Demoted - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Demoted Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 22, 2014
average comedy, top sales men get demoted after there boss dies from a stripper and booze fueled night of partying. when a fellow employee that Hates them gets promoted he demotes them to secretary in hopes that they will quit to avoid paying them there severance packages. they bond with the other secretaries after not fitting in at first, eventually landing a big deal there new boss fails to close. Get there jobs back with promotions and one guy gets his fiance back. had some funny parts decent story worth a,watch
April 11, 2014
Dumb, and I theorize its outrageous sexism was unintentional (as ironic as that is). Funny, but very dumbly so.
½ February 13, 2013
The main characters are unlikeable.
February 1, 2013
A hopelessly unfunny and thoroughly tedious comedy that grows more and more tedious as it progresses and squanders the efforts of its talented cast. Very dissapointing since it's coming from the Director who made American Pie 2. I say SKIP IT!!!
January 26, 2013
Decent, somewhat funny.
½ January 23, 2013
Fine time seeing this ! Fine little story
December 8, 2012
This film is awful. It seems to have been beamed in from 30 years ago when the notion of women who weren't secretaries existing in the workplace was a shocking notion. Clearly written by and for people who have never held down an actual job. You might think that the presence of David Cross makes up for some of this. It doesn't. It's mildly amusing that anybody bothers to cast Sean Astin in anything anymore.
November 30, 2012
It felt like 7 hours
½ September 27, 2012
Pretty funny movie. Nice cast.
½ September 17, 2012
"From now until the end of time today and everyday shall be know as secretaries day!" Mike (Astin) and Rodney (Vartan) are the best salesmen and Treadstone tire, and they know it. Being rude to everyone has become standard fare until their boss dies. When Ken Castro (Cross), who has been the brunt of their jokes, takes over he immediately demotes them to secretaries.

The two realize how they have been and begin to change their ways. I will start by saying that I liked this movie and laughed quite a bit but this is also nothing amazing at all. Very predictable and pretty much a no substance movie but it is worth watching and I liked it. Think "Office Space" but a step above on the absurd scale. There really is nothing to say about this as there is really nothing to it but I again liked it and I think it is worth checking out. Overall, if you liked "Office Space" you will like this. This are worse ways to spend an hour and a half.
September 16, 2012
The premise of Demoted is pretty simple and predictable. Film is set in a tire-company and the two lead characters (Sean Astin and Michael Vartan) are both working in the sales department trying to sell tires over the phone. Job looks about as depressing and dead-end as any so they spend their time harrassing a third colleague (David Cross). They both are the favourites of the manager. When that manager dies , their harrassed colleague gets the manager's job and now it's payback time. The film is about how they are trying to cope with their new positions in the company.

I did not expect a lot of this film. Came in with really low expectations and at first it seems that another 90 minutes of my life would be wasted on another crappy movie. The lead characters were really unlikeable and character-less. It's hard to symphatize with loser-assholes working a dead-end sales job and living in their mother's basements. So I was thinking this would feature David Cross as the main protagonist, trying to beat down these two guys. Instead the screenwriter decided to make him the villain. I have to say that David Cross is the star in this one. I liked him a lot in Arrested Development and he plays a similar delusional clumsy loudmouth.

The story is thin, main guys are unlikeable and you first wonder what you are watching and why you are watching it. Some would find the film a bit slow-moving but I have no issues with that. It doesn't have to be MTV-style all of the time.

Gradually you manage to conjure up some sympathy for the guys and the initial pity you feel for the David Cross character turns into a small form of hate because of all the incredible asshole moves he pulls off once he gets his hands on the scepter so to speak.

It's a comedy and I have seen films that called themselves that and not cracked a smile. This one is different. It has his moments. I was on the ground laughing a few times. It might not be the subtlest comedy but this isn't the subtlest film. The fact that it made me laugh makes me ok with this one. It's entertaining when you're in the mood. It's like a bowl of spaghetti with regular tomato sauce : it does what it's supposed to but you won't get poetic over it and start clamoring the spaghetti's chef deserves a few Michelin stars.

6/10
September 14, 2012
Nothing extraordinary but it's definitely good for a few laughs.
½ September 1, 2012
It's like the worst porno ever; nothing but assholes fucking with assholes
August 30, 2012
Crap sack of a movie
½ August 21, 2012
I don't know why users scored it so low, it really was pretty funny. First half hour or so hilarious and then it got a little corny like comedies but I enjoyed it and would recommend it for a good laugh
August 18, 2012
Hahaha rigtig rigtig sjov film. Eneste minus var at den nok lige var 10-15 minutter for lang, plus at slutningen var ret s forhastet. Derudover, en skidefed komedie :D
½ August 12, 2012
Couldn't even finish it.
August 11, 2012
Seaan Astin que fue Samwise en la trilogia del senior de los anillos y michael Vartan que protagonizo la serie Alias hace algunos anios en television se junta para protagonizar una comedia con mucha promesa pero poco delivery.

Empiezan como los dos vendedores estrellas de una empresa de llantas, donde se portan especialmente mal con el personaje de David Cross que revisita su personaje de chipmunk y las ardilla como el loser que es mala persona y que cuando tiene poquito poder se le sube a la cabeza.

Estos dos vendedores estrellas son felices en la empresa hasta que subitamente el duo muere y deja la empresa en manos de David que se tarda menos de dos horas en vonvertirlos en secretarias para que paguen odos sus pecados.

la comedia que sigue el arco tradicional sin nada inesperado por el resto de la pelicula es relativamente inofensiva y no hay nada especialmente malo, pero tambpoco no hay nada especialmente divertido.
½ August 4, 2012
Had a few funny parts. Reminds me a lil of Horrible Bosses but not as funny.
½ August 2, 2012
Save your money and your time
Page 1 of 2