Despicable Me 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Despicable Me 2 Reviews

July 15, 2013
This is one of those rarities, an animated sequel that improves on the original.
July 8, 2013
Co-directors Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin, who do Minion voices expertly, never let up on the laughs. A fart joke in 3-D may not be three times as wacky, but the high spirits of Despicable Me 2 are irresistible fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 3, 2013
How do you tell a story about a bad guy who is no longer a bad guy? Despicable Me 2 embraces the dilemma and adds new ones.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 3, 2013
As a sequel [it] stands level with the first film (also directed by Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud), and may have the edge on it.
July 3, 2013
"Despicable Me 2" lags on occasion, but every time I found my attention waning, the filmmakers did something wicked to goose me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 3, 2013
[A] remarkably tepid sequel to the surprise 2010 hit ...
July 3, 2013
If you're looking for quality prepackaged, predigested Hollywood family fun this summer, you could do a lot worse than Despicable Me 2.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 3, 2013
[Despicable] Me 2, even at its weakest, is still a charmer.
July 3, 2013
"Despicable Me 2" is light on its feet, visually inventive and very fast with the repartee. It requires actors who can pull off the many peppery lines at warp speed and in that the film is lucky with its voice cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 2, 2013
Heartfelt and hilarious, smart and silly, action-packed but never violent, "Despicable Me 2" is that rare sequel that outshines its beginnings.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 2, 2013
The animation is beguiling, particularly when Lucy drives her car into the ocean, transforming it into a submarine that scoots around sharks and fish.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 2, 2013
An animated sequel that, despite not achieving the inspired lunacy of the first movie where Gru literally steals the moon, is smartly calculated to deliver squeals to kids and amusement to accompanying adults.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 2, 2013
Directors Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin deserve credit for not rehashing the basic ideas of their first effort, but they never really expand upon its unique universe either.
July 2, 2013
It's breezy and affable without ever going completely soft.
July 2, 2013
The scope of the 'toon espionage-adventure goings-on is surprisingly limited. But the filmmakers so clearly love working on these characters, their creative joy is infectious.
July 2, 2013
Slapstick high jinks are plentiful, though never particularly funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 2, 2013
Sure, it's not as novel as the first time we were here, but directors Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud stay true to the clever, slapstick vibe.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 2, 2013
"Despicable Me 2" is trying to tickle, not teach. In a marketplace full of toxic messages, that's not such a bad thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 2, 2013
Better, or at least sweeter, than the first, with Wiig adding some much-needed romantic charm to the toddler-level humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 2, 2013
[It] is consistently diverting and so cute you'll want to pet it. Yet it is also weightless and lacks a center.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 2, 2013
Despicable Me 2 feels like a opportunity to get together with some old friends, hang out, and discover what they've been up to.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
July 2, 2013
A sequel was a foregone conclusion, but how did those responsible lose sight of what made the original special?
Full Review | Original Score: C
July 2, 2013
For an adult, the predictability could turn you blasť. For kids, revisiting these jokes is a howl. Pinkie promise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 2, 2013
Features daft animation, exuberant vocal performances, and heaps of humor from Gru's caplet-shaped, nonsense-talking Minions.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 2, 2013
Steve Carell's Slavic inflections as Gru do the trick, as before. Wiig's clever hesitations and comic timing help save the day.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 2, 2013
Neither directors Pierre Coffin and Chris Renaud, nor screenwriters Ken Daurio and Cinco Paul try to hide much. Which isn't to say there aren't some laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 2, 2013
The minions are still wacky scene-stealers -- and once again, we don't get nearly enough of them -- but Gru and his daughters have been blanded down to bad-sitcom level.
July 2, 2013
It's a credit that the writing can be so funny in the moment, that it takes time to realize there's no cohesive story, zero dramatic tension and nary a practical lesson for either the characters in the film or the people watching in the theater.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 2, 2013
A generally effective sequel despite a mess of structural issues.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.3/10
July 2, 2013
The beguiling basics are still there, including the goofy gadgets and sly references to other films.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 2, 2013
[It's] fun. It's cheerful. It's lollipop colorful. Best of all, it features lots of minion mischief, which guarantees plenty of laughs. But what it doesn't have is an edge.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 2, 2013
Armed with masses of minions and an excess of adorability, "Despicable Me 2" is guaranteed to charm anyone who's out of school and already bored.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 2, 2013
Not only a fun cartoon but - that rare thing - a sequel which actually improves on the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 1, 2013
While it isn't as touching or as exuberantly funny as the original, it's a cute summer diversion for kids with just enough wink-wink slyness and cheeky cinematic asides to hold the interests of older teens and adults.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 1, 2013
The gags take precedence over the perfunctory plot, and the overarching theme about Gru and his girls' search for a mother figure is too undercooked.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 27, 2013
By the end, every child in the audience will want his or her own monster-minion toy. Adults will just regret the way that Despicable Me 2 betrays the original film's devotion to bad-guy gaiety.
Full Review | Original Score: C
June 25, 2013
Its repetitive qualities are beyond reproach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 17, 2013
While the new edition doesn't quite catch that inspired spark, there's still plenty to enjoy here courtesy of those zippy visuals and a pitch-perfect voice cast led by the innately animated Steve Carell.
June 17, 2013
While not quite as charming or unique as the original, "Despicable Me 2" comes awfully close, extending co-directors Chris Renaud and Pierre Coffin's delightfully silly sensibility to a bit larger universe.