Death of a Superhero - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Death of a Superhero Reviews

Page 1 of 3
March 23, 2016
"EXHILARATING | POWERFUL | SAD | SOMBER" (88-out-of-100)
April 27, 2015
Touching and inspiring, this movie benefits mostly for it's two great lead roles.
½ October 23, 2014
Pretty amazing, don't not watch it because it sounds weird and depressing...good flick.
September 11, 2014
Everyone should watch this incredibly and endlessly powerful film that delivers a wise message about life itself. Amazing on all ends, if you give in.
August 24, 2014
Absolutely loved it! It was so beautiful and inspiring, recommend it to everyone!
May 12, 2014
Too superficial to be taken seriously!
March 17, 2014
What a Heartache. This Coming of Age/Coming of Dead Movie is Brilliant. What really stands out is the perfect balance in the melodrama, it never goes overboard making it feel real. Yes there are enough emotions to get you teary eye but it all seem realistic. The performance by the cast are great, the background scores and the CG works blends perfectly with the theme.
½ March 9, 2014
He really died a superhero. Good casting. Love the story and the cinematography.
½ January 10, 2014
Thomas Brodie-Sangster plays Donald a cancer kid who is obbssed with drawing comics and sex. The movie deals with his daily going ons, his relationships, and his battle with his terminal illness.


The thing that really separates this from the rest of it's kind is that we get glimpses inside his mind via some rather stellar animation. Of course being inside the mind of a dieing teenaged boy all the baddie have medical motifs and all the girls are buxom and scantily clad, which could turn some people off.


He starts to see a Cool shrink played by Andy 'Gollum' Serkis,and you know he's cool because he looks like he has'nt shaved in weeks, smokes, and has a French Press. The chemistry between these two is another highlight. Towards the end of the movie Donald's buddies are trying to get him laid for the first and last time (as any good friends would), and Doctor Coolshrink helps.

The dichotomy of the parents is interesting . The mom would do things like make him carrot juice and other health things, talk about his future, that kind of thing. Where as his Dad would let him drink, and even after a really bad turn of events the two of them and the older brother smoked weed together.

There is a love interest and she's not bad. I liked her well enough but she, as well as their relationship, felt a bit lacking, due to the fact that she really isn't in it that much of the film. Considering I was expecting her and the romance to hi-jack the plot, it was kind of a breath of fresh air that it didn't. I really enjoyed how they did the stero-typical end of movie kiss, but it was done in a very non-cinematic way.


'Death of a Superhero' is a not too stale sick kid drama that I wouldn't recommend watching with Grandma.
November 21, 2013
The only stuff I hated at this film was the title, spoileralert at the maximum level.
November 5, 2013
Apart from being a bit cliched; it is original, different, moving & bitter-sweet inspiring overall.
½ August 12, 2013
very tragic and emotional drama, i've seen lotsa movies about death but this one affected me quite a bit, possibly cuz it's about a teenager dying, everything is presented realistically, with nothing really over the top, i felt all his frustrations, not just about dying, and the unfairness of that, but all the things that he'll never get to do, maybe he acted out unfairly at times, but if i was in his shoes, i cant say that i wouldnt do the same, ive always loved andy serkis in non motion capture roles, and im glad he got such a deep part here, and he does a great job, i hope he gets more roles like this, really good ending too, and good use of his drawings as an escape from reality, i highly recommend
August 3, 2013
Bien, muy bien por el guión, lástima por el reparto. A pesar de ser buenos actores algunos no dieron con la talla, en especial Thomas Brodie-Sangster, el protagonista, conocido por su papel de Jojen Reed en "Juego de Tronos", de igual manera que Andy Serkis, el famoso Gollum. No lo hacen mal pero pudo ser mejor y así sacarle jugo a esta muy buena historia qeu mezcla la animación con la vida de un adolescente enfermo de cáncer. Vale la pena gastarle 100 minutos a esta historia.
August 3, 2013
Bien, muy bien por el guión, lástima por el reparto. A pesar de ser buenos actores algunos no dieron con la talla, en especial Thomas Brodie-Sangster, el protagonista, conocido por su papel de Jojen Reed en "Juego de Tronos", de igual manera que Andy Serkis, el famoso Gollum. No lo hacen mal pero pudo ser mejor y así sacarle jugo a esta muy buena historia qeu mezcla la animación con la vida de un adolescente enfermo de cáncer. Vale la pena gastarle 100 minutos a esta historia.
July 18, 2013
Los interludes le dan un buen soporte a la historia y aunque el final y otros fragmentos son predecibles, es tierna y muy bien actuada. Para Sangster, pasar por Game y esto pinta bien a futuro.
July 15, 2013
Gran película. Recomendable para un miércoles en la noche sin nada que hacer.
½ July 1, 2013
Einige Soundtrack-Lieder wiederholen sich. Das ist aber auch eine der wenigen Sachen, die mir negativ aufgefallen ist.
Ein guter Film.
½ June 19, 2013
Very nice indie movie, with decent acting without big budgets
May 14, 2013
nicely done coming of age with cancer tale. suprisingly good, i really liked this.
Page 1 of 3