Dark Passage - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dark Passage Reviews

Page 2 of 18
½ October 3, 2014
Delmer Daves directed and adapted this David Goodis novel that was Bogie and Bacall's follow-up film to "The Big Sleep." That film had a terrific story and cast. This film has a terrific cast, but a rather unbelievable story about Bogie escaping from prison after being convicted of murdering his wife, getting plastic surgery and then teams up with Lauren Bacall to prove his innocence. Even if the story is rather silly, Daves directs the film with style and the leads are very appealing and are truly one of the great on-screen pairs.
½ August 13, 2014
Boldly hides Bogart from most of the movie while playing along with the noir conventions. It demands, however, suspension of belief. A lot of it.
½ July 6, 2014
First the beginning and end of this movie reminded me of The Shawshank Redemption. But the middle is very different. Bogart is as good as always, but Bacall is the backbone of the movie. The story is interesting if not a little slow and some of the decisions of the hero don't make sense. It is a mystery with a somewhat simple answer, but still a good classic movie.
May 17, 2014
Bogie og Bacall lavede fire film sammen, og den her er af gode grunde gået i glemmebogen. Det begynder ellers godt, og et jævnt stykke hen ad vejen er man fanget, men der er for meget kludetæppe over manuskriptet, og filmen fremstår ultimativt som en usammenhængende rodebutik.
April 22, 2014
My absolute favorite Bogie and Bacall movie
January 1, 2014
El recurso de la cámara en mano es original, pero algún detalle de la trama está cogido con alfileres.
November 24, 2013
"Dark Passage"...snigger, get it, hehehe. OK, so you can tell by even the title its a really old movie. They've never use that these days for anything but porn. But this 1946 noirish thriller is seldom less than interesting. The best parts are the first person POV of literally the entire first half of the film, you don't actually see the leading man's face - and remember how huge Bogie was back then. Imagine hiring Tom Hanks these days and keeping his face hidden for half the film. Don't see it happening (unless we're talking Toy Story of course). But the conceit is not only pulled off technically brilliantly in Dark Passage, it matches the plot perfectly, and all the while we've got Bogie hard-bitten voiceover leading us along anyway. In fact, the second half, when we actually SEE Bogie's wrinkly mug, isn't quite as interesting as the first, as the plot struggles to tie things together with some hard-to-swallow stretches of character motivation. And Bogie seems tired in these bits, whereas Bacall is luminous through. But she's not the star of the film, and neither is Bogie, really. No, the star is 1940s San Francisco - it's is awesome to see how much has changed, and especially how much hasn't. Definitely the highlight of this always interesting, but never quite compelling, film.
November 11, 2013
This was a helluva lot of fun, opening with a first person perspective as Bogey escapes jail, and we never see his face until after he undergoes surgery to go into hiding, plus we get the Lauren Bacall hotness as well, what's not to love?

Great film, recommended.
November 7, 2013
Plot/Summary, After being forced to beat up a man (Clifton Young) from whom he's hitched a ride, Bogart hides out in the apartment of Lauren Bacall, while recovering from plastic surgery, and tries to set about locating the actual murderer.
My Review
I'm actually glad it's in black and white cause it's a very great dark film. A dark film that has to do with murder, accusation, and love. The film revolves around a man named Vincent Parry played brilliantly by Humphrey Bogart who is wrongly accused of his wife's murder and try's to run away from the police due to his accusation. Along the way he is helped out by a women named Irene played by Lauren Bacall so that he can escape the town and live a new life. My favorite part of the film was in the opening sequence were a barrel falls of a truck and Vincent is inside and through out half the time you have a first person perspective of what's going on with Vincent and you barley see his real face. Later in the film after he has a talk with Sam the Taxi Driver he get's plastic surgery and when he's getting the surgery it had another great sequence in the film where he's in some sort of dozed off crazy dream where we see Irene, Sam the Taxi Driver and the plastic surgent. There is a man who is following Vincent around and eventually finds him. He is believed by the audience to be the killer but he isn't watch for yourself and find out who it is. I give Dark Passage a thumps up and a 5 out of 5.
½ July 23, 2013
The first person POV to hide Bogart's "original" appearance is a little hokey, but the story is original and the performances are solid.
June 14, 2013
The structure and character sense of the David Goodis novel are intact, and a full-throttle supporting cast has a ball with meaty parts.
May 18, 2013
Classic old school films noir. Love the Bogie.
March 31, 2013
A little cheesy but you can't go wrong with good old Bogie and Bacall.
March 2, 2013
Plot/Summary, After being forced to beat up a man (Clifton Young) from whom he's hitched a ride, Bogart hides out in the apartment of Lauren Bacall, while recovering from plastic surgery, and tries to set about locating the actual murderer.
My Review
I'm actually glad it's in black and white cause it's a very great dark film. A dark film that has to do with murder, accusation, and love. The film revolves around a man named Vincent Parry played brilliantly by Humphrey Bogart who is wrongly accused of his wife's murder and try's to run away from the police due to his accusation. Along the way he is helped out by a women named Irene played by Lauren Bacall so that he can escape the town and live a new life. My favorite part of the film was in the opening sequence were a barrel falls of a truck and Vincent is inside and through out half the time you have a first person perspective of what's going on with Vincent and you barley see his real face. Later in the film after he has a talk with Sam the Taxi Driver he get's plastic surgery and when he's getting the surgery it had another great sequence in the film where he's in some sort of dozed off crazy dream where we see Irene, Sam the Taxi Driver and the plastic surgent. There is a man who is following Vincent around and eventually finds him. He is believed by the audience to be the killer but he isn't watch for yourself and find out who it is. I give Dark Passage a thumps up and a 5 out of 5.
February 17, 2013
Great story, fantastic acting. Makes wonderful use of lightning and music to add to the moods. I couldn't believe how well they pulled off the POV hour.
½ February 11, 2013
I thought I liked this film until I saw it again last night and realized what I had liked is the wonderful b-roll of San Francisco in 1946. The story makes the most sense as the dream of a madman. Acting good, setting good, but the story is paranoically insane.
October 7, 2012
"Le passage de la nuit"
September 29, 2012
Bizarre first act featuring POV camerawork with Bogart only providing voiceover (or doubles hiding in darkness.) Still, once the real Bogart finally shows up this movie is quite good. Lauren Bacall is the highlight here, as, for once, I see why people consider her a screen legend.
½ September 12, 2012
I didn't see this from the beginning, I enjoyed what I saw.
Page 2 of 18