The Dark Half - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Dark Half Reviews

Page 2 of 15
½ January 20, 2013
Stephen king adaption that is given a boost thanks to an impressive script by Romero. I really thought this would fall into the poor king adaptions but I was quite shocked at how restraint Romero was on the material.
Timothy Hutton is criminally underrated as an actor and he shows why here. He really plays the film with a quiet manner which makes the later half of the film much more. I found the supporting cast quite overshadowed by Hutton.
Romero directing and writing is a risk but he seems to inhabit kings works better then most. The pair teamed for creepshow so it would seem they work well together. The screenplay is not over the top but its the pacing that really hurts the film.
I really thought this would be your basic poor king adaption but what is delivered really shocked me. Much better then secret window this is a true king adaption
December 7, 2012
The Dark Half
Synopsis: Although it lacks the creepy subtleties of Stephen King's celebrated novel, George Romero's underrated adaptation of The Dark Half ranks among the best films based on King's fiction, with Romero taking care to honor King's central theme whi...
Starring: Timothy Hutton
Directed by: George A. Romero
November 23, 2012
It's been years since I've read the book, but as I recall, this seems to be a page by page match.
½ November 16, 2012
One of the Better Stephen King adaptations! A creepy horror/thriller with a thrilling ending.
November 12, 2012
"The Dark Half" isn't as scary as it could be, but it makes up for that by being consistently interesting. Some aspects don't work, but it's an entertaining, well-acted and pretty intriguing motion picture.
½ November 12, 2012
The problem here is that King's book doesn't make a whole lot of sense... as such, the film - which stays true to the source material - also comes up a bit short. Still, it has some wonderful setpieces and Timothy Hutton gives the performance of his career. Romero's dark humor is also very much in evidence.
October 11, 2012
Rec by Dannyrovira. Thank you!
October 8, 2012
Maybe this was great when it came out, but I watched it right after reading the book and I found it awful.
½ September 5, 2012
This is one of George A. Romero's best work as a filmmaker and his most adult as well. It is faithfully adapated from the Stephen King novel, which Romero also wrote the screenplay. Hutton is terrific in a dual role performance. Which Hutton also appear in another King adapation years later in a supporting role "Secret Window". The premise is a good one. It has solid supporting performances by Madigan and Rooker. Joy is a good in his bit-part as a sleazy hustler, who knows Hutton's character secret. Which Joy worked with Romero in a memorable supporting role in "Land of the Dead". Harris is amusing as Hutton's only friend. The movie slows down a bit towards the second half. But it gets back on its feet with a thrilling, suspenseful, third act. Hutton is certainly darkly humourous as his dangerous alter ego George Stark, who becomes real somehow. This needs to be rediscover, i think "The Dark Half" is a sadly forgotten horror fantasy thriller that got lost, when it was first released. I loved this movie. One of the underrated horror movies of the 1990's and one of the best.
August 7, 2012
One of Stephen King's finest. This movie delivers more as a Psychological murder mystery channeling From the mind of Timothy Hutton's Character.
Dark Half is cinema with complex storylines, Not enough Gore and little to no fright. Hutton is Genius playing his alter dark half, i was really impressed at the depth this movie. This could be the next best thing to "The Shining".
½ August 5, 2012
If you've seen Secret Window, you've seen this movie with a hotter main lead
June 15, 2012
During the 70s and 80s Stephen King wrote several novels under a pseudonym, Richard Bachman. It was sort of a social experiment testing whether it was his celerity or talent which sold books. He was eventually ousted by a bookworm and used the opportunity to fess up and then publicly kill Bachman. "Cancer of the pseudonym" was the cause of death.... in response to all of this King wrote his novel, The Dark Half. The film adaptation is directed by horror maestro George Romero and stars Timothy Hutton. Its the story of an author, Thad Beaumont, who is forced to kill his alter ego when a reader discovers his secret and tries to blackmail him. Straight after this publicity stunt a series of murders occur. Thad's inner dark half is George Stark and he threatens to keep killing until more novels are written under his name. Stephen King's work can get deeply psychological and this is a great example. In terms of King's horror adaptations, this rates up with The Shining and Carrie. Its a well crafted mind-fuck full of potent imagery and graphic violence. Romero brings the story to life with a nightmarish vision that blurs reality with psychosis. Timothy Hutton is fantastic and relishes the due roles. High praise for this movie!
May 31, 2012
During the 70s and 80s Stephen King wrote several novels under a pseudonym, Richard Bachman. It was sort of a social experiment testing whether it was his celerity or talent which sold books. He was eventually ousted by a bookworm and used the opportunity to fess up and then publicly kill Bachman. "Cancer of the pseudonym" was the cause of death.... in response to all of this King wrote his novel, The Dark Half. The film adaptation is directed by horror maestro George Romero and stars Timothy Hutton. Its the story of an author, Thad Beaumont, who is forced to kill his alter ego when a reader discovers his secret and tries to blackmail him. Straight after this publicity stunt a series of murders occur. Thad's inner dark half is George Stark and he threatens to keep killing until more novels are written under his name. Stephen King's work can get deeply psychological and this is a great example. In terms of King's horror adaptations, this rates up with The Shining and Carrie. Its a well crafted mind-fuck full of potent imagery and graphic violence. Romero brings the story to life with a nightmarish vision that blurs reality with psychosis. Timothy Hutton is fantastic and relishes the due roles. High praise for this movie!
½ May 14, 2012
5/13/2012: Not scary at all. Nothing all that good about it.
½ May 11, 2012
Great BOOK, bad flicc! It was just awful when Thad/George were in the same scene it was OBVIOUSLY spliced, badly too I might add!
April 4, 2012
One of the better Stephen King film adaptations.
April 1, 2012
Good movie came close to book.
½ March 16, 2012
I think an author can easily relate to this story. Talk about getting too much into your character. Another decent King novel adapted into a movie.
½ January 10, 2012
Very enjoyable, spooky, mysterious.
½ January 4, 2012
This movie is god awful. Fuck...
Page 2 of 15