Da 5 Bloods Reviews

Page 5 of 14
June 19, 2020
In his best movies, Spike Lee uses fiction as a sort of laboratory where he mixes different social factors and can anticipate events. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 18, 2020
Here's the thing. Spike Lee's film moved me. Genuinely pushed me around for nearly three hours. It's a cinematic opus that's both vital and heartfelt.
June 18, 2020
One of the silliest and most pretentious movies I've had to endure in the past few years. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 17, 2020
Intense tale of war, racial politics; violence, language.
June 17, 2020
As usual, Spike Lee has his finger on the pulse of America. This movie feels like it was made last week.
June 17, 2020
A film that reinforces what is already being felt in the United States, and which helps to question issues of racism, discrimination and brutality. [Full review in Spanish]
June 17, 2020
This everything-but-the-kitchen-sink approach can be his strength, but while Da Five Bloods doesn't entirely lack heat, it never really gets cooking.
June 17, 2020
This is one of [Lee's] most striking films, with a standout performance from Delroy Lindo.
June 17, 2020
It's a messy endeavor, overlong and yet somewhat ill-defined, but Lee's mojo carries the project most of the way.
June 17, 2020
All current social turmoil aside, Spike Lee's latest joint combines Vietnam War echoes with the evergoing African-American struggle for equality and recognition in a story that could've used all of its raw power to render a much more efficient narrative.
June 17, 2020
Da 5 Bloods is a tremendous experience, though it is also clear that the copious amounts of Spike Lee's famous idiosyncrasies hurt as often as help.
June 16, 2020
A very mixed bag...one film that was turned into two different types of films...but it's not hard to watch, and Spike Lee is always worth watching. This isn't classic Spike Lee, though...
June 16, 2020
Winningly layers war-veteran and African-American and partisan sociopolitical commentary over a familiar action drama plot.
June 16, 2020
The movie works, not because of nor despite the mess he makes of his endless array of character arcs and culture touchstones assembled in the telling of his story, but because he's a master at weaving together the micro and the macro in awesome fashion.
June 16, 2020
[Spike Lee] lifts this Bloods straight to the top level of war movies that I actually trust are telling it like it was.
June 16, 2020
Da 5 Bloods is the first movie I've seen since lockdown began that made me yearn to be in a packed cinema.
June 16, 2020
Colored with authentic sound inserts and images from the Vietnam War era, Lee's latest joint reveals the devastating consequences of the international conflict on the Black psyche.
June 16, 2020
Da 5 Bloods is engaging because it's animated by complex, emotionally charged politics. It's a provocation, shot through with genuine pathos: a movie about the past that will always speak about what's going on.
June 16, 2020
For as long as there has been cinema, we have needed a Spike Lee. We may always need Spike Lee. We can at least be grateful that he's such a vibrant, furious, genre-spanning polemicist.
June 16, 2020
There's humor, emotional depth, suspense and violence in a strong statement on race, politics and war. Though unplanned, this film could not have come at a more crucial moment.
Page 5 of 14