Da Kath & Kim Code (Kath & Kim: Crack the Code) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Da Kath & Kim Code (Kath & Kim: Crack the Code) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 2, 2015
amazing movie you must watch it youll be coming bak to watch way way more than you should
August 6, 2015
With Kath and Kim being such an Aussie classic television series, a telemovie to add to the story is beyond welcome.

Kath and Kimderella proved that Australia's iconic Hornbag and Foxxy Lady did not transition over to the cinematic screen all that well, and this is partially because the general style of the film does not have the same. It fits better into the context of a TV movie as it is essentially an extended episode of the television series. But it is not without its faults in the process.
As the story is a bit of a stretch, the energy in Da Kath & Kim Code is not as smooth as it was as a television series. The material remains effectively the same quality, but as a means of stretching it as far as 82 minutes there is a sense that the humour does not get delivered as a quickly. Things progress at a slightly slower rate, but I will admit that the charm is all still there. Da Kath & Kim Code lives up to the expectation of being an extended episode of the television series, but it also transcends some standards in terms of the presence of an unconventional plot. Capitalizing on the time when The Da Vinci Code was popular, Da Kath & Kim Code reaches out to put in an extended narrative. It unfolds as a subplot with random elements of sporadic humour, and Michael Buble even makes a cameo along the way as do The Wiggles. The humour may not be as powerful now because the concepts are not as relevant these days, but they do provide a colourful sense of nostalgia to a different time just like all the jokes about John Howard. Frankly, Da Kath & Kim Code puts an unconventional spin on a style of comedy that fans have grown to love and puts it into 82 minutes of talented cast members. And even though some of the jokes and plot points have gotten a bit familiar by this point and do not stretch on for feature length as well as they do in a singular episode, the genuine dedication from everyone involved ensures that fans are likely to be too distracted to take notice.
The cast of Da Kath & Kim Code remain as funny as ever, with the sleazy efforts of Gina Riley standing out the most in her iconic role of Kim Craig. Her endlessly self-obsessed nature and ability to bounce off every other cast member with a higher pitch of voice proves to add an energetic jolt to the screen every time she is called upon to deliver.

So though Da Kath & Kim Code stretches some of its familiar material without the same level of energy that comes into a single episode of the television series that inspired it, the dedicated efforts of the cast and writers ensure that the material has the lighthearted Aussie comedic charm which has appealed to fans for three seasons.
July 12, 2012
It's Noice, its different, its unusual!
Super Reviewer
November 12, 2011
Gotta love it. Okay, story is weak, but it's Kath and Kim. Plus, it's set at Christmas, so you can justify watching it this time of year!
It always gets a laugh out of me because I can relate to a lot of it, plus I think most of us know someone a bit like these ladies!
October 12, 2011
A laugh out loud movie which sees our two favourite foxy ladies continue in there chaotic lives.
July 10, 2010
well umn just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a good movie 2 watch..........its got a good cast of actors/actressess throguhout this movie......i think that barry humpries, magda szubanski, peter rowstohrn, jane turner, gina riley, glenn robbins play good roles/parts throughout this movie...............i think that barry humphries, gina riley, jane turner were great throughout this movie................i think that the director of this comedy/made for tv/straight to video/straight to dvd movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie.....i think that this is a good movie 2 watch its really enjoyable movie n its got a good cast throughout this movie n its enjoyable
July 25, 2009
ha ha ha its soo funny
January 1, 2009
Poor Micheal Buble is all I can say! ahh these guys crack me up - although I do believe you have to be able to enjoy and 'get' the aussie humor to love Kath n Kim, but it's hard NOT to like em - I expect those who pmsl at the movie will be grateful for the products that Kim endorses with her hubbie - yes that's right, the old 'padded pants' haha

Totally hilarious, watch with some beer and some steaks and you'll be right xxx
November 24, 2008
love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
one of best movies out there!
November 15, 2008
haha kath and kim are funny (: america should NEVER have even tryed to remake it!!! they should've just shown the ORIGINAL and the BEST!!! oh well, it was canned here after like 2 episodes haha. i think most people thought it was a disgrace
November 9, 2008
LMAO.
Funniest movie ever!!
xx
September 2, 2008
it's actually an australian tv series. it's so funny it brings tears into my eyes. I've watched the complete series for 5 times and it still makes me laugh. OUT LOUD ! Watch it ! highly explosive ! highly recommended ! ;)
½ June 20, 2008
Kath and Kim, need I say more...
June 3, 2008
Packed with classic lines, this full-length spin-off from the Australian comedy is up to their usual standard. With guest appearances from Barry Humphries and Michael Buble, this won't be a disappointment to K&K fans.
June 1, 2008
this film is a classic!just as good s the tv series' something that u v=can enjoy over and over again
May 26, 2008
Disappointing, although still some funny lines.
May 26, 2008
not as good as some of the eps from the series but some classic lines, i thought it was great, especially the buble concert and the gta graphics of kath and kel powerwalking! prue and trude were graysh as usual!!! loved it.
April 10, 2008
ok. for those of you who havent discovered kath and kim yet, pllllllllleassssse do!
they are the bees knees..
totally loving themselves sick
and what a pair of hornbags
March 16, 2008
Funny...But not as good as the series.
February 26, 2008
It's Noice, Diff'rent, Un-Yews-Yewl.

Kath and Kim, the biggest Hornbags this side of Fountain Lake...

So stick on this DVD on the plasma, crack open the Tia Maria and put on some Footie Franks and enjoy...
Page 1 of 2