Days of Darkness - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Days of Darkness Reviews

Page 1 of 6
October 17, 2013
Imagine finding the antidote to zombies while being sexually assaulted by an angry feminist whilst pissed. This film is what put that thought in my head.
Superb. (in an abysmal way)
January 22, 2013
Not your mother's zombie movie.
December 28, 2012
ok, someone was paid to write this? too bad, concept had promise but the dialogue and acting offer no promise whatsover
December 21, 2012
The final chapter of the trilogy that began with The Decline of the American Empire and continued with The Barbarian Invasions, Days of Darkness has neither that chatty brilliance of the former nor the elegiac emotion of the latter.
½ December 18, 2012
I couldn't even watch it too the end it was that bad, do people in zombie films never watch zombie films, there are rules people. This film stole a period in my life I can never get back, where's my lawyer?
½ May 21, 2012
So awful, and not even the so awful it's fun. At one point a character actually has to give a quick recap so if you've nodded off or lost interest you know what's going on. It's a travesty that they use the word zombie, which should be reserved for better things, like cocktails and the reanimated.
May 12, 2012
Incredibly bland and forgettable zombie movie. In a world of re-invented genres and new takes on the old this movie really fails to do anything new or remarkable. A mere month after watching and i struggle to recall a single scene or plot point, let alone a character.
January 31, 2012
The dead have risen and taken over the planet, and a small mismatched group of survivors living in a disused army base discover the truth behind the zombie plague.

This another one those films that airs late night on the Horror Channel and sounded so bad that I thought it might be a bit of a giggle. But the result was actually a bit of a surprise, and I was presented with quite a good film. The storyline is a bit of a mishmash of several other movies (Night Of The Living Dead, Invasion Of The Body Snatchers, Creepozoids, etc), and even though it does not explain itself particularly well in places, it is handled quite competently and made me want to watch it all the way through. The acting ranges from OK to pretty wooden, but this does add a little bit of charm to the quirky characters. The gore is frequent and quite bloody with a fair amount of body parts flying around. Even though the movie is far from perfect, the sum of its parts makes for quite entertaining viewing.
½ January 23, 2012
there are two separate and different movies mixed up here......
January 5, 2012
I actually thoroughly enjoyed this bizarre movie... Aliens with tentacles bursting out vaginas, zombie foetus's coming out nutsacks... Wrong wrong, but weirdly watchable!
January 5, 2012
I actually thoroughly enjoyed this bizarre movie... Aliens with tentacles bursting out vaginas, zombie foetus's coming out nutsacks... Wrong wrong, but weirdly watchable!
December 2, 2011
well it wasnt to hard to sit through i made it to the end ive taken stars away for originallity and direction it reminded me alot of night of the comet and day of the dead wich the latter i never cared for anyway but this movie had its moments of originallity though so it may be worth a watch
December 1, 2011
Very good, story ending could have beeen a bit better it was rather a silly ending.
½ November 13, 2011
Alien zombie goodness
July 6, 2011
A ho-hum low-rent zombie flick that transforms into a ho-hum low-rent alien invasion flick at the halfway mark. Might be a good candidate for psychoanalysis; the alien invaders don't just turn men into zombies, but they make their genitalia fall off and replace them with wombs. Not only that, but the invaders also hide inside of women, then leap out of vaginas to kill unwitting male victims. Of course, the film's also got a final message that guns and lots of alcohol are the solution, which might proceed from the same mentality that gave us the brains-and-spaghetti aliens lurking in uteri in the first place.

On the other hand, the mediocre acting, reliance on cliches and stupidity of its characters leave "Days of Darkness" a movie that doesn't exactly demand to be seen, so who cares? Cars that won't start at just the right moment, hypocritical bible-thumping preacher, the porn star with a heart of gold, the innocents who must save the day, the last stand where the strangers must overcome their differences and work together, it's all so unimaginative and yet unusually unpalatable. Unless you truly want a window into the apparent dysfunctionality of writer/director Jake Kennedy, there isn't any reason to bother with this one.
June 12, 2011
Something about the strong guy whipping ass in a pink t-shirt is just one reason to see this.
April 25, 2011
Though more clever than I expected, this extremely low budget zombie picture still isn't all that good. It's kind of funny, and there are a couple cool ideas (though not especially original), but when all is said and done, little is added to the genre. Not terrible. Worth a watch if you're in the mood for a zombie cheapy that doesn't totally suck. But not one to go out of your way to see.
½ April 2, 2011
7 minutes and you can see this sucks. :P
January 17, 2011
I've seen many terrible zombie movies in my day. This one takes the cake...and not in a good way.
January 9, 2011
The story got a little too sci-fi for my tastes, and the film's low budget showed itself more often than not with its awful-looking zombies.
Page 1 of 6