Damsels in Distress - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Damsels in Distress Reviews

Page 2 of 16
May 25, 2014
Il arrive des fois qu'on tombe sur un film si bien écrit qu'on se prend à fermer les yeux pour juste écouter la qualité exceptionnelle des dialogues, qui sortent totalement du tout-venant de la production hollywoodienne. Mais ce serait idiot de fermer les yeux devant Damsels in Distress, car les plans de Whit Stillman sont absolument magnifiques et le découpage époustouflant, tout en jouant avec le quatrième mur constamment. Les actrices rayonnent autant que le film, Greta Gerwig, Adam Brody & Jermaine Crawford sont particulièrement excellents et les autres acteurs ne sont pas en reste. Dans Damsels in Distress, on parle des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel, des coutumes cathares et de l'odeur des fraternités sans pour autant que ce soit chiant comme la mort. Aussi agréable que passionnant, Damsels in Distress est un film absurdement génial. Hey everybody, let's do the Sambola.
½ May 11, 2014
very slow paced and monotone, it has its moments
April 16, 2014
"What a waste of my time!" -Ethan Whelpley (I agree)
March 26, 2014
Nonton di HBO, thank God ga coba download ataupun beli dvd bajakan karena cuma akan buang waktu dan duit..hehe Entah kenapa menurut penilaian gw di grup yang di pimpin sama Violet (Greta Gerwig) ga ada yang normal XD Violet ternyata kata temennya Rose bukan nama aslinya dan dia punya kebiasaan2 aneh yg agak menjurus ke mistis ya (Rose tau karena uda temenan dari kecil/sd).. Lalu ada di Heather yg bahkan gw ga ngerti dia lagi ngomongin apaan, Kemudian si Rose pun aksen britishnya itu fake karena di akhir film si Violet bilang "i miss my American friend".. Pokoknya sepanjang film, gw nontonnya agak terheran heran xp Belum lagi cowo cowonya yang punya kelakuan aneh aneh dan mind blowing.. Si Violet ini mmg katanya tertarik dgn orang orang macam gini, yg dofie, karena dia sendiri sebenernya cerdas.. :)
March 19, 2014
a funny black comedy from whit stillman
½ March 18, 2014
A boring chick flick with a somewhat followable plot line.
Just wanted to watch this cuz I love Greta Gerwig.
½ February 25, 2014
Not completely unwatchable, but I expected a lot more from this movie.
January 14, 2014
Didn't finish...first 20 mins was too annoying, so I turned it off.
January 11, 2014
What is this? It's funny but I don't think in the way it's supposed to be
January 8, 2014
Violet: We're also trying to make a difference in people's lives, and one way to do that is to stop them from killing themselves.

