Daffy Duck's Movie: Fantastic Island - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Daffy Duck's Movie: Fantastic Island Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ December 26, 2013
A film for kids and fans, but it sure is funny and well-crafted on achieving its purpose. (B)
July 17, 2012
New animation and voice work edited into basically a clip show of classic Warner Bros. shorts. Fond memories from childhood. Doesn't seem fresh nor dated. Watchable.
½ June 19, 2012
Looney Tunes ...you cant go wrong
July 25, 2011
This is just plain fun! Nice collage of classic Warner cartoons played out with a Fantasy Island premise...cute...
April 26, 2011
i need this on dvd im looking for this everywere plz
July 23, 2010
with VHS quality it sure brings me back...
May 20, 2010
The formulaic pattern for combining old shorts with new animation begins to wear somewhat thin in Daffy's first theatrical outing, in which he and Speedy Gonzales find themselves on a deserted island with a wishing well. The idea behind this film is to parody "Fantasy Island", but this aspect may be lost on unsuspecting viewers. That and the selection of the cartoons are uneven; some of them, like "Horatio Hareblower", "Stupor Duck", and "From Heir to Hare" are pricelessly hilarious, while others range from mediocre to forgettable. DAFFY DUCK'S FANTASTIC ISLAND is the weakest of the LOONEY TUNES compilated features, as it does tend to dry up more often than not. Still, there are some amusing moments: teaming Yosemite Sam (as a pirate) with the Tasmanian Devil works quite well, and the commentary of the wishing well transitioning into each "wish" via a cartoon feature is a hoot.
½ March 8, 2010
A miserable attempt to stitch Looney Tunes episodes into a full length feature. The joining footage feels awkwardly disjointed, looks awful, and provides only the thinnest semblance of a plot. To see the formula done right, watch Daffy's 'Quackbusters' instead.
January 27, 2010
I saw it on TV and like it
½ December 4, 2009
(*** 1/2): Thumbs Up

If you are a fan of Looney Tunes, you'll love this.
July 8, 2009
I love the Looney Tunes and although the new bridge sequences between the classic shorts isn't quite up to snuff, it's still great to see some great cartoon characters doing their thing. Speedy Gonzales races Daffy Duck, come on! It's genius.
August 26, 2008
love this movie as a kid!
August 17, 2008
Love the old back in the day cartoons that my generation grew up on.....
May 1, 2008
I loved this when I was a little kid....and nothing's changed.
April 9, 2008
This is without a doubt the best thing that Looney Toons and their non-PC characters have ever been a part of in their existence. It is greater than the feeling that men must get when they sleep with Pamela Anderson and avoid getting an STD.
½ April 5, 2008
it is a realy old movie
February 2, 2008
i remember this its legendary
½ October 30, 2007
Looney Tunes ...you cant go wrong
October 24, 2007
i just love daffy duck he is so cool!!
Super Reviewer
½ August 24, 2007
Woo Hoo! Daffy Duck and Speedy Gonzales find a magical wishing well on a deserted island and set up their own "Fantastic Island", done in an homage to the 70's TV show "Fantasy Island", which people are probably forgetting existed, slimming the chance of this coming to DVD. (Speedy plays the Tattoo role!) Many Looney Tunes characters visit the island to have their fantasies come to life, including Yosemite Sam and Foghorn Leghorn; they employ clips from classic Looney Tunes shorts to realize some of the fantasies. The newly animated sequences are skillfully drawn to match the old clips. It's a good idea for a movie, but now dated. Note: this is a Daffy Duck movie, so there's no Bugs Bunny to be seen.
Page 1 of 2