Daylight - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Daylight Reviews

Page 1 of 52
June 18, 2017
Descabido. Um roteiro trágico para um filme deprimente, O elenco é grande e descartável com uma novidade Stallone não atira nem luta, mas o grau de exagero o acompanha, e dessa vez passa dos limites.
½ June 10, 2017
Joining the spate of 1990s natural disaster films ("Twister," "Dante's Peak," "Armageddon," "The Perfect Storm," etc.) Sylvester Stallone has to rescue a group of people trapped in a NYC tunnel collapse. Yep, that's pretty much it. Sly fends off raging water, explosion, giant fans, and all manner of destruction while working to save a collection of New York character cliches. The film was directed by Rob Cohen, who gave us "XXX" and the original of the Fast and the Furious films, so he certainly knows his way around an action sequence, but the story and characters are so weak that the film is merely one set pieces followed by another. That's not necessarily a bad thing (it's essentially the formula for the Tom Cruise Mission Impossible films), but this film felt too formula and routine to really stand out. Supporting actors in the film included Amy Brenneman, Viggo Mortensen, Barry Newman, Dan Hedaya, Claire Bloom, Danielle Harris, and Stan Shaw. Meh.
½ January 31, 2017
It's good movie to watch
December 8, 2016
Fair movie. Enough said.
½ September 3, 2016
Not a movie to watch if you reside in the tri state area. HA
½ June 19, 2016
Truck carrying chemicals explodes in the Holland Tunnel and Sylvester Stallone saves those who survived. It's your typical disaster flick for certain with a hero in place.
½ February 14, 2016
Non so perché, ma questo è uno dei film che preferisco con Stallone.
Quando lo vidi al cinema mi tenne con fiato sospeso.
Peccato che recentemente Cohen abbia perso la capacità di tenere "sull'attenti" il pubblico dei suoi film.
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
January 29, 2016
Good disaster film, Deserves more credit, Nice plot and very entertaining from start to finish.
January 21, 2016
This is really cool. A movie for heroes.
December 14, 2015
This is another failed film primarily because everything seems to have been modified in order to enhance Stallone's character and performance. If all changes and cuts in the original script hadn't been that evident we could have witnessed a pretty good action film. Some of the characters such as the ones played by Jo Anderson and Viggo Mortensen have been dramatically amputated, mostly in the last case, after an impeccable introduction. In this particular case, such a portrayal of a character is rendered illogical and superfluous by its hasty and unexpected disappearance. Mortensen's character could have meant a very interesting counterpoint to the one played by Sly, however, all this seems to be sacrified for the one hero's sake. Conclusion: another boring action movie full of flat types and topics...
September 27, 2015
"Daylight" is everything that you hoped it would not be. The concept is actually pretty interesting and could have become an amazing disaster film, but the acting is simply some of the worst that you will ever encounter. There came a point where I starting rooting for certain characters to die just so that I didn't have to watch them act anymore. It is just atrocious. Stallone set a poor precedence for the rest of his castmates. After watching this wooden performance, nobody would ever believe that he was once nominated for an Oscar. The acting is painful to watch (especially the Birdemic-level performance of Jay O. Sanders), but there are also some major issues with the script. Nothing spoils an intense moment like a felon on a prison transport blubbering like a baby and a woman wrestling around with an electrical wire for 20 minutes with boots on her hands. While it may seem like the campiness of the film might make it a fun watch, it takes itself too seriously to be funny. Watch if you must, but there are dozens of disaster films that I'd rather watch.
September 11, 2015
good actioner & another lost review flixter-grrrrrr
½ July 17, 2015
Standard Hollywood cliche-both the Black Guys die.
June 24, 2015
La vi en el cine, yes, voluntariamente fui... por que en no mucho haría un viaje a New York, y quería ver el mismo túnel. Y sí, lo vi, el taxi me llevó del aeropuerto a la ciudad por ese túnel.

El poder de la pantalla puede ser raro y confuso...
April 28, 2015
It's cliche but this surprisingly intense film is a fun one time watch.
½ April 7, 2015
This movie is so boring in high school I made out with a girl that was "out of my league" the entire time. It's like a scene from DieHard W/vengeance. But just one scene that goes on forever without getting anywhere. Super frustrating but it will still always have a place in my heat as the worst movie I've ever paid for. Rocky owes me $7.95
March 15, 2015
Your average hero-come-rescue movie. The score is good though.
January 21, 2015
Lo mejor que hizo Stallone en los 90's fue Cliffhanger y Cop Land esta pelìcula es una de las peores.
½ January 15, 2015
Of course, it's inevitable that big actors frequently take a dive in bad movies, and in Sylvester Stallone's case, Daylight was one of those movies that made Sly Stallone look outdated, and considering that this was made in the mid-1990's, this is a very bad sign indeed. The film itself looks quite dirty, and by that I mean it looked like one of those filthy public restrooms, only most of it is brown. The actors don't even try to give a very convincing performance, and while the acting isn't as bad as in other bad movies (which I dare not mention), it's still really terrible to the point that it's blatantly obvious that the actors weren't paid well enough. Even Sly Stallone suffers here, mainly because he fails to hide the fact that this is the kind of movie he's done several times before. While the film's more explosive scenes where decent at best, the entire film felt poorly made and incompetently handled. The one good thing about this movie is that at least it wasn't much of a disappointment, because I had fairly low expectations of this film to begin with. If you have high expectations, however, be prepared to be thoroughly disappointed.
Page 1 of 52