Despicable Me 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

Page 2 of 9
July 11, 2013
If the first film was in some ways a re-imagining of Seuss, with a grinchy Gru's heart growing from two sizes too small to one too large, Despicable Me 2 continues his rehabilitation from complete societal outlier to minion-infested community fixture.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.6/10
July 11, 2013
The assumption seems to be that the public can't get enough Minions. Despicable Me 2 sets out to test that assumption to its absolute limit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 11, 2013
Likable characters, inventive visuals buoy "Despicable 2."
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
July 10, 2013
There's still an attempt at the playfully naughty misanthropy, but it feels tired and worn.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
July 10, 2013
Everything that is good about it-including those wonderfully nattering minions who have even more screen time and play a bigger role in the narrative-is what was good in the first film, so there isn't any sense of growth or expansion
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 10, 2013
Good film about family values
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 9, 2013
I guess it shouldn't be a surprise that a watered-down premise would get even blander in the sequel, but it's disappointing to see just how far it's fallen.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
July 9, 2013
It's not that the movie is unlikable. It's that it feels like a trip through a random checklist of things that played well in the first film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 9, 2013
Let's hear it for the minions - they make this movie and are the real stars of the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 8, 2013
Co-directors Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin, who do Minion voices expertly, never let up on the laughs. A fart joke in 3-D may not be three times as wacky, but the high spirits of Despicable Me 2 are irresistible fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 8, 2013
I laughed harder and more often than in any movie I have seen so far this year!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 7, 2013
Sure, the pat Hollywood ending is a foregone conclusion, but nobody's complaining when the roller coaster ride is so thoroughly enjoyable!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 7, 2013
It has quite a reputation to live up to due to its predecessor, and while it doesn't quite reach the heights of the previous film, this is still a very enjoyable and silly sequel that is a welcome return to the characters we've come to know and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 6, 2013
For the most part, Despicable Me 2 is amusing and cheerful, but it lacks the mild-cheddar edge that made the first film stand out -- moments like when Gru inflates a balloon animal for a sad boy, only to then pop it himself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 5, 2013
Yes, the Minions rule, and I look forward to their spin-off movie. But I need to care about Gru, and I don't.
July 5, 2013
Turning Dr. Evil into Austin Powers ... is the best possible way to keep the reformed character from losing his mojo. (Oh, how Mike Myers has influenced this discussion!)
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 5, 2013
What makes this another winner is that there are more than enough subversive chuckles to balance out the sugar. It is almost impossible to not smile through the duration of the movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2013
...Just as charming, hilarious, clever, and well paced as its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: A
July 4, 2013
It feels like a typical sequel that rehashes bits and pieces from the original with tweaks, like making the minions and their hijinks more central to the story.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 4, 2013
Exactly what a cartoon should be. A lot of fun, with jokes that both kids and grown-ups can enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 9