Deathtrap - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Deathtrap Reviews

Page 2 of 13
November 3, 2012
Pretty clever..in the world of writing, things are not always perfect..
October 11, 2012
Rec by Dannyrovira. Thankyou
½ September 25, 2012
Michael Caine is terrific as the has-been thriller writer in this nifty little send-off to 'Sleuth'. Sidney Lumet again provides with terrific directing (possibly his second best after '12 Angry Men). In the other hand 'Deathtrap' has it's own fair share of problems namely the first act of Jay Presson Allen's script which drags on and on and on until it eventually picks up after the murder. Also the music (which seems to be a direct rip-off of the brilliant 'Sleuth' soundtrack). Unfortunately none of these problems seem relevant when you look at the biggest thing wrong with the first half of this film. It's the incredible over-acting of Dyan Cannon. She doesn't only chew up the scenery she devours it every time she opens her mouth using her endless flamboyance and shouting. Using a quote from a great movie dear to me "the actress attacks the role with both hands and strangles it to death".
½ September 17, 2012
This film is to be commended for how brilliantly off the rails it flies by the end, and for it's numerous unforeseeable twists.
½ September 4, 2012
"A Wickedly Amusing Who'll Do It"!
September 2, 2012
Not as great as I remembered it but I think that's due to the fact this is about crazy plot twists that came back to me while watching it. Still its a well made thriller/comedy with a great (gay) performance from Reeve, a delightfully unhinged Caine and superb direction and camera work from Lumet...even if it was full screen.
½ July 18, 2012
There are twists and turns aplenty in this mystery thriller. While most of the film takes place in the same few rooms, the writing of this just overpowers everything else. Michael Caine and Christopher Reeve both give amazing performances. This one will keep you guessing until the end...but it is occasionally slow.
July 8, 2012
christopher reeve is fahbuloooous in this.

has a steve martin vibe to the style of humour. you know what i mean.
Super Reviewer
½ July 2, 2012
Whoever stars in this banana peel of a whodunnit is only second banana to this script-about-a-script opus, meant to jerk you about like an amusement park ride. The stars are present merely to be targets and frequently look about wondering how much more time they have before the script kills them off. Cute.
June 12, 2012
This is a really well written film, it definately has origins in the theatre. It films follows its play predecessor, it applies many of the theatrical special effects such as the typical "somewhat ironic" overdramatic lightening effects at the final scene. The plot itself is clever and has really been well thought out and the amount of twists and turns in this flim can fufil any die hard mystery/thriller fan. For that alone the film is worth a viewing, however, im not sure if this film is a great film solely because of the plot.
I believe that there are quite a few faults that seemed to turn this film into a bit of spoof mystery, it is odd but i felt that half way through it could have been a comedy if it had been funny! The acting seems too over the top for my liking, though i feel that the its the characters themselves are meant overdramatic. Dyan cannon performance was the definition of this, she earnt a rassie nomination for her acting but i felt the character itself of Myra made her acting seem annoying and really over the top. I thought it was unfair to give her that title, her annoyance actually was a sensible plot point (not to give too much away).
Michael Caine and Christopher Reeve suffered from the same symptom though to lesser extent and they were both charismatic characters and enjoyable actors to see on the screen.
The soundtrack to this film struck me as a bit peculiar (harpischord in full swing!!), a bit 18th century england for my liking and it added to the "spoof" feel to this film.
I think the bottom line to this film is that great plot, definately worth watching, it feels as if it should have stuck to a play rather than a film. Don't get me wrong, "play to film" films are a great and understand move, but being played in a cinema rather than a theatre has brought nothing cinematic to it, unfortunately. I guess its a great chance to see a great play!
April 30, 2012
I had a blast watching this play-within-a-play. Caine and Reeve are in top form (nice to see Reeve in something besides Superman) and Cannon does some ditzy Goldie Hawn bit, but it all works. The twists and turns are well-done and the whole thing is terrifically suspenseful and wildly enjoyable in a campy, self-conscious, theatrical manner.
½ April 12, 2012
A witty, grim comedy. Director Sidney Lumet keeps things pretty conservative, stylistically, allowing the script and the acting be the focal points, which is not surprising given the project's stage origins. Caine and Reeve are pitch-perfect in their respective roles, and Cannon is surprisingly funny as Caine's wife. The dialogue and plotting are nearly flawless for the majority of the running time, but it does (unfortunately) kind of come flying off its hinges in the third act. It's not enough to retroactively ruin the earlier parts of the movie, but it does end the film on something less than a high note.
January 23, 2012
This is a great, little-seen Sidney Lumet murder mystery. Further proof that Christopher Reeve was an outstanding actor.
½ January 19, 2012
absolutely my favorite thriller about writers, beside Misery, Her Alibi and Secret Window.
Sam Edelstein
Super Reviewer
January 3, 2012
Deathtrap was fun to say the least. Alongside the silly, but daunting music and Michael Cane's terrific performance, the movie was a roller coaster ride of twists and turns. Plus, the movie mimicked a play's atmosphere, only taking place in one or two rooms the entire time.
December 28, 2011
Pretty clever..in the world of writing, things are not always perfect..
Super Reviewer
December 15, 2011
A diabolically delicious film that is filled with devious plot twists that include deceit, murder and mayhem, it is based on Ira Levin's long-running smash hit Broadway play, it has been brilliantly brought to the screen by veteran director Sidney Lumet. Sir Michael Caine delivers a superlative star performance as Sidney Bruhi, a has-been thriller playwright who announces to his wife, beautifully played by Dyan Cannon that he intends to murder a young unknown playwright named Clifford Anderson, intriguingly played by the late Christopher Reeve and steal his brilliant new thriller play he had authored and pass the play off as his own. Excellent supporting performances by Irene Worth, Henry Jones, and Joe Silver. But the real acting tour-de-force is between Caine and Reeve who play off each other so perfectly, each of them bring a dynamic tension and dark humor to their scenes together, i personally relish Caine's performance he is so cunning, manipulative and murderously sadistic, watching this old pro work is a real pleasure. The film also benefits from the gorgeous cinematography by Andrzej Bartkowiak and the wonderful production design by Tony Walton. A wickedly witty and delightfully entertaining dark comedy thriller. Highly Recommended.
December 10, 2011
As much as I love Reeve and Caine, I'd like to see this play updated. I rented it, confusing it with Sleuth (also starring Michael Caine) and thought this could have been a bit snappier. Enjoyable but dated.
½ December 10, 2011
Very well written mystery with Caine now in Olivier's place as the elder antagonist. Christopher Reeve is very good as well. See it with "Sleuth" on a rainy day.
December 8, 2011
Another case of a play that doesn't quite work on film (at least not this time). The script itself follows the original play, pretty much, and you can tell the actors are trying their best to give a grand performance (Caine and Reeve have their strong moments), but something about the film doesn't coalesce. Perhaps it's the overused wide shots, which draw attention to the fact that this is a play on screen. Or a bit of an unbalance between acting for film (some attempts at subtlety which only live on screen) and acting for stage (the monologues and explosive moments seem way overdone). Still has its fun and enjoyably dark moments, but really forgettable as a movie. Better off just reading the original script, or seeing the stage version.
Page 2 of 13