Dan Candy's Law - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dan Candy's Law Reviews

Page 1 of 1
August 24, 2015
Not bad and easy to find. Low quality of transfers may discourage some.
June 12, 2012
"Don't Let Him Eat Your Heart." Donald Sutherland is a Canadian Mountie out for revenge against the Cree husband who killed his partner. It's a lot of moaning rage from Sutherland and too much time is spent arguing with diabolical government officials, but the film picks up once the cat & mouse revenge chase takes over and Sutherland is given plenty of room for his soup-straining mustache to scream. It's never going to be remembered as a Great Western, but it's a fun enough oddity for film collectors. VF.
August 26, 2008
A Canadian Mountie's obsession with hunting down and bringing to trail a Cree Indian (Tootosis) who killed his friend and collegue (McCarthy) ends up triggering a confrontation between rebellious Native Americans and the Canadian army. Will Dan Candy (Sutherland) get his man, and at what cost?

"Dan Candy's Law" is a quiet, almost gentile movie--despite the cussing, gunplay and ultimately cannon fire--that is through-and-through Canadian western. Instead of the scorching heat of a desert southwest, we have the chilly windswept northwestern plains of Canada. Instead of a shoot-from-the-hip renegade vigilante sheriff, we have a tall-tale-telling Mountie who, even while disobeying orders from his superior, is trying to uphold the law and a fugitive murderer to justice before a court of law.

Based on a true story of a NWMP officer Dan Candy who spent a year tracking a Cree Indian who stole government cattle and killed a police officer while escaping custody, the film is alternatively sympathetic to both the police officers and white settlers and the Native Americans who have been displaced. It's a film that's probably a lot closer to reality than most westerns that are made, even to the point of the way it unfolds slowly and quietly, except for moments of chaos and violence.

Donald Sutherland is particularly excellent in the film, and his character is a fascinating one, particularly for a western. More often than not, movies center on vigilantes who are out for revenge more than anything else, but the anger of his friend's murder subsides, Candy returns to being a true professional who stands for law and order on the frontier. Up to the very end, he is dedicated to bringing in his suspect alive, if possible.

If you enjoy the western genre, "Dan Candy's Law" might be a nice change of pace for you.


Dan Candy's Law (aka "Alien Thunder")
Starring: Donald Sutherland, Kevin McCarthy, Jean Duceppe, John Boylan, Chief Dan George, Gordon Tootoosis and Francine Racette
Director: Claude Fournier
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
½ March 14, 2008
Don't waste your time on this one the poster is better then the movie. This is not the Movie that made Donald Sutherland Famous. I think it might have made him iunemployed for a while. I got my copy in a 20 Movie Pack from Mill Creek, it was so washed out, green color fading in and out, oversized screen, and cuts in film that I rented a single copy from Netflix, Rest assured that Mill Creek turns out a good product as it was better and longer by 20 minutes then the Netflix rental, But if I was you I would pass this one up.
November 20, 2007
I worked as a production assistant on this turkey.
August 21, 2007
i would like to see this one..
January 21, 2007
wanna see it i cant wAIT LOL !!!
November 18, 2006
Brilliant arty, paintaly poster. Great film, when men were still undoubtedly men in every respect, brave yet gentleman like and well mannered. They had a code then...
October 13, 2006
Seriously... Buy 1 get shit 1 free or wot
Page 1 of 1