Divided We Fall - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Divided We Fall Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 20, 2009
"Divided We Fall" is a vital reminder of the kinds of dramatic choices made by millions of peopled victimized by Nazis and traitors in a war that was fought at all costs.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 6, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 24, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 10, 2003
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 13, 2003
Manages to be funny and touching without ever resorting to schmaltz.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 23, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 9, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: A-
December 8, 2001
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
December 6, 2001
Just when you think you've seen all the World War II films you can handle, one comes along that leaves you in awe.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
December 4, 2001
The comic elements are handled with a delicacy so that they do not overwhelm the dramatic underpinnings.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 8, 2001
As with the films of Emir Kusturica, whose characters also resist easy analysis, the people in Divided We Fall are completely and wonderfully human.
October 8, 2001
Divided We Fall is quintessentially Czech, and it knows no borders.
October 8, 2001
No matter a person's race, creed, religion or even political affiliation, this simple Czech film is a triumph to be shared by all.
September 7, 2001
A stark portrait of the Nazi occupation -- the paranoia citizens lived with every moment, and the way small lies lead to tragic consequences.
September 7, 2001
A well-acted, thoughtful piece that shows what it may have been like living in Nazi-occupied portions of Europe, particularly in ethnically mixed Czechoslovakia.
August 16, 2001
Has the literary richness, depth of character and tone that such a morally difficult, powerful narrative requires.
August 12, 2001
Parts are very funny, but not over the top like Life is Beautiful.
Full Review
August 3, 2001
The players perfectly inhabit their characters; nobody seems to be actually acting.
August 2, 2001
A lovely movie, one that allows its characters unexpected spurts of growth and regression, darkness and grace.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 2, 2001
A rewarding, courageous and beautiful work.
Page 1 of 4