Darkest Hour - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Darkest Hour Reviews

Page 1 of 15
January 4, 2019
Oldman towers over everything, his Winston as full of self-doubt as he is of hubris and bombast. (Though after so many recent WW2 films I can only imagine the fights between props departments over London's last starched collar, gas mask or 40s typewriter)
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 13, 2018
I imagine in a decade's time, Darkest Hour will be known as The Film That Won Gary Oldman His Oscar, and little more.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 7, 2018
While Darkest Hour is an interesting examination of the first few weeks of Churchill's premiership, it suffers from its dedication to portraying him as a golden hero.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 1, 2018
Joe Wright captains this cinematic vessel with the artful poise and stately confidence that typically defines his features.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 31, 2018
As a marvellous character study, with Oldman heading up the film with a soon-to-be Oscar-winning performance, it is unmissable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 31, 2018
I'm not saying we shouldn't make films about Winston Churchill, or historical figures like him. But we shouldn't be fawning over them uncritically, or canonizing actors like Gary Oldman in their making.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.50/5
October 30, 2018
Delbonnel's cinematography is particularly striking ... there's a persistent haze that's as equally eerie as it is strangely invigorating.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 30, 2018
Led by an astounding performance by Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour is a tale of finding hope amidst hopelessness and how one unusual leader was able to rally a nation towards an unexpected victory.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 27, 2018
Tip-toes on the edge of British propaganda, only seeking to showcase Churchill as a heroic politician, which makes for a very one-sided affair.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 25, 2018
Joe Wright doesn't rest on the incredible work of his lead actor. A crisply paced film with many layers, thanks to a supporting cast that brings depth to the story and Wright's sharp eye behind the camera.
Full Review | Original Score: A
October 25, 2018
It's fascinating and will leave you feeling excited and inspired upon leaving the theater.
October 10, 2018
I needed more than paint-by-numbers scripting to fill in the blanks between those legendary speeches.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
October 4, 2018
It's worthy of an award for "most acting", but as for giving the year's best performance, that accolade should be reserved for a performer who disappeared in to their character, instead of merely disappearing into the excessive make-up design.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
September 14, 2018
In (Oldman's) hands, Churchill is realistic. He's insecure. He's uncertain of himself ... in relation to the situation he finds himself caught up in. This take is unique
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 4, 2018
Darkest Hour demonstrates the immense courage Churchill had. It doesn't fully absolve and deify him, rather humanizes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 29, 2018
Wright has made a film of great words and visual elegance, but fueled by what is one of the year's greatest performances.
August 27, 2018
I don't want to undermine my admiration for Gary Oldman's performance, but I think the film itself is flawed.
August 24, 2018
The film stands strong and tall as one of the most prominent biopic films.
August 24, 2018
You'll leave the theater stunned -- not only by what the British accomplished in WWII, but also longing for leaders whose words touch the hearts of their citizens.
August 20, 2018
For an actor who has spent his career embodying unclassifiable human enigmas, it's unfortunate that [Gary Oldman] and Wright chose to depict Churchill in such broad, deliberate strokes.
Page 1 of 15