Despicable Me 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

Page 4 of 9
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
July 3, 2013
More minions and romance make for a sweet, silly sequel.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 3, 2013
The Minions' decision to go solo next year is the smartest move since The Simpsons severed their relationship with Tracey Ullman.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
July 3, 2013
Culminates in a double-music video finish designed to see audiences out in a pop-narcotic laughing-gas daze. As a tactic, it's a poor substitute for a satisfying story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
John Wirt
Advocate (Baton Rouge, LA)
July 3, 2013
Gru and his minions in a sequel that doesn't run out of gas.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
July 3, 2013
It would have been funnier to see an inkling of the old Gru peeking through, perhaps momentarily swayed by the idea of rejoining the dark side. He's just so (shudder) nice.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tirdad Derakhshani
Philadelphia Inquirer
July 3, 2013
If you're looking for quality prepackaged, predigested Hollywood family fun this summer, you could do a lot worse than Despicable Me 2.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Bilge Ebiri
New York Magazine/Vulture
July 3, 2013
[Despicable] Me 2, even at its weakest, is still a charmer.
Nina Garin
San Diego Union-Tribune
July 3, 2013
Thanks to a zippy script and bold animation, "Despicable Me 2" has the same charm and wit as the first movie, but now there's a lot less evil.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Marc Mohan
Oregonian
July 3, 2013
Gru's transformation from diabolical moon thief to adoring daddy made for a satisfying story, but now that it's been accomplished, the filmmakers (the same writing and directing team as the first movie) don't seem to know what to do with him.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
July 3, 2013
"Despicable Me 2" is light on its feet, visually inventive and very fast with the repartee. It requires actors who can pull off the many peppery lines at warp speed and in that the film is lucky with its voice cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Eric Eisenberg
CinemaBlend.com
July 3, 2013
Despicable Me 2 feels more like a first draft than a final product.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John Serba
MLive.com
July 3, 2013
(The Minions) will make or break Despicable Me 2 for audiences, depending on whether you find them endearing or annoying.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Andy Lea
Daily Star
July 3, 2013
Fiendishly entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune
July 3, 2013
The rare animated sequel that rivals the brightness and enjoyability of its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
JimmyO
JoBlo's Movie Emporium
July 3, 2013
Not a great movie for sure, but if your kids want to see this there is enough humor to not drive yourself minion crazy.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
July 2, 2013
Simply works because the filmmakers understood what audiences loved about the surprise 2010 hit and just deliver on that promise in creating a sequel overflowing with heart, charm and those awesome Minions.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
July 2, 2013
Pleasant as it plays out, but also glaringly lacking when stacked up next to its shrewder, sweeter, more inventive predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Rocchi
MSN Movies
July 2, 2013
Heartfelt and hilarious, smart and silly, action-packed but never violent, "Despicable Me 2" is that rare sequel that outshines its beginnings.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Sean P. Means
Salt Lake Tribune
July 2, 2013
Gru without evil doesn't have much of a personality at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kristian Harloff
Schmoes Know
July 2, 2013
As a parent it's a welcome addition to a library of movies that both me and my daughter can enjoy; whether she will fully grasp the good vs. evil storyline is one thing. Us both falling out of seats laughing at the minions is the guarantee.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Page 4 of 9