The Deep End - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Deep End Reviews

Page 2 of 12
September 15, 2012
Great modern noir! All the acting is good, but Goran Visnjic is GREAT! (where's that dude now?)
June 14, 2012
With the capable Swinton in the lead, it seems in the beginning that "The Deep End" will take the viewer to exhilerating places. Then puppy-eyed gangster Goran Visnjic shows up at her door, to give her the gentlest shakedown in cinematic history, and suddenly we're in a bad Lifetime movie, with this Slavic softie following her around like a St. Bernard and doing his very best the make the extortion process as easy on her as possible.
May 13, 2012
For the most part ... the filmmakers and performers invest a high level of intelligence and sympathy into The Deep End.
May 11, 2012
I admired the film's overall craft and structure, but without capturing my complete sympathies, it misses greatness.
March 13, 2012
The enchanting opening score and a dominant blue hue eases its way of a concealed familial drama with a murder case, a blackmail and an in-the-closet gay son. Out of expectation, a lesser impact on the gay culture, the film endeavors a strenuous effort to accent on a desperate mother's instinct of shielding her son, and magnificently the plot concocts a cordial twist to furnish the film with compassion and great gratification.

Tilda Swinton is the ace here (vaguely has sustained her indie-queen ethereality into a more mainstream scope since then), magnifying every impression into an intact personification of a role model mother of three children, who struggles to cover a murder case which she thinks has executed by her elder gay son (which is barely the truth as audience has witnessed the entire occurrence), after that developing a mutual affinity with a young gay blackmailer, things start to become more engrossing. Goran Visnjic is equally empathetic and even a tad overshadowing Ms. Swinton during the final confrontation (a poignant moment arrives when their lips are so close to each other near the end of the film).

It never goes awry with the things-getting-worse-until-the-very-end mode, at first one might sense a pro-WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN (2011) ominous trauma was awaiting us, congenially enough it is not about the embittering mother-son's love/hate perplexity. This indie gem from director duo Scott McGehee & David Siegel (whose later feature BEE SEASON 2005 is a rueful misfire, a 5/10 in my rating, while their latest WHAT MAISIE KNEW starring my diva Julianne Moore is on the shelf this year) needs more credit for its adroit exposition, splendidly heart-rending impetus and the celeste tableau.
February 16, 2012
i need to see this. i heart Tilda Swinton.
½ February 14, 2012
It's interesting to see how far a mother will go to protect the honor of her family.
December 2, 2011
Tilda Swinton is amazing as always in this gripping thriller.
½ November 12, 2011
As a thriller, it isn't that great. But as a sheer character study and an acting showcase, "The Deep End" is good stuff. Swinton gives a gripping performance as a mother trying to do what she can to keep her family together. This would include hiding the dead body of a man she suspects was killed by her eldest son. This is where a lot of the suspense lies. McGehee and Siegel don't do a whole lot with it in terms of plot twists, but it does set up for a nice relationship between Swinton and Visnijic. Their interaction keeps the movie interesting even if the plot slowly loses its edge. "The Deep End" works thanks to its compelling characters. It just would have been nice if the storyline was better developed.
November 11, 2011
interesting, very interesting.
October 23, 2011
Un thriller est sensé être basé sur un scénario qui tient la route. Ce n'est pas du tout le cas ici, le script étant d'un ennui et d'une stupidité rares. Les dialogues, eux, prêtent souvent à sourire, tant ils peuvent être niais.
On passe sur la réalisation et la musique, tout aussi mauvaises.
Les acteurs font une assez bonne impression pendant 1h20, mais la fin du film montre leurs limites.
Passez votre chemin.
½ July 4, 2011
A pleasant surprise. A thriller with more than one twists. Tilda Swinton is a delight to watch.
Super Reviewer
½ July 4, 2011
A pleasant surprise. A thriller with more than one twists. Tilda Swinton is a delight to watch.
July 3, 2011
It was worth 2 stars only because someone took the time to make it. But do yourself a favor? Don't take the time to watch it. You're not missing anything.
June 19, 2011
Well-produced, but I kept getting the sense that everything was moving in slow-motion.
May 18, 2011
For the most part ... the filmmakers and performers invest a high level of intelligence and sympathy into The Deep End.
March 3, 2011
goran visnjic kurang meyakinkan sebagai orang meninggal, masa matanya kedip2 pas di shoot dari deket.hehehe...
January 19, 2011
Underrated brilliant film elevated by the great Tilda Swinton's subtle turn.
Super Reviewer
January 3, 2011
Maybe when someone has watched over 500 thrillers in his life, he just doesn't appreciate them anymore. I really think it's happening with me, because I know this is a fine flick, but I just couldn't appreciate it enough. It's perfect, it has no flows, and Tilda Swinton is just fantastic in surely one of her best performances ever (omitting Michael Clayton). Like most thrillers, the deep end is highly predictable and plain, and lacks the extra adrenaline dose to have you thrilled, something that should be essential to this genre.
December 21, 2010
If you are a fan of Tilda's work in more recent movies like Michael Clayton and Benjamin Button, and you haven't seen The Deep End; do not miss this! Tight thriller that's all about the things families don't discuss. How come Goran Visnjic isn't Eric Bana?
Page 2 of 12