Diminished Capacity - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Diminished Capacity Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 19, 2009
It's quite easy: either go get a sedative and calm down, dear. Or see this gentle and frankly boring-as-hell movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
December 8, 2008
Sherwood Kiraly's slight script only makes this embarrassment of riches seem more embarrassing.
November 20, 2008
This Sundance hit is a sleeper surprise of the summer -- a one-of-a-kind original.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 17, 2008
A gentle, agreeable dramedy, Capacity reveals that Kinney has a unique hold on tone and shares a palpable charm with his actors.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 16, 2008
Alda's Hawkeye Pierce charm gives way to something snappish and cagey, while Broderick's fussy stiffness is perfect.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 15, 2008
Suffering from a diminished level of interest, do we know how to live up to a title, or what?
| Original Score: 2/5
July 10, 2008
I wonder if all this worked better as a book. It begins modestly interesting, but becomes merely agitated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 10, 2008
Didn't we invent film festivals so we could sequester all the star-studded 'how I spent my summer vacation' indie film projects and keep them out of our arthouses?
Read More | Original Score: C
July 8, 2008
Although this is no 'Ferris Bueller's Day Off', Matthew Broderick does return to Chicago for a wonderful, wacky little gem.
Full Review
July 8, 2008
There is some suspense as to the fate of that baseball card.
Full Review
July 7, 2008
A slog through determined wackiness, it's apt to leave audiences cold.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 4, 2008
The actors look as if they're having a reasonably fine time, but there's no sense of commitment here, no sense that this was a movie that absolutely, passionately had to be made.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 4, 2008
A mild pleasure from one end to the other, but not much more.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 3, 2008
Smart and well-written, filled with good lines and just enough offbeat moments to make it interesting, not annoying.
July 3, 2008
Striving for low-key character comedy, Diminished Capacity ends up diminishing its returns.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 3, 2008
It has moments of sweetness, but not enough poignancy or wit to turn it into the endearing art-house comedy that it aspires to be.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 3, 2008
The problem with this film ... is that it features too many other sad sack characters who ... contribute to an excess of sad-sackness.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 2, 2008
Great, just what we needed: another rote exercise in indie-feely humanism.
Read More | Original Score: 2/6
July 2, 2008
A movie about memory loss shouldn't be so forgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 2, 2008
Bland indie comedy isn't very memorable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Page 1 of 2