Dig! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dig! Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Jay Antani
Cinema Writer
January 20, 2012
fulfills the function and promise of all great documentaries
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
This remarkable first feature by Ondi Timoner transcends its subject matter by engaging our emotions and making us care about the likes of Anton Newcombe, even if we don't like him very much.
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
August 14, 2007
[An] unflinching look at the rock world.
| Original Score: 4/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
May 26, 2006
DIG! is also brave enough to show the real, ugly warts of the music business, whereas more established bands would probably prefer a polished, PR-approved vision.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Tim Merrill
Film Threat
December 6, 2005
Newcombe is clearly as troubled as he is talented, maybe more.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Independent (UK)
December 6, 2005
This amped-up rockumentary doubles as an essay on self-destruction.
Harry Guerin
RTÉ (Ireland)
July 15, 2005
Consistently funny and brutally honest, Dig! is a great addition to the rockumentary genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Empire Magazine
July 5, 2005
A vibrant and vivid documentary masterwork.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jamie Russell
July 5, 2005
Erratic, tragic, and absolutely hilarious: Dig! is fantastic filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Michelle Thomas
Future Movies UK
June 18, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Sacha Molitorisz
Sydney Morning Herald
May 13, 2005
Linked together by the deadpan, melancholy drawl of Taylor's narration, it's filled with parasites, charlatans and oddballs. Not to mention a succession of wonderful songs.
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
April 30, 2005
Utilizando imagens capturadas ao longo de sete anos, Timoner cria um autêntico (e fascinante) arco narrativo, estabelecendo brilhantemente a trajetória de seus anti-heróis.
| Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
January 28, 2005
It's a classic music soap opera, but never told with a more raw scream for help at its center.
| Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
Marta Barber
Miami Herald
January 28, 2005
I must admit that I came out of DiG! with a certain degree of admiration for Newcombe -- and for this documentary.
Steve Schneider
Orlando Weekly
January 27, 2005
Frequently jaw-dropping doc, which exposes rock for the hilarious and harrowing undertaking it is.
| Original Score: 5/5
Marrit Ingman
Austin Chronicle
January 15, 2005
The film is so candid and real that it's like watching a friend slip into the morass of addiction, obsession, and pig-headed self-absorption.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Dan Lybarger
December 14, 2004
About the best sounding traffic accident I've ever seen...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Robert W. Butler
Kansas City Star
December 10, 2004
An amazing documentary that should be required viewing for every garage band dreaming of hitting the big time.
Eric D. Snider
November 20, 2004
Here I am, no particular fan of either group, and I found the film immensely enjoyable, like watching an especially hilarious trainwreck as it happens.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Jesse Hassenger
November 11, 2004
Neither band would necessarily merit its own doc, but together they create an arresting portrait of working rock musicians.
Page 1 of 4