Dark Angel: The Ascent - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dark Angel: The Ascent Reviews

Page 1 of 1
November 20, 2012
I doubt that I will see this film but since I no longer have a profile section on which to relate about films that I like but that aren't on here (or about tv shows) then I will "hijack" this spot here to mention one episode of Dark Angel which stars Jessica Alba (I have two seasons on dvd and it is one of my new favorites).

Essentially Dark Angel is the story of a "super" human female who is genetically superior to most humans, part of experiments by a shadowy organization. Some of them escape and live on the run. Max works as a courier and also breaks and enters to steal from rich, evil people. She comes across ╦yes Only and becomes part of his battle against oppression.

Dark Angel season two "Brainiac" is arguably the best and most noble tv episode ever made. Max meets a guy who is large, a bit strange and apparently in love with her though she is sure they have never met.

Brian turns out to be fellow X series and he is like a military strategist and general. He proves a brave warrior and able soldier and ultimately gives his life for Max's. The actor who portrays Brian is brilliant and imbues his character with nobility. 10/10.
July 27, 2012
A truly unique take on demons and their role in the universe. Well worth seeing.
Super Reviewer
½ October 23, 2011
Classic Charles Band stuff this, a real B-movie :) not that its terrible I might add, it not too bad really, the plot is rather odd and makes no real sense, something about a devil girl leaving hell and coming to earth to see what its like and falling in love whilst ridding the living of evil folk.

Pretty weird and pointless with many questions but we won't delve further into it as I'm sure it doesn't matter. Cast is unknown but not totally useless, Angela Featherstone is the only name here, effects are dodgy to say the least but some makeup isn't all that bad. Gotta love these Full Moon gems.
August 16, 2011
This is not the worst Full Moon film by far.
It was fairly boring and uninteresting but there was enough nudity for it to be alright.
Angela Featherstone is Veronica who leaves hell and punishes sinners on earth while also falling in love.
Uneventful movie that at least only lasts 1 hour 20 minutes.
August 15, 2011
Before James Cameron had his Dark Angel, Full Moon had theirs. On the surface it may seem like a standard good versus evil religious tale but if you look only a little harder you'll see this is actually a romance filled dark coming of age story told from the perspective of a young female demon who escapes from hell to learn about the ways of the world.
Combining gore, good looks, nudity, porn, and all things demonic with the innocence of a preteen who's just found what the internet is truly used for, Dark Angel: The Ascent is a well told story that is sure to please as long as you don't get too hung up on the production values.
January 1, 2011
A truly unique take on demons and their role in the universe. Well worth seeing.
December 25, 2010
it's a fantasy-horror film of all time.
Super Reviewer
½ December 25, 2010
10/11/2010 (ONLINE)It's a pretty good attempt for a fantasy horror and I like stories like this however this was a little too amateur for my liking but I was able to see it to the end.I reckon this would of done well as a TV series because there so much you can add to this but anyways... I've seen worse but it's not annoyingly bad for me but rather bad in a way where it could of been better if done with a little more skill.The beginning was interesting but the rest of the movie just needed a little more tasteful arranging. I didn't hate it and I think it would be a hit if some decent film-makers gave it some serious thought because she is pretty much the girl version of "Hell Boy" and "Hell Boy" was a hit.
½ September 12, 2010
The acting is horrible. The visuals of hell were pretty good, though. I did like how in the middle of hell where people are getting tortured in horrible ways a teenage girl is like, "this totally sucks. I'm cupped up all day. I'm bored and want to get out." - Total complete insensitivity. I don't know if I liked how the demons were following God's orders and were more religious than anyone.

In the end, this movie was really really put together badly. The acting was what killed it. The rest of this movie was salvageable, but there was only one actor, the doctor, was even partially believable and his acting was very far from good.

This could have been pretty bad ass. You can see from the hell scene that it didn't look bad at all. This had a lot of potential, but it came out looking cheap and unbelievable.
½ September 19, 2009
I can't remember much about this movie apart from the very attractive redhead and her nude scenes.
February 17, 2009
Poorly done low budget horror flick in which a sexy demon comes topside to see the world of man and just doesn't get how things are done up here. Bad acting and a poor script ruin a good concept.
½ July 24, 2008
when i was younger would have been 3.5 stars as it was but rewatched this a few weeks back and really not as good as i remembered. For a low budget horror not bad but not too good either
June 15, 2008
I bought this on previously viewed tape when I was 11, and watched it many times. When I was 13, my mom took it away for some reason I can't remember, and I longed to see it again for years. Finally, when it was released as part of the Full Moon Classics Vol 2 box set, I bought it. And IT WAS AWFUL. Everything about it, from the acting/dubbing to the effects were just ludicrously bad. This same thing has happened to me many times; I'm not sure if my tastes have changed or if I just built these movies up in my memories to be better than they really were or what. Either way, it's a waste of money and I hate when it happens. Poor me.

On the plus side, Angela Featherstone is hot. Actually, that's not ON the plus side, that IS the plus side...
½ May 20, 2008
It will be here soon, so then I can let my fellow friends in on what kind of movie it truly is. Very excited though, I love Fullmoon.

Where must I begin? The story was simply amazing. Good decent acting, especially by Angela Featherstone, who plays our dark princess. A demonic love story that you can't help but watch til the very end. One of my Fullmoon favorites.
½ May 3, 2008
Boring and dull Full moon fare about a woman who escapes Hell, but winds up being used to track and punish the Sinners of Earth, buuuuut, of course, she falls in love. This has a real Underworld feel to it, except with angels, demons, and a very low budget instead of wolves, vampires, and Kate Beckinsale's tight body. The film had its moments, but overall, it's a snoozefest.
June 20, 2007
Weird, but oddly well done with the love story and an amazing perfromance by Angela Featherstone.
June 10, 2007
Probably the best Full Moon movie I've ever seen (or at least tied with Stuart Gordon's The Pit and the Pendulum).

Angela Featherstone is great in the lead role.

Where the hell is the DVD!?
Page 1 of 1