Cunningham Reviews

January 29, 2020
I maintain as much of an appreciation for modern dance as I do for watching golf on TV. But this is a movie, and as such, anything can be, and in this case is, rendered cinematic.
January 14, 2020
Though the film provides a clear chronology of these formative years, it does so in an inventive, unorthodox manner inspired by Cunningham's own untethered creativity.
January 9, 2020
It's structurally daring, presented in 3D, and devoted to showing rather than explaining, via archival footage and colourful new interpretations of the artist's canon.
January 9, 2020
Cunningham doesn't always work as a portrait of its enigmatic subject, who tended to downplay his success in favour of letting his work speak for itself, but when it does, your jaw drops.
January 6, 2020
Kovgan's film succeeds in a way that most dance documentaries do not: as an art object in and of itself. It is well edited, well paced, and as I've said already, beautifully shot.
January 1, 2020
In all the intellectual reflection "Cunningham" provokes about the lasting fascination of Merce Cunningham's ideas, we shouldn't forget the factor of Cunningham's beauty. Every archival clip here attests to it.
December 30, 2019
What we get, however, isn't so much a cohesive narrative as it is set pieces, held together by a thin framing device. For a film of such visual audacity, the lack of storytelling depth is frustrating.
December 13, 2019
An exhilarating testament to documentaries as a boundless form of art.
December 12, 2019
The movements of the dancers here are often startlingly expressive, with particular emphasis on sliding across the floor and sinuously unexpected torso gyrations, but there are times when shadows and camera movement obscure what we could be seeing.
December 11, 2019
[A] visual wonder that involves from start to finish.
December 11, 2019
An excellent introduction to a great body of work that can be hard to get a handle on.
September 8, 2019
Here's a dance documentary that splendidly flaunts its artistic point of view, and fittingly so.
September 7, 2019
What Kovgan's utterly transporting film does, through a thoughtful and dynamic combination of curated material and new performances, is radiate the rapturous power of dance.