Daens - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Daens Reviews

Page 1 of 1
December 22, 2013
Well-intentioned biographical drama is slick but empty.
Super Reviewer
February 16, 2010
nominated for best foreign film at the oscars
November 20, 2009
A gripping story about politics, religion, poverty, corruption, greed and society. The directing is just outstanding, you really get into the movie, you feel real hate, compassion, understanding,.. and allot more due to Stijn Coninx's fantastic directing job. And the movie has Jan Declair's best performance, i might even call it one of the best performances ever! It was really amazing. Definitely one of the best Belgian movies ever !!
June 28, 2009
Seeing as I grew up and live in the area of Aalst, I'm a bit biased...but even so the movie is a masterpiece with some great acting and filming. For the people who don't know anything about father Adolf Daens or Belgian history it might be a good idea to get some background info first before you watch the movie.
The movie actually has 2 main characters, one being Daens (Jan Decleir) as the historical figure and than Nette (Antje de Boeck) as a portrait of how people lived life in those times.
½ February 16, 2009
For me definetely one of the best Belgian movies. Stong performances from the cast. An historical relevant and interesting picture.
September 20, 2008
Regarded as the greatest Belgian film ever made by a large part of the Belgian moviefans, and rightly so in my opinion. It tells the story of Father Daens who backs the workingclass in Aalst and therefor is expelled from the catholic party. Some great performances in this film (Jan Decleir, Antje De Boeck, Michael Pas) and the film itself is very touching with an emotional peak when a child dies in a factory.
August 29, 2008
Du cinéma belge comme on en voudrait plus : fort, bien interprété, engagé sans pour autant négliger un certain sens du lyrisme
December 22, 2007
In subplots, a courageous young woman falls in love with a socialist and survives a shop foreman's rape; children die; prelates play billiards. (In other words, this movie sounds totally great)
November 27, 2007
kweedet iedereen heeft die al gezien maar ik vin het toch ne goeie film
½ October 31, 2007
Klassieker! En nog steeds enorm actueel.
October 4, 2007
Jaja nen typische vlaamse boerenfilm ...
½ June 12, 2007
god, they made me watch this like 10 times in school because it was so god damn important how a Belgian movie ALMOST got an oscar. im sure its a decent movie, but teachers taught me to hate it.
June 8, 2007
Mooi, geniale acteur...
½ June 2, 2007
Probably one of the best dramas ever produced in Belgium.
November 22, 2006
Brilliant! Mre than likely the greatest Belgian movie ever, & one of Europe's best!
So powerful, so dark, so touching, so realistic, & so fantastic at the same time!
And of course, it's here Decleir proves he is one of Europe's best actors...he's just totally amazing!
Evryone, with sme good taste of films, just gotta see this! NOW! :p
Page 1 of 1