Django Unchained - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Django Unchained Reviews

Page 1 of 13
August 14, 2017
But I absolutely love and was blown away by Django Unchained, and I can't wait to see it again, and again after that.
July 16, 2016
...Tarantino being Tarantino, he doesn't just make a big, violent, sprawling western filled gunfights and clever talk and driven by revenge and Old Testament justice.
June 21, 2016
The movie moves, with crispness and intelligence, arriving at the most purely satisfying conclusion we could possibly ask for. Audiences are going to eat that last reel up. I know I did.
June 14, 2016
Waltz gives a great performance, mixing an outwardly genial demeanor with sudden bursts of violence, and a surprisingly kind heart for someone in a Tarantino film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 10, 2016
One of the year's best films.
April 9, 2016
It's not until the third act that we experience a catharsis of violence, and when it happens, it's just not rooted in the reality of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 31, 2015
By the end, Django is a hero for his times: the D is silent, but nothing else is.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 18, 2014
Obscurely referential, extremely indulgent, and deliriously over-the-top, Django is -- in other words -- everything you'd expect from a Tarantino joint.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
July 30, 2013
It is plainly a nonstop riot of humor and excitement, and one that matches its delicate nature with an equally calculated sense of importance in leading us to the most satisfying climax possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 28, 2013
If the slightly rambling Django Unchained is 'lesser Tarantino' -- you know, only a B instead of an A -- it's still a heady, delirious good time.
June 23, 2013
You will definitely get your money's worth. But this is one of Tarantino's minor works.
Full Review | Original Score: B
June 18, 2013
Low-level Tarantino inspires exploration, but delivers little more than a blood bath.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 13, 2013
Tarantino slyly takes the dirty diaper that is slavery in America and rubs it in our face.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
April 23, 2013
Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained is a brilliant mixture of over-the-top violence and clever writing, making for the most entertaining film of 2012.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 8, 2013
A bloody masterpiece. Funny, Thrilling, cleverly structured.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
April 1, 2013
It's a testament to Foxx and Washington's talent, presence, and proven rapport that they keep the central emotional hook strongly present as their underwritten roles are continually pushed to the sidelines by Tarantino's overwriting for others.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 24, 2013
Countless great scenes in the Tarantino universe
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 14, 2013
It's exactly what you expect from Tarantino, so if this movie finds itself challenged in any way, it's in being expected.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
March 13, 2013
...the time always flies, and Tarantino gives us a lot of movie for our money.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
March 3, 2013
Tarantino's take on slavery is wildly creative, funny and frightening, true to form yet never predictable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 13