Deceptive Practice: The Mysteries and Mentors of Ricky Jay - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Deceptive Practice: The Mysteries and Mentors of Ricky Jay Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Gerald Peary
Arts Fuse
September 16, 2013
The filmmaker is annoyingly passive and star-struck,as Ricky Jay, speaks only to his chosen agenda.
Full Review | Original Score: 2
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
July 25, 2013
The film offers all manner of mind-blowing tricks, as well as a colorful history of the evolution of magic and illusions, especially through the 20th century.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Richard von Busack
July 18, 2013
The splendid feats and dazzling card magic direct our attention away from the inner life of a large, glowering and cryptic figure. You learn a lot from Jay, and yet he keeps his mystique.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5 stars
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
July 5, 2013
Jay's own personality and intellect steer the film, and he's such a finely honed performer that he easily carries it off...What we get here, simply, is time spent with Ricky Jay, and that's time well spent.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Adam Nayman
Globe and Mail
July 5, 2013
Molly Bernstein and Alan Edelstein's film works first and foremost as a showcase of Jay's skills, but he's also an ideal interview subject ...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
June 28, 2013
I happen to love magic tricks. Deceptive Practice gave me a healthy dose of them, plus a good bit of history as well, and I appreciated it.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
June 27, 2013
A documentary portrait of the magician, author and actor who is known as one of today's preeminent practitioners of close-up magic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Stanley Kauffmann
The New Republic
June 14, 2013
For heaven's sake! Another documentary I didn't know I was waiting for-and am equally glad to see.
Jean Lowerison
June 9, 2013
Magic and Magical
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Matthew Sorrento
Film International
June 9, 2013
Offers us a peek into a fervent force of creativity - as with many great artists, it's one of which we have limited understanding though all the more appreciation.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
June 6, 2013
The magic in this documentary portrait of actor and stage illusionist Ricky Jay comes mainly from his fond recollections of old performers.
Brian Tallerico
June 4, 2013
Ricky Jay only lets you see what he wants you to see when he's on stage. Doesn't it make sense that a film about him would be similarly elusive? And sometimes even magical?
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5.0
Austin Kennedy
Film Geek Central
May 31, 2013
It's not the tightest Documentary I've ever seen, but it offers a rare look into the life of that charismatic, mysterious character that is Ricky Jay. If you're a fan of magic, card tricks, or Jay.... definitely check it out.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
May 30, 2013
The larger subjects, eloquently evoked, are the sources of his knowledge and inspiration, and the singular tradition within which he works and flourishes.
Top Critic
Tom Russo
Boston Globe
May 30, 2013
Fittingly, there's a lot to try to keep track of in "Deceptive Practice: The Mysteries and Mentors of Ricky Jay."
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 30, 2013
The stories are amusing, but the film tells us hardly anything about who Jay is offstage. We get a guided tour of his passion, but never encounter the man himself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
May 30, 2013
If you like magic, I bet you'll love it. I don't, and even I had fun.
| Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
May 24, 2013
It reveals the philosophy behind Jay's art, a view of life that examines illusions from every which way, and finds meaning in the magic.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Sam Adams
Philadelphia City Paper
May 23, 2013
Ricky Jay is the master of a discipline he created: trickster, archivist, showman and raconteur rolled into one.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
May 16, 2013
This documentary provides an elegant, enthralling peek behind the curtain and into the you-won't-trust-your-eyes world of this celebrated contemporary conjurer.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 2