Dare - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dare Reviews

Page 1 of 18
Super Reviewer
August 20, 2016
I found this pointless with an end that left much to be desired.
April 28, 2015
I'm the writer. It's funny that the worst review of the movie on here is from someone who was romantically and personally rejected by someone involved in the film. Ah schadenfreude, alive and well folks--keep on making art and heads up. xoxoxo
Super Reviewer
March 9, 2015
Ironic title for a film that wants to push boundaries but refuses to go all the way. A love triangle setup with two guys and a girl is seldom seen, but each time these characters generate some interest, it soon dissolves thereafter. That's probably due to the lack of chemistry between the actors. The one scene with real meat is chewed up by Alan Cumming during his brief appearance.
March 9, 2015
"Dare" is like the doppelganger of a John Hughes movie. It explores the depths of teen sexuality and rebellion not with humor, but with an honest bleakness that is honestly something a viewer can respect. But then again, it has the opportunity to go farther. Sometimes it goes full throttle, sometimes it holds back. There's a lot of controversial material just bubbling over the surface of "Dare", but it only occasionally explodes. On the other hand, you get an awesome cast: Emmy Rossum, Zach Gilford and Rooney Mara are all very good, but Ashley Springer is someone to watch out for.
½ March 8, 2015
3/8/2015: Emmy Rossum is great, but I wasn't a huge fan of this movie.
February 15, 2015
It was ok. Not at all what I had expected.
February 3, 2015
A fairly interesting take on the high school experience of over privileged suburbanites. This isn't exactly virgin territory (no pun intended), but the writer and director put in (no pun intended) enough edgy material to make it worthwhile. The character's confusion as to who they are and what their future holds is vividly captured by the trio of young actors who make up this confused threesome (pun intended).
½ January 16, 2015
Good enough, but quite slow.
½ December 20, 2014
Solid, solid movie. Everything about it, with the exception of Springer's awkwardness, was perfect from beginning to end.
December 6, 2014
Just a bunch of confused adolescents making there same mistakes. Dull.
August 2, 2014
Really great movie, with some taste of youth, bring the real drama of gays and teenagers girls.
May 22, 2014
Nothing special...:(
½ April 17, 2014
Perhaps I just missed something. I was waiting, though not impatiently, for this movie to evolve into this really deep and meaningful film, but it never did.
½ March 9, 2014
An above average affair telling the story of 3 high school kids as they make an effort to shake things up in their lives in their final semester of school. Alexa is an overachieving good girl. Ben, Alexa's best friend, is an awkward socially inept theatre geek. Johnny is a rich kid who has everything he wants apart from happiness. They form a strange pseudo friendship with benefits and shit inevitable goes awry.
The cast are hit and miss with a perfunctory script. It has its moments, but it all seems a bit copy and pasted from other better teen films. It's all a bit too sombre and could really do with a shade of lightness. The ending seems very confused and rushed. Like they didn't really have a clue as to where it all was going.
My So-Called Life-lite.
February 26, 2014
Excellent character study of a film, and the three leads do a great job. Especially Emmy Rossum and Zach Gilford.
January 10, 2014
A coming of age film, the 3 stars of the film gave emotional and wonderful performances, although uncomfortable at times. Emmy Rossum, Zach Gilford, and Ashley Springer all get a shout out for their roles. The film pulls it off, but some of supporting roles lacked, and I don't think I like how they handled the end of the movie.
December 2, 2013
This indie teen flick borrows too heavily from its inspirations. It worked on a slow Monday night on The Movie Channel, but I wouldn't seek it out.
½ June 20, 2013
it feels like its rubbish because its set in high school but actually there's a lot to it
June 6, 2013
Really bad movie. Actors were way too old to be credible teens for the sake of getting away with soft porn in a mainstream movie. Alan Cumming seemed embarrassed in his cameo. Bad screenplay, bad acting, bad story.
Page 1 of 18