Despicable Me 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 9
J. Olson
Cinemixtape
April 9, 2016
It's hard to tell if directors Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud faced interference on the part of the studio, but the film lacks any discernible spark beyond frenzied goofiness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jonathan Lack
We Got This Covered
July 1, 2013
Despicable Me 2 is not a bad film, but it is a frustratingly lazy and hollow one, and at this point, nothing makes me more depressed about the state of Hollywood than cash-grab animated sequels like these.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Top Critic
Drew Hunt
Chicago Reader
July 2, 2013
Directors Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin deserve credit for not rehashing the basic ideas of their first effort, but they never really expand upon its unique universe either.
Eric Eisenberg
CinemaBlend.com
July 3, 2013
Despicable Me 2 feels more like a first draft than a final product.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
A.A. Dowd
AV Club
July 2, 2013
A sequel was a foregone conclusion, but how did those responsible lose sight of what made the original special?
Full Review | Original Score: C
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
July 3, 2013
As amusing as the minions can be, they aren't enough to carry the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Alonso Duralde
TheWrap
July 2, 2013
The minions are still wacky scene-stealers -- and once again, we don't get nearly enough of them -- but Gru and his daughters have been blanded down to bad-sitcom level.
Jordan Hoffman
ScreenCrush
July 1, 2013
alarmingly dull
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Kirk Honeycutt
honeycuttshollywood.com
July 1, 2013
The pratfalls, gizmos and Loony Tunes 'violence' will elicit giggles from kids while adults are left to smile indulgently.
Full Review | Original Score: 5
Jason Buchanan
TV Guide
July 2, 2013
For cynics and detractors, it may at time feel like this sequel exists for nothing more than to push the film's most marketable characters front and center.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Bruce Ingram
Chicago Sun-Times
July 3, 2013
[A] remarkably tepid sequel to the surprise 2010 hit ...
Josh Winning
Total Film
June 25, 2013
A pale imitation of its fresh and frisky predecessor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Eric D. Snider
ScreenAnarchy
July 9, 2013
I guess it shouldn't be a surprise that a watered-down premise would get even blander in the sequel, but it's disappointing to see just how far it's fallen.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Bill Gibron
Film Racket
July 2, 2013
The original had something equally new to say about our fixation with heroes and villains. Despicable Me 2 only cares about the bottom line... and increasing it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
July 10, 2013
There's still an attempt at the playfully naughty misanthropy, but it feels tired and worn.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
July 1, 2013
Co-directors Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud return for a shot at turning the unlikely "Despicable Me" premise into an animation franchise.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
David Medsker
Bullz-Eye.com
July 2, 2013
It feels as it Hal from marketing had some input in the creative process. This is never a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
July 2, 2013
Slapstick high jinks are plentiful, though never particularly funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Matt Pais
RedEye
July 2, 2013
Mild on every level: mildly funny, mildly annoying, mildly cute and mildly offensive.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
June 28, 2013
In an almost terrifying reversal from the first film, this is crude, racist, and sexist, in entirely well-worn ways. (But the Minions are still funny.)
Roger Moore
Movie Nation
July 4, 2013
Page 1 of 9