Dark Matter - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dark Matter Reviews

Page 1 of 12
Super Reviewer
½ June 4, 2014
Meryl Streep somehow ended up in this real dog of a film about a Chinese student goes apeshit. One to be missed for sure.
½ January 5, 2014
There's little in Billy Shebar's script, the rambling direction by theater and opera helmer Chen Shi-Zheng - or Liu Ye's impassive performance as the student.
January 4, 2014
The logic for the ending is a bit too tenuous. The main character does not appear to have psychological problems to make him even just want to shoot someone, anyone. The real life person from which the film is inspired certainly was more deeply troubled. It can be however taken ironically to mean that the main character finally adapts to life in the USA and solves some frustrations the americanos way.... I think the film also wants to leaves the message that the guy chose the gun too hastily and his problems would be solved very happily with some patience - scene where his romantic interest seemed to miss him near the end.
November 14, 2013
I might try to watch this again someday, but the first go around the movie didn't hold my attention.
January 19, 2013
Save your time - ticked off Asian FOB takes his vengeance on the people he feels have wronged him...WTF evah!
January 5, 2013
sucks big time what ever possessed streep 2 do this tripe is beyond me
January 3, 2013
In the true event, the student, Gang Lu, was far from a naive victim whose dream was shattered by academic politics and cultural difference as portrayed by the film, but rather a self-promoting and selfish psycho who couldn't tolerate the fact that another fellow student was better than him.

Chen Shi-Zheng captures the story very differently an far from it's truth, A pretty extreme character to start with, Gang Lu transforms into a poster- boy for a certain type of desperation with no outlet. You can kind of see it all coming from a mile away, but the outcome still packs a crazy kick in the gut. Maybe even all the more so for its nauseous inevitability.
September 27, 2012
Although we may not like the outcome of the narrative, it does give some insight as to what led to the events. Not that it justifies it, but people always want to know why some minds snap, just like dry twig.
½ July 14, 2012
Stereotypical performance but interesting. If it wasn't based on real events, it would be unbelievable.
April 10, 2012
it was semi confusing but i LOVED the soundtrack!
February 8, 2012
this movie was pretty interesting and just kinda different. I enjoyed it but dont think id watch it again.
½ October 27, 2011
Despite presumably honorable intentions and sticking close to the actual events, Shi-Zheng's film is sadly completely lacking in tension or involvement. Partly thanks to the cold, frank direction and Liu's somewhat vacant performance, this tale of an ambitious young science student who's complex relationship with his mentor eventually results in almost an implausible massacre, feels like a plodding, low budget exercise that never really get's going. Building slowly to a conclusion that inexplicably lacks any real emotional punch, and with several completely redundant characters (the parents, Meryl Streep) Dark Matter tries and fails to enunciate the tragic consequences of academic pressure and cultural differences.
½ October 3, 2011
A brainy guy goes berserk. The movie shows the pitfalls of falling between the cracks. He wants to be vindicated for his obsession with dark matter, a theory that he can't prove, in which the things we can't explain are given a rational ("mathematical") model; he sees those who know better than to fall into pure speculation as out to stifle and deny him, and it builds into a rage based on his inability to adapt to the world outside his obsession. When his rival is awarded a phd over him, he goes over the line into murderous jealousy and despair. Meryl Streep cannot even save him! Ppl he hates tell him to play the politics game and get his doctorate instead of trying to be a revolutionary, only they are right in this case because dark matter doesnt exist. Knowing the seams of the universe don't fit can lead ppl to sad things if they try to project their inner problems to make it all work, I think is the moral of this movie.
September 2, 2011
Just immature and hysterical. As an academic at heart, I did find the characters plausible..
August 29, 2011
not what i thought it was going to be like.
August 11, 2011
I would have wanted to see this film if the critique above hadn't told the ENTIRE story. Thanks Jason Buchanan!
August 7, 2011
oh do fuckoff... isn't life boring enough
July 11, 2011
this movie was pretty interesting and just kinda different. I enjoyed it but dont think id watch it again.
June 2, 2011
A disturbing study of a clash of cultures. Liu Ye, a Chinese student, is brilliant in cosmology, but lost in coping with America. He is driven, but can't pick up on the cues in dealing with his jealous mentor, picking up an American girl, or even relating to his fellow Chinese students. Ye Liu is riveting as Liu Ye. Aiden Quinn plays the smarmy bullying boss. Streep's & Brown's characters are somewhat more insightful and empathetic, but don't challenge the dominant male.
April 16, 2011
This one could be called "Dirty academic world for dummies". Grad students appreciate better than the average critic for knowing first hand the politics in academia... The story is definitely not far fetched, but actually pretty realistic.
Page 1 of 12