Diary of the Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Diary of the Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
February 14, 2008
Romero proves that, blank slates as they may be, zombies do have a limit when it comes to serving as carriers for his increasingly heavy-handed messages.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
February 15, 2008
Even a legend's got to make a living, sure. But Diary, for all its core audience appeal, feels like a filmmaker lurching slowly down a path he's already worn out.
| Original Score: 2/5
October 13, 2007
The worst and most seriously disappointing of all the Dead movies.The whole premise is botched... badly [and] the audience continuously and rudely gets yanked from the experience of the movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Michael A. Smith
Nolan's Pop Culture Review
February 14, 2008
...if you're doing to destroy the population of the Steel City you may as well do it with some style! The true Death of Death here is apathy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
April 9, 2008
The results are about what you might expect from a student filmmaker operating without a budget or a script - crude and amateurish, with occasional (and possibly unintentional) flashes of brilliance. 'Diary' is no different.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
September 14, 2007
The writing is awful and the acting is atrocious, almost on a par with something we might see in the After Dark Horror Fest. I never thought I'd see the day where I fault a zombie movie for being unrealistic.
| Original Score: 5/10
Christian Toto
Washington Times
February 15, 2008
George A. Romero's Diary of the Dead goes light on the fright but heavy on the polemics.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Victoria Alexander
FilmsInReview.com
February 5, 2008
Romero must stop making this crap. Rent Eli Roth's "Cabin Fever." George, see my advice for the next installment.
Full Review
Austin Kennedy
Sin Magazine
July 22, 2008
Everything that CLOVERFIELD did right, this does wrong.
Full Review| Original Score: 1/4
Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium
February 15, 2008
[Its] joys stand alone and isolated amid a well-intentioned film that never quite connects the dots.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Tricia Olszewski
Let's Not Listen
February 28, 2008
Diary wields its "criticism" of bloggers and MySpace addicts as if it were the bludgeon and you the brain-feeder.
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
April 14, 2008
It's clever, or at least clever enough to keep you going and interested from start to finish. It just isn't scary.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Brian Orndorf
eFilmCritic.com
February 14, 2008
Romero has never been Welles, but to sign off on this script and these performances demonstrates a disturbing lack of competence from the filmmaker, resulting in ham-fisted scenes of conflict and distress, some bathed in a sickening self-referential glaze
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
February 15, 2008
A movie in which victims wander as aimlessly as their undead stalkers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Chris Kaltenbach
Baltimore Sun
February 15, 2008
Even as a zombie film, it comes across not as something new, but as something warmed-over.
| Original Score: C+
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
February 17, 2008
It plays like Cliff's Notes of the political themes Romero has already explored more effectively with his other movies.
| Original Score: 2/4
Filip Vukcevic
IGN Movies
September 14, 2007
While it would be great to see Romero finish off his Dead saga some day, we can only hope that the next installment will have more to offer than a just shaky camera.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Michael Ferraro
Bronsonfive
February 15, 2008
We get that this is supposed to be from the perspective of a film major, but did Romero have to make it so painfully authentic?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Pais
Metromix.com
February 14, 2008
I endured this redundant zombie movie and all I got was this lousy headache.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Pablo Villaša
Cinema em Cena
July 10, 2008
O pior dos "filmes de zumbis" comandados por Romero, exp§e a falta de sintonia do cineaste com a linguagem moderna, empalidecendo especialmente ao ser comparado com esforšos similares como Cloverfield e, particularmente, o espanhol [REC].
| Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 7