first hour of Disneyland, a night out with friends. "Cry-Baby" is not high-art nor is it in the same ballpark as ... anything. It's one of those movies you tell all of your friends about, and then, on a boring Sunday afternoon, watch again.
½ September 21, 2014
Hahaha, surprisingly funny, sweet, and adorable which at times is bizarre, but then again Cry-Baby is directed by the eccentric John Waters who made Pink Flamingos. Set in Baltimore during the 50's, you have two types of people, cough white people, the squares and the drapes and the beautiful Allison (Amy Locane) has become the center of attention as the two sides battle for her love one by Baldwin and the other Cry-Baby (Johnny Depp). Of course, one is bound to get in trouble and get locked up while the other while try and find whatever manner to weasel his way for Alison's love. Alison of course is going to fall for the bad boy Cry-Baby who may be misunderstood. Highlights of the film are the musical numbers, the humor, and the supporting cast. I give Cry-Baby a 3 1/2!
September 17, 2014
AHHHHH I LOVE HIM OMG JOHNNY DEPP IS SOOOOOO FINE
August 28, 2014
it was a good musical movie and jhonny depp has a great voice loved him in this .
August 4, 2014
(First and only viewing - 5/1/2013)
½ August 3, 2014
Entertaining, if not great, film. Worth a watch if you're a Johnny Depp or John Waters fan.
August 3, 2014
Cry Baby is a hit too hammy to really enjoy. Waters film is to crude for young kids and to flamboyant for most adults. A bit of a Grease knockoff with much less memorable songs and ridiculous lip-synching Johnny Depp is wasted and other than some great set design and costumes Cry Baby is just a film to forget.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
½ July 20, 2014
Johnny Depp's first starring role is as a sensitive "drape" who falls in love with a "square" in this campy John Waters juvenile delinquent musical. There's quirky humor (love the orphanage modeled on an animal shelter), and the doo-wop styled music is good, but the (deliberately) cardboard plot and underdeveloped characters failed to engage me.
June 18, 2014
This movie is hilariously cheesy. The songs are catchy and the acting is over the top. It is great.
½ June 8, 2014
Fun movie with awesome and catchy songs.
May 5, 2014
Tries very hard to be a parody of Grease, but just ends up being painful to watch. Characters change personalities at the drop of a hat and though we're supposed to be rooting for the drapes, they come off as even more idiotic than the squares. Then it runs out of steam half-way through and rushes towards a contrived happy ending.
May 4, 2014
If you like campy musicals or have a Mel Brooks sense of humor then you'll like this. I want to know how many takes it took for them to get through the "hysterectomy pants" speech without anyone busting out laughing.
April 30, 2014
Love me some Cry-Baby
April 28, 2014
love his voice simply could not stop laughing
½ April 27, 2014
I like Johnny Depp and when I discovered this movie, I figured I had to see it to see his singing capabilities and dancing skills. It was actually not that bad!

It was the whole two guys liking the same girl scenario between the higher classed Squares and the delinquent Drapes. It was also the whole good girl turning bad. As a musical it featured some fun songs and overall this kind of movie was more poking fun at the singing movies. It was definitely edgier and the director took the liberty to add some crazy humor and crazy little effects here and there to make it his own.

I would probably see this one more time as it is enjoyable seeing Johnny Depp as an Elvis Singer. But it's not as endearing or what I prefer like Grease and Hairspray.
April 5, 2014
Ummm, what the hell did I just watch? I get that it's supposed to be campy, and it hit the nail on the head with that one, but it was kind of stupid. Laughably stupid, but just stupid. I'm really not sure what to think of this. It made me angry, annoyed, and confused, but I couldn't look away. It is just WEIRD.
½ March 25, 2014
the whole thing is essentially a cartoon but man is it a lot of fun
it's funny and the music really rocks
Johnny Depp is Cry-Baby from the wrong end of Baltimore and Allison is the pristine, good-girl
the story is basically 'West Side Story' with all the forbidden romance stuff
there's a lot to like from the young generation being separated into two classes particularly from the 1950's era
the film moves very fast too which isn't a sin in itself
one of Depp's finer films
March 8, 2014
I love this movie soo much­~~­'?­'
½ February 27, 2014
Teenagers in the 1950 battle to be hip or be square. Johnny Depp plays Cry Baby, the leader of the coolest gang around. He falls for a Square (played by Amy Locane) but society wants to keep them apart. This movie has it's cool and funny joke here and there but the songs didn't do it for me.
½ February 26, 2014
This movie was not at all what I expected. It was funny and quirky and odd. I loved it!
Page 2 of 462