Dangerous Liaisons (Les Liaisons Dangereuses) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dangerous Liaisons (Les Liaisons Dangereuses) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Super Reviewer
½ August 15, 2012
Vadim broke filmic sexual taboos for his time which seem tame nowadays, and so this look at decadence may be nigh forgotten and yet it still holds power as an intelligent liberal couple sow seeds of discontent merely because they can ... to their consuming regret (it was still the 1950's!). Interesting especially as seduction is very important to coercion in Vadim's eyes, and how American jazz, supplied by no less than Thelonius Monk, is only a tool of that decadence ...
July 29, 2009
Jeane Moreau is so much cooler than Glenn Close or Sarah Buffy Whatsherface.
January 20, 2009
Good version of the play that does a good job with the pleasures of the story but also doesn't entirely resolve the lack of emotion in the two leads. The story still feels like it's satisfying a desire to see people fail, at one level or another.
June 20, 2008
Beautiful performance by Moreau. This film broke so many barriers in terms of sexuality. I loved the theme of exploring women...finding the purpose of a woman, their intentions, desires, etc. Oh! and I absolutely loved the The Thelonius Monk music. The music played brilliantly throughout the whole film.
May 14, 2008
Parce qu'il est toujours dangereux d'etre attiree par un belatre...
½ March 26, 2008
Decadent fun, with a cool Thelonius Monk score. The accidental self-immolation at the end was a bit extreme, but overall, it's hard to believe this was made by the guy who did "Barbarella."
January 7, 2008
Wonderful lead performances by Jeanne Moreau and Gerard Philipe highligt this trendy version a classic. Watch out for a young Jean-Louis Tringtignant in the Keanu Reeves-part. The music is good music but too much of it, which distracts you from the story.
½ November 19, 2007
The old tale set among swingers, at a ski resort, where Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers are the party band! Killer, the soundtrack alone wins this all the stars there are.
September 25, 2007
5 zvezdica zbog Zane Moro!
September 24, 2007
eu am mai vazut o ecranizare, dar nu cred ca este nici asta, nici cea anterioara. Aia mi s-a parut mai buna, dar nu stiu unde sa dau de ea
September 18, 2007
Hollywood, eat your heart out and watch how it's done.
½ September 10, 2007
jusqu'a present la meilleure adaptation du roman de Laclos. (I agree --far better than "the two "period" adaptations from the 80's" )
½ July 24, 2007
Infinitely superior to the two "period" adaptations from the 80's. Very stylish. jeanne moreau physically in her prime, Vadim in his directorial prime, a score by Thelonius Monk that mirrors the cinematic style, or the other way around (the editing and camera moves have a jazzy jumping quality). A truly excellent film.
July 10, 2007
See the new one too.
June 9, 2007
I love this play, my favorite character to play besides Mimi in Rent
February 12, 2007
Ooooh looks like an early movie of the book! I love Valmont & Dangerous Liasons....wonder if this is just as good?!
Page 1 of 1