Diary of the Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Diary of the Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 14, 2008
Romero proves that, blank slates as they may be, zombies do have a limit when it comes to serving as carriers for his increasingly heavy-handed messages.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 15, 2008
Even a legend's got to make a living, sure. But Diary, for all its core audience appeal, feels like a filmmaker lurching slowly down a path he's already worn out.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 13, 2007
The worst and most seriously disappointing of all the Dead movies.The whole premise is botched... badly [and] the audience continuously and rudely gets yanked from the experience of the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
February 14, 2008
...if you're doing to destroy the population of the Steel City you may as well do it with some style! The true Death of Death here is apathy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 9, 2008
The results are about what you might expect from a student filmmaker operating without a budget or a script - crude and amateurish, with occasional (and possibly unintentional) flashes of brilliance. 'Diary' is no different.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 14, 2007
The writing is awful and the acting is atrocious, almost on a par with something we might see in the After Dark Horror Fest. I never thought I'd see the day where I fault a zombie movie for being unrealistic.
| Original Score: 5/10
February 15, 2008
George A. Romero's Diary of the Dead goes light on the fright but heavy on the polemics.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 5, 2008
Romero must stop making this crap. Rent Eli Roth's "Cabin Fever." George, see my advice for the next installment.
Full Review
July 22, 2008
Everything that CLOVERFIELD did right, this does wrong.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: 1/4
February 15, 2008
[Its] joys stand alone and isolated amid a well-intentioned film that never quite connects the dots.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 28, 2008
Diary wields its "criticism" of bloggers and MySpace addicts as if it were the bludgeon and you the brain-feeder.
April 14, 2008
It's clever, or at least clever enough to keep you going and interested from start to finish. It just isn't scary.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
February 14, 2008
Romero has never been Welles, but to sign off on this script and these performances demonstrates a disturbing lack of competence from the filmmaker, resulting in ham-fisted scenes of conflict and distress, some bathed in a sickening self-referential glaze
Full Review | Original Score: C
February 15, 2008
A movie in which victims wander as aimlessly as their undead stalkers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 15, 2008
Even as a zombie film, it comes across not as something new, but as something warmed-over.
Read More | Original Score: C+
February 17, 2008
It plays like Cliff's Notes of the political themes Romero has already explored more effectively with his other movies.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
September 14, 2007
While it would be great to see Romero finish off his Dead saga some day, we can only hope that the next installment will have more to offer than a just shaky camera.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
February 15, 2008
We get that this is supposed to be from the perspective of a film major, but did Romero have to make it so painfully authentic?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 14, 2008
I endured this redundant zombie movie and all I got was this lousy headache.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 10, 2008
O pior dos "filmes de zumbis" comandados por Romero, exp§e a falta de sintonia do cineaste com a linguagem moderna, empalidecendo especialmente ao ser comparado com esforšos similares como Cloverfield e, particularmente, o espanhol [REC].
| Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7