Demonlover - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Demonlover Reviews

Page 2 of 8
deano
Super Reviewer
August 21, 2010
Very boring, strange, confused and ridiculous story that takes us deep into the underbelly of the illicit and financially lucrative world of 3-D animated pornography.
Connie Nielsen, or her character, is in focus of the movie. And she does somewhat of a good job trying to keep it together. But it must be hard when the director intentionally cuts crucial parts of the story, leaving the audience guessing, and the character development nonexistent. Instead we get unmotivated scenes with porn or nudity.
July 23, 2010
July 2010 - I feel Assayas was trying too hard to make a B movie and this end up a very bad one. The story remains shallow (as probably it was intended to be) but the actions and various unrealistic plots never unify to leave me with almost anything positive to say about the movie.
½ July 21, 2010
it doesn't make any sense. but i did watch it to the end. and i will try to read up about it a bit. maybe.
May 9, 2010
dream within a nightmare
½ March 20, 2010
Nearly flawless film making.
January 8, 2010
I'm not quite sure what to make of this film to be honest. Connie Nielsen, Gershon, and Sevigny gave good performances. However, that's not enough is it? The plot was very convoluted and hard to grasp. It was corporate espionage within the porn industry. Which could have been very interesting if the direction was executed properly. But that wasn't the issue as much as the script was. Towards the end there were one too many 'back stabbings" to keep track of, and I wasn't sure who was responsible for what. Gershon's character seemed to have disappeared and another main character did as well with no explanation, at least that's my take on it. I did like the downer ending though, that was a nice touch.

The cinematography was beautiful at many points in the film and the score from Sonic Youth fit in very well with the vibe of the film. Back to the cinematography for a second, I couldn't enjoy it as much I should have since the DVD I viewed it on (region 1 - USA) had a very poor transfer. The image was very pixelated. Did the production company or distribution company not care enough to do the DVD encoding properly?

Anyway, I tried my best to enjoy this film but I could not. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Apologies to everyone that worked very hard on this project.
October 14, 2009
This underrated film directed by Olivier Assayas explores the seamy intersection of the corporate economy with the underground economy. Diane (Connie Nielsen), is a corporate spy, who, in the first scene, drugs her superior and then has her abducted by hired thugs in order to take over her project, which involves buying majority shares in a Japanese animation studio that specializes in erotica. She advances to the top of a venture capital firm, while staying on the secret payroll of a company fighting to keep its share of the growing market in internet porn. But the ambitious Diane runs afoul of its rival, which happens to have a sideline in some rough ventures catering to the jaded and the depraved. Nielsen goes from icy to vulnerable as her character becomes trapped in a series of increasingly nightmarish situations. The film traces a harrowing arc from gleaming corporate offices and elegant French hotels to squalid dungeons charged with supplying the few remaining pleasures capable of arousing the desensitized. The clinical gaze of Assayas's camera manages to keep the lurid nature of the material from overwhelming the film. Its cool, detached approach is well-suited to the actors, who play essentially unsympathetic characters, ruthless in their desire for money. Not easy to watch, but the film does confront the disturbing reality that the borderless world of global capitalism generates and expands its own infernal regions.
September 21, 2009
Olivier Assayas emphasizes so much in the making of the film that the story was actually about how people coping with the cruel & jungle world which however seems failed to impress; as well as how the cyber world affecting people. The film sorta refreshingly, captivatingly & creatively starts off. But then turning out to be so David Lynch's kinda surreal from the middle till the end, but in a rather puzzling way.
August 20, 2009
You think you know the dark side? Think again. Demonlover is an amazingly filmed, intriguing story that will try anything to spark your interest and lure you into a world of deceit where you're never sure where you'll end up, or who's on the other end of the spoon that feeds you. Connie Nielsen and Chloe Sevigny are immaculate in their roles.
½ July 12, 2009
Eurosleaze doesn't get any better than this!
½ June 22, 2009
What a load of drivel.
June 19, 2009
pointless and stupid. This tedious movie somehow manages to make anime, video games, ultraviolence and sex all boring. The actors even look as if they know they're going nowhere.
June 2, 2009
Thought this might have some potential, but it's as random and pointless as the title of the movie. there wasn;t any gratuitous nudity
June 2, 2009
Pointless, mindless, senseless. Not even fun. Pretentious pile of BS with occasionally interesting visuals, that wants to be a thriller but moves like a sleepwalker.
½ April 29, 2009
A corporate media thriller set five minutes into the future, Demonlover proves to be a truly Ballardian experience, dealing with sex as commodity and the fictionalization of reality and vice versa. The enigmatic plot only serves to heighten the movie's theme based around the concept of control, gaining it and losing it. Excellent DP Denis Lenoir works with extreme close-ups, inducing some very claustrophobic vibes. Features a hauntingly beautiful soundtrack orchestrated by Assayas-faves Sonic Youth. There's also a Darkthrone track in there somewhere, believe it or not.
½ April 22, 2009
As cool, twisted, frigid, hip, strange, sexy, and violent as any book by Bret Easton Ellis. I feel this is the kind of film he would make. Instead Olivier Assayas steps in and uses his cinematic powers to create a mad world where corporate sabotage can mix with pornographic fixation and bleed reality into fantasy, leaving us to question what matters anymore. Shot with cool blues, tight frames, and elegant moves - Demonlover is a completely original and absorbing experience, I think.

I think it is a time capsule of the decade and it's absolutely fucking fun in its depiction of the modern moral wasteland.

The score by Sonic Youth is absolutely amazing, too. This movie is ridiculous enough to work, it's an absolute treasure.
March 1, 2009
In keeping with music themes from my last review on Inland Empire, I?ll say that Demonlover was LCD Soundsystem. It bumps and grinds and jumps all over, but the emotion of it is lost somewhere in the meandering structure.

It is a straightforward story of corporate espionage that posed as a mystery unraveling. And there are messages to be said, subtly and subversively, but it fails in my opinion. That said, it has great performances by the 3 ladies, who are all perfect in their roles. Without them, this wouldn?t be worth anything. And I liked the director?s Clean, but maybe he needs a scriptwriter. Or better editor for such.
½ January 21, 2009
I watched this film in my Contemporary French Cinema course and I was confused at the end of this film as to why we watched it because the film is utterly confusing and sadly not as good as some other films I have viewed in this class and other classes. However, the reason I came up with is that this film has powerful images that are either visually impressive and beautiful or they are hypnotizing in their disturbing imagery. The films plot seems to matter little to Assayas and may be why the plot is so convoluted and has so many left turns away from the plot line it was on and even further away from the character development it had done earlier. But Assayas does a fabulous job, as usual, of making a multinational film that goes at the idea of globalization and also has good camera work and cinematography. The only problem is that the film loses its appeal as it goes deeper into the story because by the end of the film I realized that these people have no sense of morality (which does not always cause problems for me but here it did) and that I simply did not care about them or the events of the film.
September 20, 2008
assayas pulls it off, with help from the actors, but I still have to wonder why this movie was made.
Page 2 of 8