Damsels in Distress es una película excéntrica, pero no de una buena manera. Nos presenta un grupo privilegiado constituido por Violet, Heather y Rose. Son estudiantes en la universidad y su objetivo es revolucionar la manera en la cual las personas se relacionan y se comportan, porque aparentemente ellas son superiores a el resto. Lily es una nueva alumna, y rápidamente se les une lo cual es la oportunidad perfecta para convertirla en una de ellas. El grupo preside un club para prevenir suicidios en el campus, y también un club de bailes olvidados con lo cual no tienen mucho éxito. La trama transcurre entre las enseñanzas y teorías de este grupo, y los problemas que se enfrentan con el sexo opuesto. En realidad esta película me irritó de principio a fin, porque trataba de elevarse a un nivel de sofistificación y intelectualidad pero no lo logró ya que todo parecía forzado y sin ningún objetivo sino mostrar a estos personajes tropezándose, y no aprendiendo nada de ello. Al no tener ningún fin, y los motivos que las llevaban a tratar de "ayudar" a las personas eran superficiales, es difícil relacionarse o tener algún vínculo con esta película.
Super Reviewer
½ December 30, 2013
This movie strikes a tone that few before it have, and presents a undergraduate environment as one in which people aren't who they seem to be and are always putting on airs to disguise their weakness of spirit, morals or intellect. The ending was wacky and I couldn't get my head around it, but for most of the film the characters and the conversations were interesting despite the uncommon language they used. The film is full of little ironies and the characters hypocritical, and yet, it doesn't come off as satirical; in fact, I found I could relate to it, more than five years after finishing my BA. The cripplingly good intentions are something to behold, as is the self-obsession and projection, but what's remarkable about the movie is that it's still all rather happy... and not in that saccharine or hollowly nostalgic way that college movies usually are; I genuinely liked these characters while simultaneously watching them be repulsive. A solid story of anti-heroes that would play well with fans of HBO's Girls or Sex and the City (the TV series, not the cheap cinematic cash-ins), and a film that can generate a lot of discussion about altruism and whether or not it's completely dead. Worth checking out, if only because no two people will read it the same way.
December 21, 2013
Imagine if Heathers went academic had a bit of heart and was set in a university instead of a high school- that's kind of what "Damsels In Distress" is, but it's so much more than that. As in "Last Days of Disco", Whit Stillman gives us a talky, philosophical film about humanity with added satire and bags of humour transmitted through oodles of witty dialogue. Besides that, it has an absolutely undeniable charm and works thoroughly well. Greta Gerwig is the stand-out performance here. Her turn as a neurotic, arrogant, pseudo-intellectual is an absolutely spot-on satire of your typical overly-confident student type.

Besides all this, it works as a great satire of the university (college, in the American terms this movie is set in) experience- the over-seriousness, the overly-analytical day-to-day existence of what is essentially a soap opera with learning attached. The real genius here though was the filtration through the classic old-Hollywood romantic stylisation. There are few films I've watched and had a smile on my face throughout, but this was one of them.
½ December 19, 2013
If you don't fall asleep or punch yourself in the face, this film is strangely compelling and actually pretty funny.
½ December 12, 2013
Stillman continues to make watchable overly stylized films that I love, though I think I may prefer the banter to be coming out of male characters to females, as it did grate on me a few times here, where I'm somewhat accustomed to such asshole-ry from his males.

Weird, eh?

Worth a rental.
December 6, 2013
Really not bad. Funny in a dry way.

Good dancing from Greta.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ December 6, 2013
Speaking of "Damsels in Distress:"

Violet(Greta Gerwig), Heather(Carrie MacLemore) and Rose(Megalyn Echikunwoke) recruit new student Lily(Analeigh Tipton) into their cause. Said cause being suicide prevention. Which they intend to do through donuts, coffee and tap dancing. When that does not work, there is always busting down doors which they do when they rescue Priss(Caitlin FitzGerald) who claims she was only glum. Otherwise, Lily is content with being the third wheel to Xavier(Hugo Becker) and Alice(Meredith Hagner).

With "Damsels in Distress," writer-director Whit Stillman manages to prove once and for all that he has his head jammed firmly up his backside with dialogue that no human being would ever say in the real world in his hard hitting expose of cliques on college campuses. Out of that there are maybe a couple of nice moments.("Did you stay at the Motel 6?" "No, I stayed at the Motel 4. It was cheaper.") Plus, the movie has a rather cavalier attiude towards mental illness. Well, since the spoken word had no chance, then maybe Stillman should have made a musical with this material which he hints at repeatedly until the musical number that finally arrives too little too late.
December 6, 2013
Tries to be whimsical and quirky but falls a bit short..
November 27, 2013
Interesting comic satire, though it's uneven.
½ November 4, 2013
Fred: I wasn't just buying drinks for people; they were for cute girls. There was a perfectly rational, logical, easily-explainable agenda.
Violet: So it *was* a playboy or operator move.
Fred: Of course. Transparently so.
Violet: I admire that. Drinks are expensive.
½ October 28, 2013
Characters are thoroughly unlikeable, and difficult to identify with. The best part of the movie is the secondary characters who get very little screen time.
Page 2 of 16