Diary of a Hitman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Diary of a Hitman Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ April 5, 2014
Not too bad if you only watch from where he goes to do the job. The beginning you can fast forward.
November 7, 2013
THIS IS ONE OF MY ALL-TIME FAVORITE B MOVIES. THE ACTING AND DIRECTION ARE SUPERB!
½ September 1, 2013
Forest Whitaker is a hit man hired to kill Sherilyn Fenn and her baby. Whitaker then gets to know Fenn and the story follows predictable and boring results, becoming a stage bound story set in her apartment. The most interesting part was when Sharon Stone unexpectedly shoed up in bit part. I've always liked Sherilyn Fenn, but realized she's never been the star of a decent movie. She's been a supporting character in good stuff, like "Twin Peaks" or "Of Mice and Men". And she does deserve a good starring role. If you want to watch Whitaker as a hitman, watch Jim Jarmusch's "Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai" instead.
Super Reviewer
April 9, 2013
A terribly formulaic and cliched thriller, Diary of a Hitman is a poorly made piece of tripe. When a hitman is contracted to kill a young mother and her infant child he has a crisis of conscience. There's nothing original in the plot, and it's completely predictable. The cast isn't that bad, and includes Forest Whitaker, Sherilyn Fenn, Sharon Stone, and James Belushi, but there's not a good performance among them. Diary of a Hitman is a tiresome and derivative film that's void of any tension or suspense.
January 22, 2013
Forest Whitaker AND Sherilyn Fenn!? SOLD!
April 18, 2012
this film was more annoying than anything else. he actors seemed agitated which made me agitated while i was watching it. not very good
½ June 10, 2011
Classic case of an interesting premise that proves extremely hard to care about in practice.
½ April 27, 2011
Unbelievably boring and slow-paced. And pointless.
½ February 23, 2011
I like Forest Whitaker, but this was not a good movie. If you want to see him be a good hitman, the watch Ghost Dog instead.
October 24, 2010
I gave it extra star jus because forest was in it, and so entertaining, but the main actress wasnt that convincing as a lady about to die...they might as well gave Sharon stone(played her sister) the part . If your looking for a somewhat decent movie than this would b a good pick
½ February 19, 2010
A great low-budget movie about a hitman that begins to doubt his live. Altough the story and the situation can become quite weird and unrealistic, the basic is good. The movie plays nearly entirely in a single room, but never bores. Great job, such a shame this movie is so unknown: it deservers better. Sherilyn looks very hot and the hitman is a very great actor.
December 13, 2009
Fairly poor showing for both of the leads. But it could be an interesting "what if orgin" of GhostDog...one of Whitaker's more recent roles. I LOVE Sheryl Fenn, but the story is very un-even and she works best with good structure and direction. Didn't seem to jell here.
April 6, 2009
Apparently Wayne Crawford is in this! AND Sherilyn Fenn!?! A must see!
Super Reviewer
½ January 7, 2009
Very entertaining, good performances.
March 21, 2008
I did not really like this movie.
March 1, 2008
Forest Whitaker AND Sherilyn Fenn!? SOLD!
February 17, 2008
Forest Whitaker is Dekker, a Hitman who works for Koenig (Seymour Cassel). Dekker's got problems, his arms hurts, his eyes are crapping out on him and worst of all he's losing his nerve. He takes on one last job from a crooked businessman to kill his youn wife, the naive and sheltered Jain (Sherilyn Fenn) and Jains infant son. When he gets there he finds that this job won't be as simple as he'd hoped... Great drama based on a stage play, the interacton between Whitaker (one of the most versitile actors out there) and Fenn (talented and oh so sexy) is great. Cassel adds his talents as Dekkers Boss (bascally the same role Cassels usually plays), and Jim Belushi pops up as a cop who may be on to Dekker. Sharon Stone pops up too fortunatly her scenes are short (not one of my favorite actresses by a long shot). Check it out, just don't expect a lot of action or a gangster movie.
December 4, 2007
Whitaker = Want to see it.
Page 1 of 1