Despicable Me 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 9
July 11, 2016
Despicable Me 2 earns the right to be slight and nutty because it cultivated those feelings in its predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 21, 2014
...a passable followup that's sure to amuse and entertain fans of the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 4, 2014
Carrell's almost better this way, with his mugging fully abstracted by animation, whereas we start to miss Wiig's actual face.
December 15, 2013
Gru's villainy is replaced by a cloying fish-out-of-water mentality that is tortured by overuse of the minions characters. Still, the film is entertaining and has several wonderful scenes that almost make up the difference.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 13, 2013
The minions are back and better than ever.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 5, 2013
It's the zany goggle-wearing yellow-hued Minions who provide most of the film's chuckles and who justify the otherwise pointless 3D when they break the fourth wall at the start of the credits with a set of loopy antics.
July 31, 2013
The movie captures that magical mixture: naughtiness and goodness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 31, 2013
The only thing that really holds this sequel back... it just doesn't seem epic enough to be a "summer blockbuster"... then again, maybe that's a good thing...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
July 21, 2013
Doesn't belong in the top ranks of animated fare but, like its predecessor, it contains enough humor, charm, and warmth to make it a solid family film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 20, 2013
THIS is what 3D should be.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
July 19, 2013
A comical mash of cartoonish imagination and surreal detail that's just right for the mix of hyperkinetic humor and sentimental charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 18, 2013
I think this is a fine animated comedy for kids, and parents can sit through it without despair. It just doesn't quite fit the adult audience quite as well as the first one did.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 15, 2013
What a nice surprise: Gru is just as funny as a good guy. 'Despicable Me 2' is, believe it or not, a romance-focused romp that has its share of villains. This time around, though, Gru is not among them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 15, 2013
This is one of those rarities, an animated sequel that improves on the original.
July 12, 2013
Ranks as one of the best animated sequels of all time.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
July 11, 2013
If the first film was in some ways a re-imagining of Seuss, with a grinchy Gru's heart growing from two sizes too small to one too large, Despicable Me 2 continues his rehabilitation from complete societal outlier to minion-infested community fixture.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.6/10
July 11, 2013
The assumption seems to be that the public can't get enough Minions. Despicable Me 2 sets out to test that assumption to its absolute limit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 11, 2013
Likable characters, inventive visuals buoy "Despicable 2."
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/4.0
July 10, 2013
Good film about family values
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 9, 2013
Let's hear it for the minions - they make this movie and are the real stars of the show.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 1 of 9