Dodgeball - A True Underdog Story - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Dodgeball - A True Underdog Story Reviews

Page 1 of 1778
March 9, 2018
Well another movie I watched as a kid that i liked that sucks. This movie has little to no enjoyment, it's always bad when in a movie Vince Vaughn is the best actor. Vaughn is the only REDEEMING quality in the whole movie. all of the CHARACTERS are just plain annoying, the PREMISE is pointless, the plot is dumb, and it isn't that funny.
½ February 27, 2018
Run of the mil comedy, but worth a watch.
February 10, 2018
An Old school classic comedy.
February 6, 2018
I personally think this is Ben Stiller's funniest performance ever. The film is funny throughout with some great cameo's. Also has a good story with some feel good moments.
½ January 27, 2018
Do comedies get much funnier than DodgeBall?
½ December 29, 2017
An airline movie whose effects were possibly more when it was released. Some good gags but the moviemakers never truly embraced the sheer unbelievability of the plot. Their attempts to make credible games out of awkward neophytes at a championship tournament resulted in far less entertaining fare.
October 29, 2017
Just another great time watching a hilarious movie.
September 4, 2017
Who knew the game of dodgeball would make such a funny movie. Great casting too.
½ September 1, 2017
This movie is great and will bring out many laughs
½ July 28, 2017
Funny then, funny today, funny tomorrow. Love this movie.
July 25, 2017
Dodgeball
Vince Vaughn and Ben Stiller's brilliance made Dodgeball more than just 'a true underdog story'
½ July 14, 2017
Had some great laughs but a little bit too ridiculous in some parts
½ June 19, 2017
Sure, the premise is way out there and really ESPN 8? But in the end the two leads in Vaughn and Stiller with just enough star power in the supporting cast Dodgeball is a super funny and highly quotable movie for the ages.
½ June 16, 2017
I love Vince Vaughn movies, so I gave this a shot. Boy was I shocked at how bad this was! No redeeming qualities, and no funniness, whatsoever. one of the worst movies I've ever seen.
May 16, 2017
-Ballshot- "Are you angry now, son?"
May 4, 2017
A feel-good sports comedy. It's a familiar underdog story about a group of misfits who bond together, but dodgeball is a game that hasn't really been used in movies, so it feels fresh and exciting. One of the more surprising highlights is Jason Bateman in a hilarious announcing role. Other than that I think the cast could have been picked better, but it's a fun movie. (First viewing - Summer 2004 in theaters)
½ April 25, 2017
Classic, quotable and always halarious. One of those comedies that you can watch again and again and withoutâ??a doubt will last generations as it's formula is timeless it speaks to every generation.
March 20, 2017
This isn't funny, Vince Vaughn is so bland and empty when trying to be funny
March 2, 2017
Review: Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story is directed and written by Rawson Marshall Thurber, and it stars Vince Vaughn, Ben Stiller, Christine Taylor, and Rip Torn in a comedy about a group of friends in a fitness group that doesn't have enough money to save their gym, and so they go to a dodgeball tournament to win the money to save it from another gym that wants to buy it off. It's been a while to see a film with Vince Vaughn as a main role, and it's been a while to see a film with Vince Vaughn even in it. So with that on the way, let's get to this film. It's refreshing to see Vince Vaughn act likable while also being not so bright as he usually plays unlikable characters that are dumb in the head. The supporting cast is really good and have memorable characteristics of them that's very silly, but it's really funny. The dodgeball scenes are very entertaining to watch and can be very fun when seeing it as an actual sport event. The cameo scenes can get a bit too much, but most of them have purpose for being there. Seeing Ben Stiller be the villain is both interesting and funny at the same time, and seeing him be a parody of guys that are really fit to be egotistical of themselves. The plot is familiar, but it's a comedy, so the structure will always be familiar, and it's very silly to the point that I was interested in where it's going. Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story is a great flick that is just hilarious enough on its own to forgive most of its flaws.
½ February 22, 2017
2/22/2017: A really good flick. A good cast with plenty of funny moments.
Page 1 of 1778