Dead Alive - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dead Alive Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 19, 2016
A plasmafest.
October 19, 2016
This horrendously funny gross-out shocker from Lord of the Rings and King Kong director Peter Jackson is a brilliant black comedy and the ultimate gore movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 19, 2016
After you see it, you want to race out of the theater and recommend it to your sickest friends right away.
October 19, 2016
Dead Alive represents the absolute zenith of director and co-writer Peter Jackson's comedy-horror style.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 19, 2016
Ordinarily I don't care for this kind of thing at all, but something must be said for Jackson's endless reserves of giddy energy, which are clearly meant to be silly.
January 29, 2012
Takes a few views to really appreciate, but Peter Jackson's blood-splattered horror masterpiece is a gory good time.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
October 20, 2011
Lionsgate's visceral, albeit barebones Blu-ray package lets viewers really sink their teeth into Dead Alive.
July 22, 2008
The best to date from Kiwi gore specialist Peter Jackson.
June 25, 2008
Originally released as Braindead, this gory, maccabre satire of 1950s New Zealand society is yet another proof that Peter Jackson is one of the sharpest, most skillful directors working in the genre; a good companion piece to Meet the Feebles.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 7, 2007
You won't find many horror films as engaging or as meaty as this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 17, 2007
Rarely has the urge to expectorate one's lunch been a feeling so sublime.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 24, 2006
Braindead is the magnum opus of Peter Jackson's early career.
June 24, 2006
The finale, in which Lionel reduces a horde of flesh-eaters to a mulch of blood, flesh and offal with the aid of a flymo, is probably the goriest scene ever.
June 12, 2004
Arguably the goriest movie ever made
| Original Score: 4/5
May 20, 2003
Because all of this looks blatantly unreal, and because the timing of the shock effects is so haphazard, Dead Alive isn't especially scary or repulsive. Nor is it very funny.
March 19, 2003
I wish I could say that I loved it, but at the risk of offending every fanboy out there, I'm afraid I have a red caro-syrup covered bone to pick with it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 26, 2003
A gore classic featuring an ***-kicking priest, a grandmother swallowing a cat whole, a house full of zombies, and a lawnmower.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
August 21, 2002
How can you not love a movie with the line, "Your mother ate my dog"?
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
July 27, 2002
One of the true classics of splatterdom. Sickeningly wonderful.
| Original Score: 4.5/5
February 28, 2002
It was hysterically funny at times, but the urge to laugh had to compete with the urge to vomit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2